We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hospitality!”
Review of Garden Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Garden Guest House
Ranked #19 of 155 Colombo B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 19, 2009

I cannot recommend this guest house enough! As I was travelling alone and in Sri Lanka for the first time I found the warm welcome and kind hospitality of all those at the Garden Guest house particularly reassuring. I was welcomed into this charming home and made to feel like one of the family by hosts who take genuine pride in looking after their guests. The food was excellent and the accommodation spotless. I found the peace and tranquility a welcome respite from the grime and bustle of Colombo city. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ha06375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 238 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2009

The guest house provided a 'home from home' in the centre of Colombo, where I was treated with incredible warmth and generosity by my hosts. Mrs de Fonseka and her family were attentive but not intrusive, and the surroundings were aimed at relaxation and a friendly atmosphere in which to share their wonderful Sri Lankan hospitality.
I have stayed in other guest houses and hotels in Colombo, but this was by far the best. The rooms were comfortable and all amenities were available, including pick-up from the airport. The hospitality went beyond the expected or usual, and allowed a real insight into a unique Sri Lankan home. I would recommend this guest house to anyone visiting Colombo.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MardiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

Pros- I stayed for three nights in one of the upstairs rooms. The room was huge, several kids beds in the anteroom, perfect for a family or palatial for just me. Sit down meals, great conversation with the owner and other guests too. The owner (Mrs. de Fonseka) was very helpful in arranging a tuktuk driver for the day, and a day trip to Kandy. There is also an indoor koi pond (seriously!) and a garden in the back, great for reading in the sun. Everything was clean, neat and very organized.

Cons- there is nothing to walk to in the neighborhood, everything is a tuktuk away. A little decor shock- doilies, and bric-a-brac galore!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank equatorialgraupel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestays007, Owner at Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2009

Thank you very much indeed for your very kind review.
It gives me much pleasure & pride for my hard work which I put into, to make my guests happy and feel at home. Wish you good luck in your future travels and hoping to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Garden Guest House has a convenient location in Colombo, quiet yet within a reasonable walk to most locations in Colombo. Otherwise a short tuk-tuk ride.
The service really was over the top, everytime you walked out of your room, even for meals, it was serviced! Absolutely spotless with friendy hosts and brilliant food. Try the local food rather than the western variety, it's even better! We spent a month in Sri lanka (mostly holidaying from Kandy) and it keeps getting better (our 4th visit so we've seen lots....). Value for money (in Colombo) was excellent.
We will stay again here next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestays007, Public Relations Manager at Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2009

Thank you very much for your kind appreciation for the service, decore, cleanliness and the location. We were so happy to have come to know all of you and hope to see you again. Looking forward to serve you. Thank you once again for your review which gives us encouragement for our hard work to make our guests happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

The lovely family running this charming guest house in a quiet neighborhood gives the traveller an experience that is fast disappearing from this world. Chitrangi de Fonseka, her son Chitrupa, and her sister Srini show guests the graciousness of a bygone era. Their dining table and five-star, attentive staff represent the golden days of the Sri Lankan plantation life they once lived, when Sri Lankan families set a gorgeous table for every meal and trained their people in the traditional British ways of hospitality. A unique experience where the owner is genuinely dedicated to giving her visitors all the enjoyment and support at her family's disposal, catering to personal food preferences, both local or continental. Us vegetarians were very happy. A good area for walking, luxurious beds, hot water always, and common Internet access! We've stayed here on at least five visits!---Girija and Mohan, Cochin, Kerala

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank elephantsforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestays007, Manager at Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2009

Thank you very much "elephantsforever' for your excellent review about Garden Guest House". We are honoured to receive such comments from a couple like you. Thank you once again and hope to see you soon. We are always at your service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

We were in Sri Lanka for a total of 9 nights in March, 2009, and we used the Garden Guest house for six of those nights and as a base while visiting the island. The other nights were spent touring Sri Lanka. We were told about this hidden gem by family members, and were amazed by every aspect of our stay here. It's hard to know where to begin. We had with us our two children aged 7 and 9, and they both thoroughly enjoyed the stay.

Mrs. Chitrangi de Fonseka originally started this guest house to accomodate couples who were going through the process of adopting a child from Sri Lanka. This process takes approximately 5 weeks, and therefore the guest house is designed as a home away from home, and for long-term stays. The goverment does not allow adoptions anymore, and so Mrs. de Fonseka's guest house is most geared towards those individuals or families who are looking for a superb place to stay that is central to the bustling city of Colombo.

The Garden Guest House offers a number of rooms, all with ensuite baths/toilets that are up to western standards (this isn't true for most of Sri Lanka). The rooms are beautifally appointed, with maid service and air conditioning. Each room comes with coffee and tea service and fruit. I have to say we never used the tea/coffee facilities, because of the amount of food and drink that were supplied with our stay in the dining room. All of this was served on Gold-rimmed China with Gold Cultery. We felt like royalty.

The Garden Guest House offers Breakfast, Lunch, Tea, and Dinner. The presentation of this food is unbelievable, and I have never seen a better presentation even in five star restaurants....I have pictures included of a fish caserole, topped with mashed potato that was piped around the fish to look like a doll's gown, and another one with the butter shaped like a rose bouquet. I could go on and on, but I have included a number of pictures here. The food ranged from Western to Traditional Sri Lankan. All of it was better than most restaurants I have been to...I have been to a lot!

The rooms were incredibly tidy, with good air conditioning, fans and bug control. Sri Lanka has an abundance of mosquitoes, but were fared very well here at the Garden Guest house.

There was free interent access, which we hooked up to our Majic Jack, and called back to Canada for free.... a nice touch. There were multiple TV's with DVD players around, so the kids could amuse themselves....they actually only needed to use it when we were packing to leave. The Garden Guest house has multiple fountains and ponds with fish throughout. The garden iteself is small, but beautifually maintined. The main sitting room and dinning room open onto the garden, and the doors are open throughout the day, so there is always a wonderful, relaxing view.

The Garden Guest house is centrally located...about a five minute ride to the famous ODEL shopping centre. Mrs. de Fonseka's son actually drove us there on our last day to do some shopping. He handles the financial side of this business, and this was an added treat to have him help us do some shopping.

Before I forget...the cost is unbelievable. For less than $100 per day, we had a wonderful place to stay with food for the four of us. It is definitely the best value of any place I have ever stayed.

Finally, I have to say, the best part of the stay was the service and hospitality of Mrs. de Fonseka. She made the children feel so comfortable, and no request was too large....they even did our laundry. As said before, this was the best stay we have ever had, and I would encourage anyone staying in Colombo to consider staying at the Garden Guest House.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DBM24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestays007, Owner at Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2009

Dear Duane, Thank you very much for your excellent comments and adding my place to"TripAdvisor". We are much grateful for your help. Chitrangi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank 187801Marco_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonny28, Manager at Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
3.9 mi away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
2.3 mi away
Drift BnB Colombo
Drift BnB Colombo
#2 of 155 in Colombo
466 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clock Inn Colombo
Clock Inn Colombo
#5 of 155 in Colombo
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
CityRest Fort
CityRest Fort
#5 of 155 in Colombo
377 reviews
3.7 mi away
Palm Nest
Palm Nest
#12 of 155 in Colombo
163 reviews
2.6 mi away
Highbury Colombo
Highbury Colombo
#17 of 155 in Colombo
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Guest House

Address: No 7, Karlshrue Gardens | Colombo 08, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range: $55 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Home-Stay is situated in Colombo in a very quiet residential area within close proximity to the City Center. The National Museum, Places of Worship, Park,Restaurants,Shopping Malls, Casinos, Golf Links and International Cricket Grounds,Central Bus Stand and the main Railway Station could be reached within quarter of an hour.We have WiFi which is free of charge accessible to the Bedroom. This is a Family Run business and we go out of our way for them to feel at home and experience the Sri Lankan Hospitality. As we are a Bed & Breakfast unit main meals could be ordered from Internationally Recognized chains such as McDonald's, KFC ,Burgher King or leading Italian, Indian, Chinese or Eastern and Western restaurants in Colombo. Thirty minutes drive to the International Airport on the Expressway. Airport Transfers and Tours and Excursions could be arranged for nominal fee with English Speaking / Driver Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Garden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Guest House Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing