We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of HVN at Casa Colombo

HVN at Casa Colombo
Ranked #159 of 550 Restaurants in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, European, Asian, Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Excellent Food which is to be expected for the price. Would definitely go again. The atmosphere rocks.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shamil_Latiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at HVN at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We are so happy that you have enjoyed your meal at CASA Colombo and that you like the ambience of our restaurant. Thank you for a wonderful review of your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to CASA very soon for another delicious tour of our menus.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    24
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“rude let down after a nice dinner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I came here for dinner a few weeks ago.I have been here before a few years back and it was quite a let down, but i have heard from friends that it has radicallly improved lately. When we arrived we were seated and very politely served by a young waiter. the decor has not chaged a bit since we last came here, except the outdoor restaurant has been converted into a glass walled bar. We have ordered some cocktails and they were a real good quality, It is not the cheapest but it is properly made not like in some other places in colombo where you might get a cocktail for a cheaper price but it is just juice, they harldy add any alcohol. All in all the drinks were good, nicely presented, and the waiters are very courteaous. We have ordered our food and were given bread to munch on while waiting. The food was very nice, the portions are ok size not too much not too little just enough. Overall im am very impressed with the place, it has improved ever so much the quality the clenliness and service. There was only one let down that really made me not wanting to come back anymore. I have been living in sri lanka for more than 10 years, and although of course i am a ' foreigner' it doesnt not mean that i am any different as i practically grew up here. Most people of course wouldn't think that a foreign person does speak and understand singhalese. Please do tell your staff, not to make comments and dirty jokes about your customers in singhalese as some people might be able to understand it. As we were waiting for dessert i assume supervisor a tall younger man in dresed in black while standig in the other side of the room has made a comment about our group to a member of staff whom we have seen at the reception when we arrived ( myself and my 2 gentlemen friends who luckyly are not able to understand the language) and has made a few indications of what they are going to do to me tonight if we have an other cocktail and in addition a joke about what he would had he had the chance.

i did not confront him i don't think he was worth it. Now i think i probably should have i was just too upset at the time. Such a let down after a nice meal, and good service, a shame, something like this i would expect from a 3 wheeler driver or a consrtuction wokrer but not someone in a fine dinign establishment. Never ever assume that people do not understand what you say just becouse their skin colour is different. and as for people reading this rewiev, i do not want to put you off a nice dinner, for a good price since it is quite rare to get nowadays in coolombo, just try to ignore what the staff might say behind your

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at HVN at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of CASA Colombo, and we are happy to have had the opportunity to serve you at our restaurant.

We are also very happy that you enjoyed your dinner and that it was to your satisfaction. It is with regret that we read about the incident which your described and can assure you that we have never had any complaint in that direction at all, as all our staff show the highest levels of courtesy to all Guests at all times, and when I say all guests, I mean myself and as a former employee you too, deserve the same.

Thank you again for visiting CASA Colombo, and we look forward to seeing you again someday.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Classy !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

No doubt it is one of the classiest places in town.It is all about luxury & the quality.The staff is friendly & very helpful.I was not very happy with the food but it is not bad at all.Very nice place for a romantic dinner !!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Golden L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at HVN at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We are very happy to have served you at CASA Colombo, and are glad to note that you like our service and the ambience at our restaurant.

Thank you for your comments and we surely look forward to seeing you again someday soon, so that we can go that extra mile to wow you with our latest dishes at CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
166 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Loved the place and the food was good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I took one of my business partners here and the atmosphere was really nice. Drinks were good and the service was excellent.
We tried the Kotthu Rotti which was not bad. Most importantly my guest really enjoyed the place. Its a nice place to have a drink and get a bite to ear

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Malaka T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at HVN at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for some lovely comments with regard to your experience at CASA Colombo. We are very pleased to note that you enjoyed the atmosphere, drinks and service, and we hope you had a very relaxing time after a busy day at work.

We do look forward to seeing you often at CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome experience! Chic, relaxing, delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Had a great coffee stop here. Best kotthu and wattleappam in the country! Iced mocha was so-so. Bathroom was unique also

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashanpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at HVN at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We love your review of CASA Colombo. Thank you.

It is very heartening to note that you have been extremely happy with what we had to offer you and you have enjoyed your time at CASA Colombo. Please visit us again and give us another opportunity to take you on a fabulous gastronomic journey with our Chef.

See you soon.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed HVN at Casa Colombo also viewed

 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to HVN at Casa Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing