We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colombo's Finest Accomodation at the Tintagel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2010

There is something about this hotel that is simply PERFECT. From the minute you pull up to this elegant manor house--a former residence of a past Sri Lankan Prime Minister--you feel like you've just been welcomed into someone's lovely country estate home. There's complete privacy and warmth about this place that is so utterly inviting. Glistening crystal chandeliers, gargantuan moss topiaries, Grecian urns on the garden terrace, and an ultra chic leather-clad library lend an aristocratic feel that blends in effortlessly with antique Chinese lacquer cabinets, old Sri Lankan photographs, decorative displays of vintage tea bags, and lots of abstract paintings by local artists. It's a perfect balance of elegance and ethnicity, colonial era charm and grandeur, but still maintaining the fresh look and appeal of a modern boutique hotel. Shanth Fernando is the mastermind behind all the Paradise Road ventures including a restaurant/bar/cafe, boutique art gallery, gift shop, and two lovely hotels in Sri Lanka (Tintagel and Villa Bentota). We met him briefly and I can only describe him as "ultra cool".

Besides the notable decor of Tintagel, there are a few things I really like about this place...

1) First, the handsoap, shower gel, and lotions are divine. Candles bearing the same scent can be purchased at the Paradise Road gift shop next to the Gallery Cafe. You can take the hotel tuk-tuk to get there, it's fun! Other great finds at the shop did not esacape our attention, and needless to say, my friend and I each toted over 10kg of booty in our hand luggage on the return flight!

2) The bathrooms are fully equipped with modern fixtures and feature lovely aqua blue or olive green tiles. Even the artwork in each bathroom (ours was a charcoal drawing but some have sculptures) make the most unagreeable bathroom visit so much more pleasant. There's even a scale...to weigh your luggage of course!

3) Every room has a ceiling fan, canopy bed, mosquito netting, LCD TV, minibar, safebox, and some come with private terraces which is a big plus if you're a smoker. Ultra comfy beds and fabulous linens make naps a real treat. The hotel also has a small swimming pool, gym, steamroom, and massage room--none of which are too exciting--plus a private dining room upstairs that is perfect for hosting a dinner event or a conference.

4) Wifi throughout the hotel, and an assortment of games and books downstairs in the library will keep you busy if you're bored.

5) We dined nearly every meal at the hotel including lunch at the restaurant, breakfast and dinners on the garden terrace, and coffee in the bar (there's no liquor license yet so the bar is just a cafe, but we are told it's coming soon). Western and Sri Lankan fare is available, so try both if you can!

6) And finally the staff...we couldn't be more pleased as they attended to our every need. From introducing the history of the hotel to turning down our beds and providing us with an extra late checkout, we were extremely happy with the wonderfully unintrusive service that the hotel offers. One of the managers, Jeremy, was such an interesting character and so terrifically helpful that we wish we could have spent more time with him.

It's no surprise that the Tintagel wins the highest accolades of its reviewers! Well done! We hope to return again soon...

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

496 - 502 of 584 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2010

I arrived at the tintagel for a one night stay and had booked the best suite in the hotel wth its own curtyard and swimming pool. First on arrival took them about ten minutes to get our bags out of the car we had taken, but they eventually found a concierge. Upon arrival in the room I discovered that the pool was full of debris and dirty and the coutyard pretty bad as well. Even more strange as it was a rare dry day in Colombo's monsoon season, so they had all day to clean it before I arrived. I asked them to clean it before I went out that evening, nothing done upon my return. Next surprise, went to bar for a drink at sunset, guess what, no alcohol of any sort, they are not licensed. A fact conveniently left out on their we site, so if you want a drink you need to go out or bring soem of your own. Upon retiring to bed, discovered the sheets on the bed had a bad stain. The room was amazing otherwise, decor great, size was massive with a full bedroom, living room, and bathroom all totally segregated and beautifully decorated. Clearly a new hotel with growing pains, poor service, and a dry bar. But the place is cool otherwise and I would stay there again and bring my own wine next time.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiyanQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFSingh, Director at Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2010

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Upon reading it, I immediately went into a full check of your stay with all relevant staff at the property.

You had originally booked an Executive Suite which is one of the standard suites of the property and less than 24 hrs prior to check-in requested an upgrade to a Superior Suite, which I personally arranged for you.
I understand that there was a short delay on the part of taking your bags due to a lazy member of staff who is no longer in our employment (not due to your review). I do understand that you were otherwise quite happy upon check in.

Sri Lanka has been subject to terrible pre-monsoon rain, thunder and lightning storms leaving thousands of families displaced. We have a tamarind tree which shades part of the Superior Suite 3 courtyard which as a result, shed it's 'debris' over the space. Unfortunately, as you spent less than 24 hrs within the property you were unable to see the clean up which had to be done on all exterior areas of the hotel which were affected by the rain; but this is done continuously and we are proud to have a hotel which is usually in immaculate condition. Adverse weather does affect the alfresco areas and the uses of it , which is unfortunately out of our control.

I do understand that the 'stain' on the sheet, was not on your white bed linen but a marking on the bedcover which is a part of the irregularity of natural handmade batik.

We are still awaiting our liquor license by the Sri Lankan government and we do inform guests of this. It greatly reduces their final bill, and we are happy to chill, store or mix cocktails with guests' own liquor at no corkage. In addition, we offer a complimentary three wheeler ride to our restaurant, The Gallery Cafe, which has a wide beverage menu including all alcoholic options.

I do understand that you had a misunderstanding on your check out as our Front Office staff had to write your bills manually due to our computer system crashing, thanks again to the weather. I also understand that this was promptly sorted out, and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.

We do hope we will have the honour of welcoming you to Tintagel Colombo again in the future and that it will leave a better impression on you at that time, which will hopefully be in a dryer season!

Yours in Service,

The Management
Tintagel Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

We stayed in Tintagel with our family on our way back from sister hotel The Villa Bentota, our Executive Suite was huge, 1 bedroom and a seating room enough for the 4 of us. This chic hotel is well located in a magnificient old house, used to be the first Sri Lanka Lady Prime Minister's house. I ve been in a few hotels in Colombo but this is a complete different story ! the staff are amazing and please do yourself a favor and go to the restaurant, beleive me the food is excellent. We ll definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philophe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2010

A very cool and chic hotel. My suite was as good as it gets. The staff was professional and "cool" to a point. You felt like it was your own home. I could only wish. The design is minimal, slightly graphic, and inspirational. The pool felt private. Was able to get sun, even though it is in a court yard. This is a boutique hotel, not an Olympic stadium. So I didn't expect to do the 100 meters in this pool. It served my purpose to cool off and get some sun. The hotel is close to the city, yet in a neighborhood of embassies. They are also affiliated with a great bistro-art gallery must go to.... the Gallery cafe. Hotel reception can make arrangements to shuttle you to the restaurant-gallery. Was a great diversion. Though, I never wanted to leave the luxury of the hotel. They spoiled me. Thank you Tintagel for being a highlight of my trip to Sri Lanka. Along with the stay at Villa Bentota. Will remain a great memory of a life's journey.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2010

We stayed here only one night and have not stayed in other hotels in Colombo. We supposed to have stayed in an executive suite, but to us it looked more like a standard room. Pluses: staff is nice and professional. If you like the modern minimalistic black style (like A Hempel's hotels); interior nicely done. Negative: bathroom too small (cramped room -bath too small to lie- just put in to have a 5 star rate). Wardrobe too small to hang your cloths in. Walls not insulated so you can hear your neighbours and everything on the corridor/ in the hall. And be aware the swimming pool is too small to swim in.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymous01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFSingh, Director at Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2010

Dear Madam,

I'm terribly sorry for the 'ordinary' impression Tintagel Colombo has left on you!

As a small boutique property with only 10 suites, each one is different from the other. We have 07 executive suites, all varying in size. Our floor plans and square areas of each room including the ensuite, wardrobe/dressing rooms and courtyards/balconies on our website clearly show the different options available for guests.
Most Executive Suites are very large rooms some with more generous bathrooms than others which you will see on the website.

Being a property in the city, rather than a 'resort', where guests stay an average maximum of 3 nights and are visiting more on business or transitting whilst on holiday in other areas of the island, the lap pool usually suffices most.
Our resort property, on the other hand, has a much larger pool as guests usually stay there for longer periods of time.

Our walls are original old double brick thickness and not one bedroom is neighbouring another bedroom so it is definitely concerning that you were able to hear your neighbours.
Should you wish to visit us again, I recommend you make an advance request for a specific suite or the very much larger Superior Suites as they are allocated in order of reservation received and as requested.

We do hope to welcome you again to our hotel!

Yours in Service,

The Management
Tintagel Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Having travelled to Colombo before on business and being totally unimpressed by Colombo hotels, we had tried to avoid an overnight stay and had hoped to drive to Galle on arrival. Thankfully, our best laid plans did not pan out and we had the absolute pleasure of discovering the Tintagel.
The Tintagel is a restored colonial home which has been meticulously upgraded to create a heavenly, elegant boutique hotel. The property cleverly maintains it's colonial facade and incorporates painting, sculptures and pottery from local artisans. The foyer is magnificent with baby grand, a decadent black and white colour scheme and the most comfy of sofas. The Red Bar is FABULOUS and beckons guests for a quiet drink or chat. The rooms are a welcome respite from the Colombo heat and mayhem and offer five star luxury .........beautiful bathrooms, lavish lotions, regal four poster beds and the softest of linens. The staff are world class and happily whisked us to our rooms when they saw how tired the children were on arrival. The restaurant is DIVINE ....... it was an absolute joy to wake up at the Tintagel, shower in their fabulous bathrooms and then make your way to the parterre garden for a delicious breakfast with fresh juices, yoghurts, coffees and the best scrambled eggs ever.
There is simply NOWHERE ELSE to stay in Colombo. If you cant enjoy the hotel for a night, stop for dinner on the way to the airport......the menu is superb, the food is divine and the staff are attentive........

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank famililuxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

We had a very short stay on our way home at Tintagel, but would love to come back to sample more! Lovely rooms (we were in the East suite, which being on the ground floor was easy but a little noisy until guests left after dinner) with beatufil interiors and bathrooms. The food once again at a Paradise Road establishment was top - compliments to the chef and his team.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.8 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 54 in Colombo
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
#6 of 54 in Colombo
367 reviews
1.7 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 54 in Colombo
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo

Address: 65 Rosmead Place, Colombo 07, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#1 Family Hotel in Colombo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#5 Business Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: $232 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tintagel is a unique and private hotel, situated in the heart of Colombo's most elite neighborhood. Offering 10 individually designed suites with all modern amenities and services, Tintagel is housed in a stunning heritage structure of national importance that was previously home to three of Sri Lanka's political leaders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing