We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Yala National Park
from $29.00
More Info
from $125.00
More Info
Budget Safari
1 Review
from $37.50
More Info
from $550.00
More Info
Reviews (3,680)
Filter reviews
3,680 results
Traveler rating
1,475
1,059
631
302
213
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,475
1,059
631
302
213
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wild boar water buffalo sloth bear spotted deer day safari bird life early morning monitor lizards bee eaters beautiful birds jeep driver great safari bumpy ride leopard sightings dry season early start their natural habitat
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,090 - 2,095 of 3,680 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2014

YALA is a good national park. We sighted bears , crocs, one elephant, many deer, mongoose and peacocks and rabbits and many other animals including the NATIONAL BIRD OF SRI LANKA - THE FOWL. - JUNGLE FOWL.
But no big cats.
And we may go again.
Some times in the enthusiasm to spot something, there is a chaos among the vehicles which makes it a traffic jam in an otherwise silent park.

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank rajarani2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2014

During August we visited Sri Lanka's Yala national park. As there was a severe drought it was the best time to see wildlife that came to drink at water holes though nearly all waterholes were packed with tourist vehicles there if a animal had been spotted there

The waterhole near Kotigala (Leopard rock) gave the best opportunity in the early evening to view a sloth bear though we waited nearly 2 hours to see it.

We also saw elephants and many other species of animals at waterholes.
Several tour operators operate from Tissamaharamaya for a Safari in Yala and accommodation at Tissamaramaya is more reasonably priced.

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank Jariya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2014

Yala National Park has a variety of birds and wildlife. It is one of the best national parks in Sri Lanka if you want to see many different species. If you are very lucky you can also spot the wild leopard in Yala.

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank Miss-World-dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2014

The jeep safari is just like any other jeep safari if you had been to the ones in South Africa. But I made sure that was a difference. This was to camp one night in the park because I wanted to have breakfast in the river stream and it was a very good experience.You get monkeys watching you and a monitor lizard strolling past you too while having breakfast. The staff of the company engaged by my tour guide was excellent, so was their service. We were treated like royalty. The one night camp was very comfortable. The tent was huge enough that I could stand straight, and I'm 1.76m tall. The beds were soft, private shower and toilet facilities were provided, including all meals. What we eat and used (cutlery) in a restaurant, we got it here, we were so pampered. Of course not fogetting the animals, the leopards and kingfisher were beautilful

Date of experience: March 2014
Thank ToyotaWish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2014

Such an amazing trio. Saw so much wildlife. Make sure you do the full day if you get the chance. You find yourself on your own a lot more, with lots more sightings of animals. This is when we saw the leopard! So amazing!

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank Claire J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews