We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for private dining/stay ,not as a venue for events”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Visited recently for a official function . The place in itself as a boutique hotel is fabulous .This is a stunning colonial mansion and the decor has been tastefully placed to bring out an elegant look and feel .
This is my 2nd visit and although the first was outstanding I regret that my second experience was very bad . The Canape served were terrible and the food was served late and was too hot .
The service too was less than desireable.I would reconsider this place for a corporate/large event.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

387 - 393 of 596 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed three nights here after a circle Sri Lanka tour. The hotel is a colonial mansion which takes you back in time. Our room was beautiful, clean and has everything you need. The staff are amazing, so friendly and thoughtful. We dined every morning and evening in the hotel restaurant, after eating there the first night we couldn't wait till our next meal, the chef is so good. We even had freshly baked bread and the homemade gnocchi was so nice we had it twice. The waiters remembered how we like to be served and even changed the background music to the music they knew we had enjoyed the night before. Don't be put off with the no alcohol licence the staff can get anything you like or like us you can take a tuk tuk to a local bottle shop and buy what you like and Tintagel chill it, mix it if required and serve it with style.
Ends up cheaper than buying on a licence premises too. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Front rooms have direct access to large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zenshideaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

former residence of ex president Bandarinke, this stunning colonial mansion makes for the perfect sexy boutique hotel in the quiet elegant embassy district of the city and is a just short walk from cool shops and everywhere in the city is really only a tuk tuk ride away.

I stayed in the black and white suite which was divine, huge and perfectly appointed. Food in the hotel was superb, fresh, modern Sri lankan with a a twist and lots of euro options too.

Staff were superb and nothing was too much trouble. The little gym was perfect as was the pool although the pool is very shaded so it's tricky to find a spot to lie i the sun.

My only criticism is that the interior of the hotel so so very dark as to make it feel a bit gloomy
but I suppose that's quite pleasant then you come in from the searing heat of the streets.

I loved this hotel and would highly recommend

Room Tip: they all look stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosiemrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Delightful, sophisticated and with extremely nice staff. Shower was a bit problematic (lukewarm water and low pressure). Otherwise perfect for a romantic getaway (if you have plenty of money to spare).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vincent584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The atmospher is is more than u expect, the service is perfect, the privacy is kept. I love the place. All rooms are with its own personality. The staff takes care of u, like they serve in there own home for family guests. I must give special aknowledges to the food in the restaurant. Perfect! I allways look forward to get back "home" in Colombo. A stay in Tintagel is lika a stay in paradise. Best service from Deminda at the front desk and to Shamain in the restaurant. Professional members of staff. Its little more in price, but much more in value of the stay.

Stayed: May 2013
Thank Rolf D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

By using the ex-residence of the previous Sri Lankan prime minister the owners have a head start with character and quality. From my three visits to Sri Lanka and many hotels the new buildings, such as the newly opened Kingsbury, still can't touch the old colonial buildings for quality

On top of the built in attraction service is absolutely first class and the restaurant food superb. I should add that the food at the Gallery Cafe, run by the same people, is also outstanding

If you like a bit of light then I recommend not staying in the ground floor room. We were first given this one and then moved to the West Room, the cheapest option of the rooms available. The hotel and the area it is located in is a peaceful sanctuary from the noise and crowds of downtown Colombo

Highly recommended

Room Tip: First floor rooms have more light and are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turista42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel is stunning and the history fantastic. It has been done to highest standards but does suffer from not having a full bar service. Service was extremely attentive although not necessarily 'mind reading' which one might expect from a hotel of this nature. Having said that, was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.7 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.7 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.8 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 55 in Colombo
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
#8 of 55 in Colombo
448 reviews
1.7 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#9 of 55 in Colombo
2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo

Address: 65 Rosmead Place, Colombo 07, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#5 Business Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: $194 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tintagel is a unique and private hotel, situated in the heart of Colombo's most elite neighborhood. Offering 10 individually designed suites with all modern amenities and services, Tintagel is housed in a stunning heritage structure of national importance that was previously home to three of Sri Lanka's political leaders. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing