We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must visit on my every trip home (Sri Lanka)”
Review of The Sizzle

The Sizzle
Ranked #30 of 562 Restaurants in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: American, Chinese, Mongolian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Sizzlers are a recent 'inno-vention' that consists of an entire meal being served on a cast iron platter, which is in turn placed on a wooden base and served sizzling to your table. Sizzlers probably originated a few centuries ago when meat was served on a heated cast iron plate to keep it piping hot, while the diner ate his meal. Today, however, they have become a cuisine of sorts by themselves as many specialty restaurants serve only Sizzlers on their menu. A sizzler is a combination of a main dish served with a choice of sauces and a large variety of accompaniments, making it a complete meal by itself! "The SIZZLE" presents a new line of cuisine to the local palette with great authentic Halal recipes presented in a creative manner, resulting in innovative recipes, delectable combinations, bathed in herbs, eastern flavors - a sense of fusion in taste with a tantalizing aroma. Platters of mouthwatering meats, seafood and veggie delights served sizzling to your table.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A must visit on my every trip home (Sri Lanka)”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The food is five star and the taste is as good as any of the top sizzlers worldwide. The pricing, portion and quality is all perfect. The menu has a wide range of dishes and non alcoholic drinks. My favorite dish is Nigel's Shashlik.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanjay1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamalean, Owner at The Sizzle, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you Sanjay for that wonderful review. It is indeed always a pleasure to see you at our restaurant enjoying the meals and you must know that your younger brother also have come to celebrate his birthday with his friends. He enjoyed it as much as you do. We made special arrangements for him with a special table and his name with a birthday banner in the backdrop. It was wonderful. We will be looking forward to your next visit which will be soon we are sure. Take care. Thanks. Regards. Tushar Amalean, Owner of The Sizzle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    216
    66
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food and reasonable price”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Can find some of best steaks made from local meat. Portions are very large and comes with a lot of accompannyments. Lots of choice and reasonable prices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank funmaker1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamalean, Owner at The Sizzle, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you very much for that fantastic review. We love it. Yes, we are recognized as the best steak restaurant in town. Lovely atmosphere and a unique dining experience. A privilege card program giving discounts and privileges for frequent dinners. Keep enjoying it. Regards. Tushar Amalean, Owner of The Sizzle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Lanka - Kurunegala
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasty of Food”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

It was delicious food serving with Hot hot with a smoke. Portion of the food cook inside your table. Really nice experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gbgopallawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamalean, Owner at The Sizzle, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful words. We love to hear such good review. Do pass the word around for us as we rely only on word of mouth publicity. Best Regards. Tushar Amalean, Owner of The Sizzle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“great!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I love this place! Nice food, nice experience. they take may be some extra time than expected to prepare the meals. but its worth it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Miththinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamalean, Owner at The Sizzle, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you very much for that wonderful review. We love to hear such good things and this ensures us of being on the correct path.. Best Regards. Tushar Amalean, Owner of The Sizzle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colombo
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Please don't try this”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I went this place for my boy friends b day treat, i m really disappointed and not recommending this place for any one , there were 5 of us and we ordered 5 different dishes, except the one that was with beef sausages (obviously tasty) all other dishes were horrible, not even enough salty at least to pass the food through thorat, starting from vegetarian dishes to biriyani all were utter disappointing specially because i m the one who suggested to go this place, anyway, up to you to decide:(

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank snowy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamalean, Owner at The Sizzle, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
This is a bit surprising. We are wondering why would all the dishes not be up to mark. Would love to know more about the other four dishes besides the sausages dish. This is more in contrast of other reviews that we receive and love to hear more from your good self. An average salt content in the meal is what generally we would expect, but to top up more salt we have salt dispensers on all the tables if the customers would like to add more for their taste. We do appreciate your review and would like you to give us an opportunity to improve if more detailed feedback is received. Please drop us an email if you like. We are always open for views. Thanks. Regards. Tushar Amalean, Owner of The Sizzle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sizzle also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to The Sizzle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing