We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They have the best Pittu in town”
Review of Palmyrah

Palmyrah
Ranked #36 of 576 Restaurants in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Sri Lankan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Authentic Srilankan Restaurant with emphasis on classic Jaffna Fare. The Restaurant is open daily for Lunch from 12pm to 2.30pm and Dinner from 7pm to 10.30pm
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“They have the best Pittu in town”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

I normally have the hoppers, since they are very good. However, I decided to have the Pittu instead and made the best choice. The food was tasty and fabu. The atmosphere is always great and the staff friendly and efficient.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Traveldiva6546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    81
    20
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Food !”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

A little pricey..but worth the money as the food quality is excellent. The waiting staff is attentive and knowledgeable and and the desserts are the Die For ! Old faves like Mango Melba..made like they used to in the days gone by and wattalappam and of course my favourite Mutton Poriyal and Pittu was Super and have not changed in all those years ! I visit every time I go back to Sri Lanka and have not been disappointed. The hoppers too are very good but on the expensive side.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nangi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Daylight robbery @ Palmyrah restaurant, Renuka Hotel”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I never stayed at this hotel, but went for a dinner with 2 of my friends to its Palmyrah restaurant and thought of writing this review in order to prevent any others unnecessarily wasting their money at this place. Parking was not a problem and security seemed to be ok, welcome was alright and finding a table was not a problem though it was a Saturday (probably nobody steps there twice). Ambiance was nothing wow, but the place was clean. When asked about cleaning hands, attendant directed to the toilet which was outside the restaurant premises, there was no means to clean hands inside the restaurant itself. When asked for a second time only he obliged to bring a finger bowl. Juices were alright. Food arrived sooner than expected (probably pre cooked food). Attendant told portions are set for 2 people, but the portion received was just enough for an averagely eating adult male. I wonder what he meant by 2 people, and we had to reorder. The prices they had set for the food items were exuberant! It was a typical Sri Lankan dinner we had with string hoppers, dhal and chicken and it cost over LKR 3500. The food was nothing greater than from any street joint and restaurant service was horrible. We were very much disappointed about choosing this place. I would recommend a place like Chutney @ Cinnaman Grand Colombo if you are going for a subcontinental meal similar to this, you could have 5 star food with a 5 star service for a cheaper value than we got at Renuka. All in all very much disappointed with this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Miththinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Food, but used to be better.”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We have eaten at the Palmyrah many times before and have always enjoyed the experience. However, this time the food was not up to the standard that we have been used to. The flavours were not as vibrant as 2 years ago and the service not as attentive as previous years. But the portions are generous, prices very reasonable and you do not feel rushed. The restaurant itself is on the basic side for Colombo, but in all a pleasant evening. If I had not been here before I would have been happier with the experience, but knowing what they are capable of I was slightly disappointed.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whoknowz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Good Sri Lankan food, reasonable prices.”
Reviewed December 31, 2009

This restaurant is in the basement of Renuka City Hotel.

The service is friendly and reasonable. The restaurant and toilets are clean.

The range of food is quite limited but the quality is good. There are veg curries and a few meat ones. Various hoppers and breads are also on offer.

Veg curries come in at 300 rupees, meat ones around 450. Small chapattis can be bought individually for 30 rupees each. Rice is around 150 rupees. Lion beer is 140, Three coins (the only place we found it in!) is 180. Mineral water is priced up. Service charge and tax comes in at 25%.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChinaRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palmyrah also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Palmyrah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing