We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Garden Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Garden Guest House
Ranked #19 of 151 Colombo B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at Garden Guest House for 3 nights. The place is really nice, very warming, very clean, the breakfast is very good. It was like visiting family. The owner was waiting for us at the aeroport, he nicely answered our questions, gived us helpful advice, always smiling.

He was also our guide for two day trips we made to Galle and Kandy. He drove us to the most important spots ,since we didn't have much time in Sri lanka.

We highly recommand this guest house and also the daytrips if you want to make your stay memorable!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Raghda2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonny28, Manager at Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear Madam,
Thank you very much for taking your time to review us on TripAdvisor and for awarding "Five Stars" for our service and hospitality. We were very happy to meet both of you and thank you very much for using me for your day excursions to Kandy and Galle and I'm glad it was up to your expectations. Looking forward to see you again in the future.
Thanking you and wishing you our Best Wishes.

Chitrupa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Garden Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 238 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

The owners are great people, the house is big, very nice, large room, large breakfast varied and distinguished .Lady of house ( an elder lady) is very distinguished, she teached me how can i eat a mango with a spoon. Very friendly atmosphere. They also have a very nice and friendly dog . Great atmosphere for our last day in Sri Lanka. Like a real home :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lumi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenguesthouse, Manager at Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for choosing Garden Guest House, for your accommodation in Colombo and taking your time to post a review on TripAdvisor regarding our services and hospitality.
We are so grateful for awarding us with "Four Stars".
We were too very Happy to meet you though it was a very short visit.
We look forward to have you with us if ever you visit Sri Lanka in the future.

Thanking you.
Best Wishes
Chitrupa de Fonseka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I started my two week trip to Sri Lanka in Colombo and spent my first two nights at the Garden Guesthouse before moving onto Galle. A wonderful and warm beginning, felt like visiting old friends.

Chitrupa was very knowledgeable about where I should look to visit on my trip and offered useful tips on where to go, what to see and how best to plan my next steps.

Colombo can feel like a busy, noisy and fast paced city when you first arrive but the Garden Guesthouse is a pleasant retreat from the hustle and bustle while being central enough to make commuting around town easy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenguesthouse, Manager at Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your prompt review on TripAdvisor and for your recommendation regarding our services and hospitality and for awarding Garden Guest House with "Four Stars" for our performance.
Thank you very much for choosing Garden Guest House for your accommodation and we look forward to see you again in the future.

Our Best Wishes
Chitrupa de Fonseka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is our first stop in Sri Lanka. What a wonderful and warm beginning!
We arrived very late at about 1 a.m. in Colombo. The driver is ordered by the guest house in a reasonable price and he is also very on time with a comfortable car. The host is still waiting for us even we arrived in 2 a.m. He prepared the room; the welcome drink and also teach us how to use the bathroom. Until he confirmed we have no question before he left to bed.
The house and the room is tremendous. It's a beautiful house and dream room for every girl. When I post the picture on website, many friends feel interested in it. The room is pink, almost everything you want at the moment, you can find it just beside your hand. The bath room is also very clean.
The location is also very good, only 4km away to the Colombo Fort railway station.
The next morning, we enjoy the breakfast with the gracious hostess served by a British style.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ji C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenguesthouse, Manager at Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor about our services and hospitality and for the wonderful write up about our room.
We are so thankful for choosing Garden Guest House for your accommodation and it was our privilege to have both of you. Thank you once again for awarding "Five Stars" and we are looking forward to have you again in your next visit to Sri Lanka.
Best Wishes
Chitrupa de Fonseka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

A good central location. Room was immaculately clean with aircon, though the decor may not suit all tastes. Very nice breakfast - and they even got a cake for our baby on his first birthday. Only downside was that we thought the ten euro charge for a baby cot was a bit steep.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank londonlawyer_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenguesthouse, Manager at Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you very much for choosing Garden Guest House for your accommodation in Colombo and we are thankful for posting a review on TripAdvisor and for your recommendation about us to other visitors planning to stay with us. We were delighted to celebrate your son's First Birthday with us and I think it's a very important event in his life. We wish him all the very best for his future.
We are sorry to hear the Euro 10.00 for providing the baby cot was bit too high for you, but unfortunately we don't have a baby cot with us and we have to hire it from a furniture shop when ever a guest request for one. So hiring charges plus the cost of transport comes to around Ten Euro which we had quoted when the booking was done.

Hope to see you again in your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Our Best Wishes and thanking you once again for your patronage.

Chitrupa de Fonseka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We booked this homestay from reviews on tripadvisor and it lived up to all our expectations. We stayed for 2 nights when we arrived in Colombo and Chitrupa was there in the middle of the night to meet us despite our plane being delayed. The home is delightful, in a quiet area and very clean. Breakfast is tasty and plenty of it. Rooms are 70's green or pink, and you have a lovely garden out the back. By the time we finished breakfast each day our room was tidied and everyone was so welcoming we came back and stayed before we left for home at the end of our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenguesthouse, Manager at Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you very much for choosing Garden Guest House for your accommodation in Colombo and we appreciate very much for taking your time to review us on TripAdvisor and for your wonderful review about our hospitality and for awarding "Five Stars".We look forward to see you again and wishing both of you our best wishes.

Chitrupa de Fonseka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Owners are very accommodating and friendly. Breakfast is excellent. Beds are very comfortable and showers great. Our room had a huge bathroom. It is a 250 rupee tuk tuk ride to Colombo Fort area. Pick up from the airport at 1am in the morning was grand

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MozzaAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonny28, Manager at Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor and for awarding "Five Stars" for our services and hospitality.
We are so glad we were able to serve you to your expectations and make your stay at Garden Guest House happy and a memorable one.

Thank you once again for choosing Garden Guest House, Colombo and we wish to see you again in your next visit to Sri Lanka.

Best Wishes
Chitrupa de Fonseka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 54 in Colombo
1,875 reviews
2.1 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
2.3 mi away
CityRest Fort
CityRest Fort
#5 of 151 in Colombo
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Clock Inn Colombo
Clock Inn Colombo
#6 of 150 in Colombo
396 reviews
2.3 mi away
Drift BnB Colombo
Drift BnB Colombo
#2 of 151 in Colombo
458 reviews
1.6 mi away
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
#1 of 151 in Colombo
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Guest House

Address: No 7, Karlshrue Gardens | Colombo 08, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range: $46 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Home-Stay is situated in Colombo in a very quiet residential area within close proximity to the City Center. The National Museum, Places of Worship, Park,Restaurants,Shopping Malls, Casinos, Golf Links and International Cricket Grounds,Central Bus Stand and the main Railway Station could be reached within quarter of an hour.We have WiFi which is free of charge accessible to the Bedroom. This is a Family Run business and we go out of our way for them to feel at home and experience the Sri Lankan Hospitality. As we are a Bed & Breakfast unit main meals could be ordered from Internationally Recognized chains such as McDonald's, KFC ,Burgher King or leading Italian, Indian, Chinese or Eastern and Western restaurants in Colombo. Thirty minutes drive to the International Airport on the Expressway. Airport Transfers and Tours and Excursions could be arranged for nominal fee with English Speaking / Driver Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Garden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Guest House Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing