We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TASTE OF PARADISE”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of California Grill

California Grill
Ranked #165 of 555 Restaurants in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: International, European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“TASTE OF PARADISE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

California Grill restaurant is at the Hotel Galadari, on the top floor. Press letter R, (for restaurant) when you get on the lift to get to this floor. Book a table by the window, overlooking the Galle Road down below, facing the Galle Face Hotel in the distance. Wow!!. What a breath taking view, especially at night. You see Colombo by night when you sit there, waiting for your meal. The service is excellent and it's value for money. We have dined there so many time, but we can never get enough. Try their Salmon and for afters, try their crepe zussett. (I don't know the spelling for this). They make this desert by your table. It is the most delicious dessert I have ever tried. Please dress smart when you go to this restaurant, because the service is very upmarket. It is by the way, often fully booked and the window tables are taken, so it would be sensible to book your table early.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hemamali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    24
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“an experience to remember!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

It is a gorgeous restaurant and the view of the galle road at night is stunning! a necklace of shinning lights! gorgeous! thoroughly enjoyed it! the food was great and the ambiance was lovely. Ideal for a quiet romantic dinner, soothing piano music in the background, tranquil environment, simple but elegant decor and a great environment all together. The service was excellent! The staff attitude was very friendly and didnt have to lift a finger :D
Great place, a must visit!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BawaRoxV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food great ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Fabulous view of the city of Colombo. Extensive menu with great food choices to suit any budget.
The baked crab just melts in your mouth and the steaks are done to perfection

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wanigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Heart of Colombo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Beautiful Breath taking view from the roof top. Romantic location. Reasonable quality food. Best for dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Dilani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great food - no atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This restaurant could be so much better but there is no atmosphere - I visited on a Saturday night and there is a live jazz band (not great...but when there are only three tables occupied I can't blame them for being a little downbeat!).

The food was great and should be tried if you are in a large party (and can therefore create your own atmosphere!). amuse bouche and steak cooked at the table are nice touched which maje for a good experience - the service is very good also. The menu is pretty extensive for seafood and grilled meat also - which you would expect for a 'grill' but this is not necessarily a 'surf and turf joint' - more refined I would say.

Some reviewers comment on the air-con, yes....it is a little cold if you don't like that but I live in Geneva and I'm british so love the cold - I had no problems!

I was a little disappointed with the 'view' - the hotel website lures you into believing that this is a 'rooftop' grill and you could sit romantically outdoors - not the case, the restaurant is just on the top floor and you can look at views of the main road at night and very little else. You can go outside and there is an odd fountain arrangement with the only sign saying 'California Grill' on it...again a little odd.

All in all, great food but lacking in atmosphere - I would go again but there are too many other places to check out and they are reportedly better.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MattPWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Grill also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to California Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing