We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced and nothing special.”
Review of Nihonbashi

Nihonbashi
Ranked #67 of 571 Restaurants in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Over priced and nothing special.”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I have been to all the Nihonbashi in Colombo several times ,because my Chinese friend likes Japanese food. The food`s quality is not bad,, but does it worth that much money?
I stayed with a couple =so total 3 persons and we ate very little and only 1 beer each.
Cost us 140$!!! and it way ok for my friends because they new the price.
But,,, what made them surprise more was 25$ tax! ( may be service fee included ,I dont know,,I dont care anyway.)
So be careful ! If you want to through money for nothing ,it is better give the money to the beggars out side.(there are many in Colombo). Caz they appreciate it at least. but This stupid Government would never say thank you to you.
Remember
In this City(Colomo), if you ate in a local restaurant ,you can have tasty curry with big rice only for 1$.
And it is real (I wonder they pay 25% tax out of 1$(^^)?) food!
And now you are thinking about spending 100$(for one person no alcol at least 35$) for a fake Japanese food? Get out of here.

talking about fish.
you can buy good flesh fish cheap in Colombo.
I wonder why these restaurant targeting such a high price. Cheap labour cheap fish cheap construction, and even more expensive than TOKYO(u know japanese capital )

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maguder D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    85
    51
    24
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unmissable”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

There is a special Wagyu burger that needs an advance order and is to die for.
The private dining rooms are great for a small group or intimate dinner

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rohan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Galle Face Nihonbashi need to straighten up”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

After having had one of my most memorable experiences at the Nihonbashi at JAIC Hilton last year(regretfully in the process of being redecorated), we had reserved at the Galle Face Terrace, - presumably the best sushi restaurant in town according to the main provider of tuna meat in Sri Lanka.

The interior is well thought through, and the service impeccable. The food is delcately presented, and the quality of the food very good.

On the negative side we had a teriyaki which reminded us little of the original. The price level is far too high for what one may get at alternative restaurants, and the final stint which tells you that this is high quality sushi is missing. We will wait for the JAIC Hilton to return, and hope that they keep up their standard from the past.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stein54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“No Tuna, No Crab”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I am a frequent visitor to both Nihonbashis in Colombo. (Odel and Headoffice)
Recently ive seen a bit of a drop in the service.
The odel branch is not stocked well.
The head office private rooms are not maintained well.
The food is still great though when they have it in stock but they need to make sure they maintain the restaurants well.

Their prices also are not that cheap either.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Amrithds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No Tuna and a Miso Bath to boot!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

20th Dec 2012 - Server Rajitha. We are regulars at Dharshana's other restaurants. We were told that they were out of Tuna after we made a reservation and arrived for dinner :( The service was atrocious. My wife's tempura was soggy and cold. The delay between dishes unacceptably long. To cap it all the waiter brought me the wrong dish and proceeded to drop the cup of hot miso soup on my lap. My iPhone was floating in soup but still worked - thank god. The manager could only offer an apology in response. Very disappointing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lavide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nihonbashi also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Nihonbashi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing