We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in Colombo. Will stay again!”
Review of Garden Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Garden Guest House
Ranked #19 of 151 Colombo B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The guesthouse is very elegant, very beautifully decorated in traditional English styled.
The room is very large, very spacious, very clean, with good air conditioning.

The host and his service is excellent!We had a great sharing while we are having some desert.
The host helped us to book taxi to airport. He insisted to woke up and goodbye us at 4am.
He also called the taxi back when he found we might have something left in the room.
We thanked him so much!

And I also love their dog!

The best accomodation during my whole trip in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank f6heymans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonny28, Manager at Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for choosing Garden Guest House, our "Home Stay" for your accommodation
and we are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and for your kind review on TripAdvisor and for awarding "Five Stars" for our services.
Our best wishes to your entire family who stayed with us.
We look forward to see you in China, if we are fortunate enough.
Look forward to have you again with us in the future.
Best Wishes
Chitrupa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Garden Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 82 of 238 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

Upon being greeted at the airport we found the host owner very courteous and friendly even though we landed just after midnight. The first impression when we reached the B&B home resort was excellent. The hosts' reception was warm and caring. We were led to our room which was very clean and omfortable with convenient attached bathroom. The breakfast provide was simple but good and sufficient. Location was convenient and good value for money.
Recommend early booking as they have limited rooms. We will highly recommend this place for couple or business. Good Wifi connection for free.
Ernest Raj
Singapore.

Room Tip: Garden side room good morning view. Morning birds singing complimentary.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ErnestFlorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonny28, Manager at Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Dear Sir & Madam,
Thank you very much for your kind patronage and for your review on TripAdvisor regarding our services and hospitality and for awarding "Five Stars".
We are so glad for meeting a very nice and a generous couple.
Looking forward to see you again in your next visit to Sri Lanka.
Best Wishes to both of you.
Chitrupa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were met by Chitrupa at the airport and from then on he made our stay very easy for us. I had wanted to get in the observation carriage of the train to Kandy and contacted him before our arrival. Amazingly he reserved this for us, getting us the best seats at the moment they were released because this can only be done from inside Sri Lanka.

We also had plenty of luggage that we didn't want to carry around Sri Lanka and he offered for us to leave it until our return at no cost.

The room was clean and everyone was friendly and attentive at all times - the decor is amusing and if you are looking for somewhere that serves all your basic needs on arrival and departure then this is it.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank FJFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonny28, Manager at Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,
Thank you very much for your kind patronage and for taking your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor and for awarding "Five Stars" for our service and hospitality.
We greatly appreciate your support to be on top of TripAdvisor rankings which will generate more business for us.
Thanking you profusely and hope to see you again in the future as well.
Wishing both of you our Best Wishes.
Chitrupa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This guest house is a little bit of tranquility amongst the hustle and bustle of Colombo. The staff are extremely attentive and always on hand to help. It is a very pretty family home and the room was lovely and clean. We loved meeting Bimbo, the dog. The breakfast was good and the owner was very helpful in providing recommendations on where to eat and he even drove us to the restaurant. We would definitely recommend a stay here.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Marshall137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenguesthouse, Manager at Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,
Thank you very much for your kind patronage and for posting a review on TripAdvisoir and for awarding “Five Stars” for our services and hospitality.
Hope you have happy memories of your holiday in Sri Lanka.
Looking forward to see you again in your next visit to Sri Lanka.
Thanking you once again and Best Wishes.
Chitrupa de Fonseka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

It was the end of our honeymoon trip in Sri Lanka and the family de Fonseka gave us a perfect memory of the country and its people. Mr. De Fonseka and his monther were extremely kind, well educated, and attentive to all of your needs. The house is very well maintained with a lovely garden, peaceful environment and decoration of good taste. We left our mobile phone in the restaurant of diner, Mr. De Fonseka kindly drove us to pick it up while he had some friends visit that evening. We were very touched by their kindness and helpfulness.

Room Tip: The room overlooking the garden that we stayed was very good, clean, spacious, quiet, with a lovely...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xiaoting J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenguesthouse, Manager at Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you very much for your kind patronage and for choosing Garden Guest House, for your last night of your Honeymoon in Sri Lanka. We appreciate for your promptness in posting a review on TripAdvisor and for awarding "Five Stars" for our service and hospitality.
Wishing the newly married couple a very Happy Future and looking forward to see you again in the future.

Thanking you.
Best Wishes
Chitrupa de Fonseka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

It was good discovery, a homely and cosy accommodation, certainly preferable than cramped up hotel rooms. I felt the owners were very accommodating and caring and I could feel there were more space for me to move about. The room was very nicely decorated with very clean en-suite. I thoroughly enjoyed chatting with the owners over the breakfast and will not hesitate in recommending this place to anyone on both business and holiday to Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suraj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenguesthouse, Manager at Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your kind patronage and for posting a review on TripAdvisor so promptly about our hospitality and for awarding "Four Stars".
Your stay with us was so brief as you were on Business and next time we would like to spend more time with you when you are next in Sri Lanka.

Thanking you once again and looking forward to see you soon.

Our Best Wishes
Chitrupa de Fonseka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Mr Chitrupa de Fonseka is really the kindest, most helpful and hospitable host. The Garden Guest House is welcoming and cosy, the staff are smiling and even the family dog and fish are friendly! I had lost something important at the airport and Mr Fonseka went to a lot of trouble to help me locate and retrieve my belongings. He offered lots of helpful suggestions for our visit and made us feel at home. The rooms are spacious with good air-conditioning and there is wi-fi. The garden is lovely with birds and squirrels to watch as you eat your excellent breakfast. It was a lovely start to our holiday in Sri Lanka to encounter such genuine hospitality, friendliness and kindness. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Su-ming K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenguesthouse, Manager at Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for choosing Garden Guest House for your accommodation in Colombo and for posting a such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor about our service and hospitality and for awarding us with 'Five Stars".
We appreciate your review very much and actually this is something what is engraved in us to help our guests, with a problem. We are always there to help them and guide them in which ever manner and we genuinely do it.

Thanking you and our Best Wishes to you and the rest of your friends.
Looking forward to have you again with us in the future.

Best Wishes
Chitrupa de Fonseka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 54 in Colombo
1,875 reviews
2.1 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
2.3 mi away
CityRest Fort
CityRest Fort
#5 of 151 in Colombo
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Clock Inn Colombo
Clock Inn Colombo
#6 of 150 in Colombo
396 reviews
2.3 mi away
Drift BnB Colombo
Drift BnB Colombo
#2 of 151 in Colombo
458 reviews
1.6 mi away
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
#1 of 151 in Colombo
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Guest House

Address: No 7, Karlshrue Gardens | Colombo 08, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range: $46 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Home-Stay is situated in Colombo in a very quiet residential area within close proximity to the City Center. The National Museum, Places of Worship, Park,Restaurants,Shopping Malls, Casinos, Golf Links and International Cricket Grounds,Central Bus Stand and the main Railway Station could be reached within quarter of an hour.We have WiFi which is free of charge accessible to the Bedroom. This is a Family Run business and we go out of our way for them to feel at home and experience the Sri Lankan Hospitality. As we are a Bed & Breakfast unit main meals could be ordered from Internationally Recognized chains such as McDonald's, KFC ,Burgher King or leading Italian, Indian, Chinese or Eastern and Western restaurants in Colombo. Thirty minutes drive to the International Airport on the Expressway. Airport Transfers and Tours and Excursions could be arranged for nominal fee with English Speaking / Driver Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Garden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Guest House Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing