We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique exclusive and fit for Royals” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Boutique exclusive and fit for Royals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We only stayed one night and were on the only ground floor room in the hotel which was close to the pool and restaurant so perhaps not the best room in the house but I loved it all the same.

I can't image how this hotel turns a profit as its beautifullly maintained and only has a small amount of rooms and delivers a fantastic lux boutique full service product.

I stayed in Casa Colombo and looked at the other top trip adviser rated hotels - this is the pick at the moment and I loved it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TF66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    112
    37
    5
    7
See reviews for
97
255
34
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We had just one night here at the end of a week in Sri Lanka. This is a stunning, historic building turned into a beautiful small hotel with some of the feel of a gentleman's club - dark wood, chesterfields in the bar. We had a suite which was spacious and very nicely furnished. Strangely, the hotel has still not managed to get a liquor licence. If you are aware of this and can plan ahead, it's not a problem as they're happy to serve what you bring yourself with no corkage charge.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gls408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Tintagel is a classy and exquisitely well appointed. The eye of detail threads through every element of the old colonial president's residence, from gorgeous fragrant floral arrangements, poolside sculptures and breakfast to their selection of bathroom products from Spa Ceylon (a personal favourite). The award winning restaurant serves delicious meals, and the staff helpful, although somewhat aloof.
It's location in Colombo 7 is close to excellent attractions such as the museum, and shopping destinations of choice - Paradise Road, Odel, Barefoot, Cotton Collection, Barefoot, Stone & String, the newly renovated racecourse building and gem shops.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darkydoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Baie
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

The last hotel on our stay,and I must say we chose very well. From the doormen to the front desk, the butler, room service and the restaurant everything was just done with such professionalism, discretion and charm.
Nothing was too much for the staff. the kitchen well.....what can i say....we had The most refined Sri Lankan curry of our trip. Well done to the chef.

The decor is pure Anouchka Hempel, . The only criticism I have is possibly the lighting. A little too dark.
A must stay in Colombo.

Room Tip: Everything about the hotel is wonderful . It absolutely lived up to our expectations and beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ida473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We've just come back from an amazing holiday in Sri Lanka and it started off here... at the lovely Paradise Road - Tintagel. We only stayed one nice, before heading off to Yala... but gosh, I wish we could have stayed forever. I would give anything to have another bowl of the absolutely yummy - buffalo curd with Treacle (please don't leave without trying this... it's like - heaven!). Everything from entrance to bathrooms are well cared for and lovely. The whole place smells like a massive bouquet of flowers and it lingers on long after you leave.

The pool is small but so stylish - you can't fault it. I do think they need to work a little on the gym and the steam room (no instructions - and were told later by the staff that we needed to give them a heads up if we wanted to use it. Seeing as we did enquire about the steam room BEFORE we went for a swim, the staff should have said something then)... but that's a little blip in what makes Tintagel so special.

Our room was small but it was good enough for us and it was well appointed. There was a bathtub and a separate shower cubicle in the beautiful green mosaic bathroom - we could not ask for more!

Dinner was nice - I ordered the sri lankan platter (with a delicious prawn curry) and I wasn't disappointed. My mum ordered the fish with the laksa sauce but she wasn't too happy with it. The bread basket however was to die for... yum and a special mention for the spicy crab soup - yum!

NOW the jewel in the crown has to be the front office management - Mr. Dhan and Mr. Kenny. Nothing was too much for them. They were helpful with practically everything - rooms, tours, travel, contacts (they are well connected!). Thank you thank you thank you for sorting things out for us... as this trip would not have been the same without all your help. Special mention to the other gentleman at the front office - Mr. Lankesh (sorry if I've got your name wrong)... thanks to you, we made it to Yala - happy and not tired LOL!

Can't wait to return... please stay here.. and stay longer. This place is an absolute gem!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fazzyk416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

You just know as soon as you enter this hotel that it was once a very up-market residence. It retains that air of opulence. Our room was not the largest but was very comfortable and well equipped with a good en-suite.

Dinner was excellent - served on the terrace - the only drawback being the hotel's lack of a liquor licence which enforces one to byo. That's ok if it's a bottle of wine you want but how about aperitifs? We had no pre-warning of this situation, either. As it was - the hotel's non-alcoholic cocktails were quite fun and, for once, we had a dry evening!

Service was good - not oppressive but attentive. Here's hoping the liqur licence appears soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank W-Man77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Tintagel was our selection for the perfect honeymoon hotel to stay in, however we expected rather more in terms of it been a Luxury Boutique Hotel. Even though Tintagel has an astonishing amount of class and vintage look, it is the service that we found were not upto the standard. It is sad to say that we received a better & warm welcome from a 3 star hotel in Ahungalla than in Tintagel. When we walked in to the hotel in Ahungalla, we were treated with warm towels, fruit baskets, fruit punch and a scrumptious chocolate cake, however we did not receive such a welcome in Tintagel which was rather disappointing as it is known for a luxury boutique hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsSamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.8 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
1.5 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo

Property: Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo
Address: 65 Rosmead Place, Colombo 07, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#1 Family Hotel in Colombo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#5 Business Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tintagel is a unique and private hotel, situated in the heart of Colombo's most elite neighborhood. Offering 10 individually designed suites with all modern amenities and services, Tintagel is housed in a stunning heritage structure of national importance that was previously home to three of Sri Lanka's political leaders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing