We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, spicy and pricy”
Review of The Lagoon

The Lagoon
Ranked #3 of 576 Restaurants in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice, spicy and pricy”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

A table looking out onto the pool/garden with a cold beer was just the thing to wind down a bit. There is a good selection of seafood here and neither the flavour nor presentation disappointed. The mixed platter had a good array of seafood but came out a bit cold (sitting on ice) - I let it sit for a while to warm up and the flavours were much improved. The mains was a prawn curry - with a real kick to it - and I am used to hot food. But nevertheless very enjoyable. The staff were very helpful, the decor modern and stylishly understated and the atmosphere a nice mix of bustle in the middle but quiet near the tables.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodieandhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    739
    299
    89
    39
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Spoiled for choice”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We were lucky to get into this restaurant as we didn't make a reservation and it was busy, but the staff looked after us as we were hotel guests.

The floor to ceiling glass creates a wonderful atmosphere for this restaurant as you look out onto the hotel gardens. The style of the restaurant, with seafood laid on tables of ice for you to choose from and then to select the method of cooking, makes the meal seem like a very special occasion and one you have contributed to.

Many of the fish varieties had local names that we didn't recognise so didn't know where to start. The waiter was extremely helpful, asking us the method of cooking we felt like and the types of seafood we preferred, and he put these options together to suggest dishes. We were then offered the choice of produce but suggested that the waiter was probably a better judge of quality and the quantity required.

The food quality was outstanding,the presentation appealing and the portions were just right. All in all a great meal and a memorable experience. We would highly recommend this restaurant and look forward to returninhg there if we ever get back to Sri Lanka.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank annieandbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nothing to say wow”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This has some good sea food but the presentation is not up to the mark as well as the souse types can improve . my wife and i had a ok night out here but nothing to boast about

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent but a bit pricey”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The freshest of sea food cooked any way you like it. If unsure the staff will guide you. The service is excellent. Only downside is that it is expensive in a country where food is relatively cheap. Cost us approximately US$100, without alcohol.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Travancore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the BEST restaurants in Colombo”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We dine here very often and I always have Prawns or Crabs... The seafood is ALWAYS fresh and the staff is very polite and helpful but their English isn't perfect they can only understand basic English so I end up talking to them in Sinhalese when I want to explain to them how I want my seafood prepared :) The ambiance is stylish and you can always sit by the pretty pond outside...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lagoon also viewed

 
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to The Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing