We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible place in a decent location”

Indra Regent Hotel - Colombo, Sri Lanka
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Indra Regent Hotel - Colombo, Sri Lanka
Ranked #50 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Location is decent, and wifi is free, that's where positives end.
Staff is disinterested, rooms are very basic, our bathroom smelled like sewer.
For the money they charge, it's very poor value.
Didn't try the attached restaurant but it also looked overpriced with so many options nearby.

Room Tip: WiFi only available close to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 52 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

Colombo has many mid-range hotels, the Indra Regent is one of those but while in the lower half for quality it prices itself above that.

Price aside the hotel is clean and the rooms basic but presentable, on the positive side the Indra Regent is easy to find for tuk-tuk and taxi drivers (more of a challenge than you'd think) and well located for the sea front train stations and only a short trip to Fort train station.

The attached restaurant is excellent, specialising in India food it is both well priced and offers some wonderfully cooked dishes (tandori and byriani were very good).

In my opinion this makes an ideal overnight stop before moving on from Colombo but not somewhere to speand any more time.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are quieter, make sure you ask when booking. And very limited for twin r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Old-man-walking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Good location, good karoke, good massage centre and easy access 2
beach and good restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DubaiAnand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

We had trouble to find a hotel not full in colombo at this period, trying also not to be too far from the center. The location of the hotel is convenient
As for the rest, the hotel stays incredibly pricy (60 USD for a night, breakfast excl) compare to the standart they are trying to sell. The room was really simple, the clealiness of the bathroom was really limit and really close by you have a discotheque that believe it or not but on a monday is full on and playing loudy and crapy music. The staff was however nice but with an important number of rooms maybe keep this hotel as a back up plan.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PakArthurBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Compared to other tourist destinations, here again Colombo accommodation is expensive - Sri Lanka is just not competitive. Room was simple, single bed, ensuite, A/C, fan, quiet, clean, relatively dark with a view of an alley full of rubbish. No TV. Missed a minibar/fridge. Biggest disappointment was USD 4 an hour for slow Wifi (They could have had me as a repeat customer with free, strong Wifi.) Staff was friendly and helpful. Market across the street was handy. I saw no "arcade" and was not even aware that there was a night club in the building. About an hour's walk from the center of Colombo. After 2 days I moved around the corner to the Pearl City Hotel for slightly more (price negotiable) and much better facilities - even an ocean view!

Room Tip: My single room (on the back side) was a bit dark but had no noise issues (except for my snoring.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnotherHasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

We stayed at Indra Regent hotel. The service was quite amazing though the rooms were basic.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manwithreasons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

I stayed at room 102 with no windows! The bathroom is infested by very small ants which one can hardly see as opposed to the black floor tiling, they are simply EVERYWHERE!
Another member to show up uninvited in my room was a big lizard which I had to call housekeeping to handle. Also the sinks are sometimes very smelly. However what made me change the hotel at once was when I discovered small cockroaches in the other twin bed of the room. In short this hotel is filthy and it seems that they are indifferent about it as it also seems they have other primary source of income from their so-called night club

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank HazemHussein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0 mi away
Omega Regency
Omega Regency
#40 of 55 in Colombo
49 reviews
0 mi away
Juliana Hotel
Juliana Hotel
#46 of 55 in Colombo
45 reviews
0 mi away
Jetwing Colombo Seven
Jetwing Colombo Seven
#24 of 55 in Colombo
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Fairway Colombo
Fairway Colombo
#19 of 55 in Colombo
334 reviews
0 mi away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#20 of 55 in Colombo
363 reviews
0 mi away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#15 of 55 in Colombo
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indra Regent Hotel - Colombo, Sri Lanka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indra Regent Hotel - Colombo, Sri Lanka

Address: 383 Duplication Rd | Colpetty, Colombo 00300, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range: $39 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Indra Regent Hotel - Colombo, Sri Lanka 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury full-service 3 star hotel in the heart of Colombo city, close to shopping, sightseeing, business districts. All rooms air condtioned with tv, telephone, mini-fridge, attached bathrooms. In-house restaurants, bars, Karaoke club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Indra Regent Hotel - Colombo, Sri Lanka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing