We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short but sweet stay”
Review of Garden Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Garden Guest House
Ranked #19 of 153 Colombo B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at Garden Guest House for one night only and thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality of the hosts! The family took the trouble to arrange for a pick up at the airport at midnight. The driver had to wait almost 2 hours for us to get through the customs, do the money exchange and purchase the phone card etc. We were greeted by the host who stayed up to welcome us with a glas of refreshing Passion Fruit juice! We had a large a/c room with a clean, big bathroom on the second floor. When we got down for breakfast next day, the morning of the Full Moon Festival, we were served with the delicious festival food: rice cooked in coconut milk. We took a short rest after breakfast in the yard with lush greens and wi-fi access. In the meantime, the host helped us charge our Dialog card and purchase train tickets to Kandy. The guest house is located on a quiet street with easy access to the city center by a short Tuk Tuk ride. It was a short but memorable stay. We were touched when my husband got a call from the host when we arrived in Kandy to see how we were doing! We would recommend it to anyone who desire a full-service accommodation with a home-away-from-home experience in an exotic setting!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crossgeofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenguesthouse, Manager at Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,
Thank you very much for your kind patronage and for your kind review on TripAdvisor and for awarding “Five Stars” for our services. It was our great pleasure, having you’ll at Garden Guest House and we are very happy for having the opportunity of meeting you and the rest.
We are looking forward to have you again with us next time when you are in Sri Lanka.
Thanking you.
Best Wishes
Chitrupa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 238 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

After travelling on a group trip around Sri Lanka, this was a wonderful authentic homestay experience for one night in Colombo as a solo traveller. A very warm welcome from all the family, including the family pet, so I wish I had booked for longer. Nothing was too much trouble for the hosts. The breakfast was outstanding. I found the location convenient for a shopping mall with cafes nearby and it was easy to get a passing tuk tuk to explore the main tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeresaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonny28, Manager at Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,
Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to review your experience at Garden Guest House and for awarding “Five Stars” for our hospitality. Thank you very much for your kind patronage and looking forward to see you again.
Best Wishes for your future.
Thanking you once again.
Chitrupa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

A very cosy hotel that feels like a home rather than a hotel. Very friendly owners who greet you in person and arrange for you whatever you need. Clean bathrooms and bedrooms and bedding. The rooms are adorned with cute pink décor which might not be to everyone's taste, but it is most certainly unique. Stayed one night and wished I had spent more time there. Highly recommended and well worth the value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jarofjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonny28, Manager at Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your kind patronage and for your great review on TripAdvisor appreciating our personal touch for our guests and our hospitality. We quite agree with you, it’s not a hotel but Home away from Home as we treat our guests as part of the family.
Wish you all the very best for the future and next time please spend more days with us and get pampered. Thank you once again for awarding us with Five Stars.
Thanking you.
Best Wishes
Chitrupa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We arrived at Garden Guest House wanting very much to wash up after our long train journey and ayurvedic massage (which resulted in our oily hair and bodies). So we were absolutely thrilled and happy to see such a "luxurious" guest house (to us!) with nice comfy beds, good shower, and great hosts!

To start off, Mr Chitrupa was extremely friendly and prompt in replying to us, even when I sms-ed him in Sri Lanka. He was helpful and guided the tuk tuk driver to the place (it was amongst a lot of big private houses and near a prison).

The first impression when we went in was "WOAH" because there was so much effort put into decorating the house and it really looked good in an opulent country style. Chitrupa sat us down in the living room, gave us drinks, and got the helper to bring our bags up. Then he showed us to our room, and another "WOAH" from us. We were really glad to stay in such a nice and comfortable room for our last night in Sri Lanka!

The bathroom was quite big, and there was a bath tub and a shower area. You could just sit comfortably on the toilet bowl for 5 min and admire the toilet and its fittings. The bedroom was very comfortable - it had a carpet, armchairs, a small TV, a beautiful dressing table, and even the drinking glasses are sterilised and covered. The beds were SUPER comfortable. Our Burgundy room was pink in colour, and had 2 single beds.

Next, Chitrupa was so nice to bring us to this Italian restaurant nearby for dinner, called Bay Leaf. He fetched us there without charge, and instructed a trustworthy tuk tuk driver outside the restaurant to bring us home later (have to pay for the tuk tuk). We didn't know much about Bay Leaf and we only realised that it was a very posh restaurant in a colonial house and we were not dressed for it! But what a great recommendation because the Italian food was good and affordable for us. We had a great dinner there!

We felt like princesses the next morning while having breakfast because the dining table was set up so nicely! Even the butter was in a nice shape and we had the helper serving us tea. Mrs de Fonseka ate with us, and we had a good chat with her. She's such a nice old lady who loves shopping in Singapore. :) We love her! She recommended us to go to ODEL to shop. It's a MUST!!!

As we only stayed for one night and were departing Sri Lanka the next day, Mr Chitrupa allowed us to leave our bags there, and fetched us to the airport in the evening for a reasonable fee.

As this was our only splurge for the trip, I'm glad that it was really value for money. We were really very happy to stay at Garden Guest House and will definitely go back there to stay if we return again! Take care Chitrupa and Mrs de Fonseka!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikayap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonny28, Manager at Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Madam,
Thank you very much for your detailed and precise review on TripAdvisor regarding Garden Guest House. We appreciate very much for awarding us “Five Stars” for our services and hospitality.
Thank you very much for your kind patronage and we look forward to see you again at Garden Guest House in the future. Wish you all the very best.
Best Wishes
Chitrupa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for three nights when we first came to Sri Lanka. The airport pick-up that was organized by Chitrupa made it very easy for us to arrive in Colombo.
Chitrupa, his mum and his aunt as well as their staff welcomed us very warmly and made our whole stay a pleasure. The room has a very unique design as well as the rest of the house. It is definitely very special but you can feel that the love that was put into the house. That same love is also shared with the guests. Our room was always spotless. The breakfast was really yummy and offered a base to get to know the other guests. The house is a bit out of town but it is easy to get into town with a threewheeler or the bus and the location offers a quiet and peaceful neighbourhood.
Chitrupa even helpes us booking a train to Ella.
Thank you for all your help! We highly appreciated staying at your place!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKTraveling_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonny28, Manager at Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,
Thank you very much for your kind patronage and for taking your valuable time to review us on TripAdvisor and for awarding Five Stars for our service and hospitality.
Hope you had a very pleasant and a memorable holiday in Sri Lanka.
Looking forward to have you again in the future.
Best Wishes
Chitrupa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My experience with this guest house started a month and a half before our trip. From reading reviews on Tripadvisor, I got in touch with Mr Chitrupa and his mother, Mrs Fonseka, via email asking for availability and rates. I received replies very promptly. 2 weeks before our trip, I received confirmations on our reservations. We also requested for a pick up at the airport on arrival. Mr Chitrupa also helped us find a guide/driver for the first leg of a trip. All correspondences were very professional and prompt. On top of all of that, Mr Chitrupa assisted us with information on what would be a feasible itinerary for our 11-day trip with a one year old baby. All this help came even before we had arrived in Sri Lanka! On arrival we were promptly met by our driver who took us to the Garden Guesthouse. We arrived close to midnight and were greeted by the very amiable Mrs Fonseka who had apparently left a dinner party at the neighbours to come greet us. The house is very colourful and full of eccentric delights including a waterfall fountain with coy fish right in the middle of the living room. She took us up to our huge room(champagne room) and provided us with a welcome drink. The champagne room is definitely ideal for people travelling with children. There is a large queen sized bed and a double bunk bed. It consists of a bigger and smaller room and a private bathroom which was very clean. My only qualm about the room is that the old drapes were definitely dusty and I am asthmatic and very sensitive to dust. The sheets were clean and the room was mosquito free. We slept quite well that night. In the morning, we had breakfast with Mr Chitrupa and Mrs Fonseka. The staff at the guesthouse are also very friendly and efficient. Our room was cleaned while we ate breakfast which consisted of toast, roti, butter, marmalade and coffee/tea. The garden at the house is very beautiful and well-kept. We also spent a very comfortable second night there. The driver/guide-Mr Daminda, that Mr Chitrupa had arranged for us was EXCELLENT. We would definitely recommend him to anyone interested in a detailed tour of the cultural triangle. He was very well-versed in the history behind the sites and he was extremely helpful for the full four days that we had him. He was also very knowledgeable on the birds of Sri-Lanka and we were introduced to many beautiful birds of Sri Lanka on our roadtrip. All in all a very pleasant experience. Garden Guesthouse was a probably one of the pricier places that we stayed at in Sri Lanka but it definitely is cheaper than most of the 4-5 star hotels in Colombo. Clean, safe and pregnant with Sri Lankan hospitality. Because they only have a handful of rooms, I would recommend advance booking.

Room Tip: Champagne room ideal for bigger groups with children. Bunk beds and a queen sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuthHagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonny28, Manager at Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Sir / Madam,
Thank you very much for choosing Garden Guest House for your accommodation during your stay in Colombo. We are very thankful for reviewing us on TripAdvisor and for awarding five stars for our service and hospitality. I’m happy that I was able to guide you and help you with your travel arrangements.
Hope you had a very “Pleasant” and a memorable holiday.
Thanking you and looking forward to have you again in your next visit to Sri Lanka.
Best Wishes
Chitrupa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great service from Chitrupa and his Mother and Staff who work there. A nice garden setting to enjoy the daily breakfast and chit-chat with other guests.
Chirtupa provides an excellent airport transfer service and can help you to exchange currencies etc.
Will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Large room with 2 single beds/en-suite/sat tv... is a nice one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonny28, Manager at Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your recent review on TripAdvisor and for awarding Five Stars for our services.
Thank you for your kind patronage and hope your work in Sri Lanka has given you good results. Looking forward to have you again at Garden Guest House, Colombo.

Thanking you.
Best Wishes
Chitrupa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.1 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#9 of 54 in Colombo
1,926 reviews
2.3 mi away
CityRest Fort
CityRest Fort
#5 of 153 in Colombo
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Drift BnB Colombo
Drift BnB Colombo
#2 of 153 in Colombo
461 reviews
1.6 mi away
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
Taru Villas - Lake Lodge
#1 of 153 in Colombo
793 reviews
2.2 mi away
City Beds The Regent
City Beds The Regent
#4 of 153 in Colombo
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Guest House

Address: No 7, Karlshrue Gardens | Colombo 08, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range: $51 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Home-Stay is situated in Colombo in a very quiet residential area within close proximity to the City Center. The National Museum, Places of Worship, Park,Restaurants,Shopping Malls, Casinos, Golf Links and International Cricket Grounds,Central Bus Stand and the main Railway Station could be reached within quarter of an hour.We have WiFi which is free of charge accessible to the Bedroom. This is a Family Run business and we go out of our way for them to feel at home and experience the Sri Lankan Hospitality. As we are a Bed & Breakfast unit main meals could be ordered from Internationally Recognized chains such as McDonald's, KFC ,Burgher King or leading Italian, Indian, Chinese or Eastern and Western restaurants in Colombo. Thirty minutes drive to the International Airport on the Expressway. Airport Transfers and Tours and Excursions could be arranged for nominal fee with English Speaking / Driver Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Garden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Guest House Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing