We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it as usual”
Review of The Lagoon

The Lagoon
Ranked #3 of 562 Restaurants in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it as usual”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We go to Sri Lanka about 2-3 times a year, without failing, we visit Lagoon as much as possible. This time, we visited with friends once and just the 2 of us several times, and each time the food was wonderful. We find that this is one of the few restaurants in Colombo we can get a healthy selection of vegetables (boiled or lightly wok fried). At about Rs 250/= it is very good value for money too.

The service is fantastic every time we visit, and the service staff are very friendly and pleasant.

One of our friends doesn't eat fish, which was a bit of a problem in a fish restaurant. But he ended up eating Cuttle fish (in Tamarind sauce), lobster tail starter and the lobster main course. We had hot butter cuttle fish, prawns, modha fish and pasta (very inexpensive and tasty).

Being Christmas time, it was very busy, but when we turned up for dinner one night, they still managed to accommodate us. The only problem is, you just tend to order too much, because they all look and sound very good. Several times we took doggy bags back with us. They are happy to give you the left over.

If you chose wisely, you could have an inexpensive, but very high quality healthy meal. Having said that, if you go overboard with shell fish, the cost can be high. But worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    714
    288
    85
    39
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good choice of dishes for business dinner.”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Had the dinner/meeting in the garden outside the restaurant.Good food for a business outing. But a bit noisy for a meeting. Staff is friendly and the service is excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suhail21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
131 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“If you like fish look no further”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is probably my third visit to the Lagoon, a fabulous fish restaurant based at the wonderful CINNAMON GRAND COLOMBO, and it just gets better and better. The star of the show this time to the Modha fillet.

All I can say is yummy yummy and good value , despite the poor acoustics.

The modha (also known as koduwa, barramundi and sea bass) is a great fish in it's own right and calling it anything else i.e. sea bass is somewhat misleading although I understand the comparison. However, It's a really big fish and I'm told that the skin is uneatable, so don't expect a slow baked fish with a crispy skin but it is superb grilled with a sauce of your choice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Critica l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Make your reservation early and wear long pants for the men in the party as there is a dress code. The crab is cooked perfectly and I highly recommend the black pepper sauce choice. Unlike true Singaporean black pepper crab from Long Beach, etc - the black pepper sauce is in the serving bowl rather than slathered over everything making it a bit less messy to eat and giving you the ability to set the perfect amount of spice. Crab is about US$50 for 1kg which is actually in line with Singapore pricing (wish it was a little less) but everything else is on the less expensive side. Pair the crab with the local steamed fish, locally veggies, and even after wine and beer you are looking at a $100 tab for 2, which is a phenomenal value for this high end establishment. Also, you will find the staff very attentive which is actually a bit unusual for Sri Lanka. I highly recommend fans of real seafood take in this jewel. I can't really give a high romance score based on my dining - black pepper crab should only be eaten with people you have known for a long, long time (like garlic and onion pizza), but this would be very romantic depending on your food choice.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nelson_Gregga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great seafood in great ambience”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Really nice setting around the pool/lagoons of the hotel with indoor and outdoor dining. Great selection of seafood and unique style where you choose your fish, cooking style and sauces etc. Heaps of variety, almost too much that it makes the decision quite difficult. Slightly more expensive than a lot of other places, but still less than $90 for a good meal for 2.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tokyotravellers1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lagoon also viewed

 

Been to The Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing