We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yummy food”
Review of The Sizzle

The Sizzle
Ranked #23 of 564 Restaurants in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Mongolian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sizzlers are a recent 'inno-vention' that consists of an entire meal being served on a cast iron platter, which is in turn placed on a wooden base and served sizzling to your table. Sizzlers probably originated a few centuries ago when meat was served on a heated cast iron plate to keep it piping hot, while the diner ate his meal. Today, however, they have become a cuisine of sorts by themselves as many specialty restaurants serve only Sizzlers on their menu. A sizzler is a combination of a main dish served with a choice of sauces and a large variety of accompaniments, making it a complete meal by itself! "The SIZZLE" presents a new line of cuisine to the local palette with great authentic Halal recipes presented in a creative manner, resulting in innovative recipes, delectable combinations, bathed in herbs, eastern flavors - a sense of fusion in taste with a tantalizing aroma. Platters of mouthwatering meats, seafood and veggie delights served sizzling to your table.
Colombo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy food”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Food is delicious, but can be a little bit too hot, that you don't get to enjoy the taste. If you want peace and quiet this is not the place. It's always crowded and with lot of noise.
Birthday celebrations is a specialty in this place, most people come here to celebrate their birthdays.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shyamanthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamalean, Owner at The Sizzle, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you very very much for your fantastic and wonderful review. Yes, it does crowded at times, specially on weekends, and with the crowd it is a bit noisy too. But, most of all we love to see people enjoying this concept to their fullest. Oh yes, special events like birthdays, anniversaries, farewells and many more are really special for us. They are good memories for the guests as well as for us. A lifetime memories to cherish. Thanks again for your your review and the five star rating. We love it. Regards. Tushar Amalean, Owner of The Sizzle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    215
    64
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Steak Fail”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I know it's diffucult to find great steak in Colombo, but my friends and I were super craving a big, fat, juicy angus. Unfortunately, The Sizzle did satisfy our steak craving. Every dish was wayyyyy too salty. The steak was killed. If it had been good quality, I would not have been able to tell because it was way overdone and they don't even ask how you would like it cooked!!! The menu is huge. There's too much selection, to be honest. The names of the dishes are quirky and cute, but the food was anything but. Unless you want 5000% of your daily intake of sodium, I highly recommend avoiding The Sizzle.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TammyDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamalean, Owner at The Sizzle, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Reviewer, We sincerely apologise for your inconvenience and appreciate your valuable input. We were able to guide our chefs on the taste and have been able to address the issue. We would not have been able to correct the situation without your valuable input and we thank you very very much for this. Regards. Tushar Amalean, Owner of The Sizzle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Have you ever had a steak before?????”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

I went to the sizzle after seeing many good recommendations on TripAdvisor but was incredibly disappointed. At first it seemed fine, the staff all very nice and welcoming but the food was terrible. The meat was stringy over cooked and dry and then served over sizzled over cooked veg. When asked how I felt about my meal I said I was not pleased with my meal and the waiter just walked away. Over all very disappointing and I regret ever going and this will make me think twice about going somewhere based on TripAdvisor. However they did acknowledge my complaint and compensated me the the bill arrived although I would rather have had a good steak.

Helpful?
1 Thank Julianna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamalean, Owner at The Sizzle, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Valuable Reviewer, We were expecting your review on Tripadvisor after your experience at our restaurant. As other reviews suggested that our steaks are the best in town, however in your case, in all your four meals for your family your good self did not want any sauce topping. It was clear that the meals will be dry and not tasty as the sauces when topped on the meal on a hot sizzling plate would bring in the taste & flavours. That is the reason we gave sauces to your good self in the side for you to add on the meals, even though your good self preferred to have the meals without any sauce. It was obvious that without any sauce on your hot plate the vegetables would get over done. The captain serving you immediately brought to our attention of your unhappiness of the meals and our Manager together with the undersigned decided that we should not charge for two meals and such was communicated to your good self by our Manager in person before settling the bill. As a further measure from your experience we will inform our captain to tell our customers who are selecting meals without sauce to advise them against it. Thank you for your input. Regards. Tushar Amalean, Owner of The Sizzle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

It was a great service & the food was excelent Even they have a good birthday celebration for all. Overall very good restaurant. Would recommend to anybody.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pmadushan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamalean, Owner at The Sizzle, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thanks you very much for your fantastic review. We love it and thank you for your 5 star rating. This gives us confidence and assures us that we are on the right path to make people happy. Regards. Tushar Amalean, Owner of The Sizzle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Everything sizzles, even the ice cream...”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Even though its not my first experience at the sizzle, would like to comment on the last experience i had.. Food was delicious and the quantity was good.. Can choose from a wide range and best place to sit is the outside area with the coolers on.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamalean, Owner at The Sizzle, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We like to hear such good things and this ensures us that we are on the right path to make people happy. Thanks again. Regards. Tushar Amalean, Owner of The Sizzle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sizzle also viewed

 
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to The Sizzle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing