We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless Service, Stunning Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Flawless Service, Stunning Hotel”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My husband and I spent the first night of our honeymoon at Tintagel, and it couldn't have been a more perfect introduction to this beautiful country.

We were greeted by a handsome and incredibly warm and friendly gentleman, who was standing on the steps of the stunning mansion. We were brought to a chic and perfectly decorated room and were thrilled with how elegant and beautiful the interiors of the mansion were. I'm an interior designer, and I immediately began to photograph every nook and cranny of the hotel, because everything was so inspiring.

Although the hotel was beautiful, what we were most overwhelmed by was the level of service at Tintagel. Upon our arrival, we were told that breakfast would be served the following morning beginning at 7:30am. Since we were STARVING (just got off a flight from NYC) and knew that we had to catch a 7am train the next morning, we asked if we could eat our complimentary brunch NOW, not tomorrow. They granted our request without a moment's hesitation.
That is how every request was dealt with by their staff - easily and happily. It is clear that their #1 priority is to make sure that their guests feel at home, happy and comfortable.

Most notably, when we were heading to the airport to leave Sri Lanka, we were stuck in Colombo for a few hours. Our train dropped us off in Colombo at 6pm and our flight wasn't until 3am. We arrived on the doorstep of Tintagel with no room booked and asked if we could rest in the lobby for SIX HOURS until we left for the airport. We were completely aware that this was a difficult request, and we totally expected to be turned away.

Rather than kick us out, the incredible Manager on Duty (Dan) was a dream come true. First off, his English was fluent. Secondly, he couldn't have been more sympathetic to our situation. Thirdly, he actually APOLOGIZED that they were fully booked that evening, and told us that if they had a room available, we would have been given access to it free of charge. Lastly, he had housekeeping clean the massage room in the spa, and gave us the keys to that room, free of charge, so that we would have a place to nap and shower and relax. It was a dream come true.

I have never gotten such flawless service in my life. Considering that these were the last few hours of my honeymoon, and that we were about to leave for a 27 hour trip back to New York... I will be eternally grateful to Dan and his incredible team at Tintagel.

Anyone who finds themselves in Colombo MUST stay at Tintagel.
I could not recommend it more strongly.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second (upper) floor are better - they are away from the public space and feel a bit mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TLorelei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    119
    39
    5
    7
See reviews for
101
274
35
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Staff friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast was only on offer, but was tasty and plentiful. We were probably given the worst room/suite (number 2) which is on the ground floor next to the kitchen, generator and goods delivery entrance. The bathroom smelt and the room lounge was dark and oppressive. There was only one small TV opposite the bed. It was a shame as the history of the hotel and the positive image it has was the reason we chose the hotel, however our room did not live up to the hype.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed here as a family in January 2013 and had several rooms. Overall our experience was positive, we would go back. The decor and atmosphere was great, there is a nice buzz in the lobby and bar in the evening with both guests and locals. The rooms were uneven in size and comfort so best to call and choose according to your needs. The staff was excellent, and when we noticed that a restaurant they had sent us to had overcharged us (significantly) they ensured the money was returned to us immediately. Breakfast was excellent and setting is beautiful. Overall an great place in the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMA-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

we were staying for 2 nights in the spacious suite. the staff was very professional and supernice. if the walls could talk.... you can literally sense which amazing dinners and fiestas must have been going on this beautiful building as it was home of 3 prime ministers. owner and design Guru Shanth Fernando is very convincing with his interiour taste. cosy comfortable bed, lounge chair and giant mayestetic terrace. great wifi connection. the only 2 things which were not 5*: the water pressure in the shower was not amazing and sometimes there was a little smell coming from the shower drainage. but all in all: definitely come back there!

oh. and yes. Prince Charles and Camilla stayed here 1 month ago. just so you know that the standard is pretty high.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TEAMSANTMARC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I have been two nights at the Tintagel and I mostly do not agree with he reviews I have read on Tripadvisor. I was probably given the smallest room (the West Room) and luckily enough I was travelling alone since two people with the luggage won't have fitted comfortably in that room. The private terrace was very beautiful by the way. The bathroom was small too and the shower had a very slow flow of water coming down.
It was overall a nice experience but the hotel is much over rated for what is the price of a room (over 300 USD). The interios, specially the library are stunning but they lack in character: most of the furniture is (beautiful and antique) Chinese which does not fit much with Sri Lanka….but this is more a question of personal taste.
Specially after staying in so beautiful colonial properties around the country this was the biggest disappointment of my vacation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Enricasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFS79, Director at Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo!
We value all our guests comments and use them to continually improve our services and facilities.

Every suite in both Executive and Superior categories are unique. Executive Suites vary in size from 270-505 square feet. The smaller suite which you stayed in boasts the largest private balcony of all suites in both categories. All suites boast king size beds and this particular suite has a lounge chair, desk and 2 cupboards and a luggage rack. Once unpacked, luggage can be stowed under, on top of one of the cupboards, or under the bed, to offer more room for movement.

Should you visit us again, please do make sure to mention that you would prefer a different suite. We do hope to welcome you again to Tintagel Colombo and have an opportunity to improve your impression of our property!

Yours in Service,

The Management
Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Had a fabulous stay at this boutique villa. This is the home of the Bandarnayakes, one of the first families of Sri Lanka. Prime Ministers and Presidents of the country have grown-up in this house. The villa has been restored/ renovated with immense care and superlative taste. There are only twelve rooms and they fill-up fast.
For the price and experience that they are trying to create, the service is not upto that mark. Spoke to the manager, and gave him some suggestions on how they may improve.
A common complaint is that they do not have a bar, but at the same time, they serve your liquor that too without a corkage fees!

Room Tip: There is a room on the ground floor with a private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anubhav N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFS79, Director at Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your recent review of Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo! We value our guests feedback and please know we do use it to continually improve our services and facilities.

We are sincerely sorry you experienced a poor level of service on your recent stay. Our General Manager has met with the Front Office Personnel and we've tried to track with whom you have shared your feedback with no luck and can only assume it was to a member of staff who is no longer in our employment.
Please do know that we take this matter seriously, as service is the most important part of our offering to our guests.

We do hope to welcome you again to Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo to have the opportunity to improve your impression of our property.

Yours in Service,

Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The Tintagel is located in a lovely part of Colombo: full of large bungalows and very clean.

The hotel itself is beautifully refurbished, with a lovely pool and library full of old books. The entire ambience of the place is regal, with lots of polished wood. The room's bathroom was also tastefully done up with unfinished concrete pairing with hard wood furniture.

Service was excellent. Polite, attentive, and not too overbearing or intrusive.

The only slight disappointment was the food: I had the Sri Lankan breakfast once, and it was expensive, and also not very good (the hoppers were limp). The normal breakfast is quite filling, and should suffice for most people. They also serve an excellent coffee. The pricing was slightly expensive for the food menu, too, hence we decided not to eat there (especially after my Sri Lankan breakfast, which I had to pay for fully rather than to top-up).

On the lack of alcohol, we didn't test this out as we are teetotal.

Room Tip: We stayed at the North East room: unfortunately the only view it has is of the car park, so you migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peijing T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.8 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 54 in Colombo
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
1.7 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 54 in Colombo
2,168 reviews
1.5 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 54 in Colombo
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo

Property: Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo
Address: 65 Rosmead Place, Colombo 07, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Colombo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#5 Business Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tintagel is a unique and private hotel, situated in the heart of Colombo's most elite neighborhood. Offering 10 individually designed suites with all modern amenities and services, Tintagel is housed in a stunning heritage structure of national importance that was previously home to three of Sri Lanka's political leaders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing