We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Islamabad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Islamabad Serena Hotel
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Islamabad
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best in Islamabad”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Overall, this is the way a hotel should be run. Staff was excellent and very attentive. This is particularly impressive given that this hotel is massive and is typically at about 90 percent occupancy.

A few details: first, it bears mention that the hotel is very secure. Second, the hotel itself is beautiful. The grounds are lush and the common areas are grand. The gym, spa, and pool facilities are excellent. There are two gyms--one for women only and one that is mixed. The pool in the spa area is about a standard 25 yard pool and is fine for lounging about or swimming laps. The locker rooms are newly done are well kept.

The food is excellent. I ate in the main (buffet) area and also in a number of different restaurants. All the food was top quality.

There are a couple areas for improvement: the wifi is a bit spotty in some areas of the hotel. Also, for such a nice hotel, the mattresses are flimsy. This was probably my biggest pet peeve. Finally, some of the fixtures in the older rooms are a bit worn. This is due to the fact that this hotel is typically filled. But this aside, this is the only hotel one should stay in while in Islamabad.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ATIDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    172
    41
    11
    14
See reviews for
65
49
30
370
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is breathtakingly beautiful. It's decor is a traditional modern fusion and a delight for the senses. You'll smell Oudh and fragrance oils burning in corridors, whilst on the walls the artwork is stunning. They even have their own gallery. Staff are exceptionally courteous and helpful and the food in the restaurants was fantastic. Loved every minute there.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Abdul Azeem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad Capital Territory, Pakistan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is breathtakingly beautiful. It's decor is a traditional modern fusion and a delight for the senses. You'll smell Oudh and fragrance oils burning in corridors, whilst on the walls the artwork is stunning. They even have their own gallery. Staff are exceptionally courteous and helpful and the food in the restaurants was fantastic. Loved every minute there.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidatt10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

I think it is one of the best hotel in Pakistan very ideally located at foothills of marglla next to diplomatic enclave . Hotel is serene nicely decorated with unique crafts spacious lobby n sitting areas restaurants are very elegant food is very good with very reasonable prices . It feels a very comfortable environment when ever you visit

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Yasir M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I had a fantastic time during my two night stay at Serena at the suite with view of Margalla hills. Provided with the flower bouquet, and delicious mousse cake when i checked in. The morning view of the Margalla hills was mesmerizing. Washroom was with really nice facilities. Also the morning comprehensive breakfast brunch was enjoyable. The restaurant was open 24 hours as i ordered food at 3am and got response within 20 min. The room bar had all drinks, dry fruits and chips available. Staff was very friendly and responsive 24 hours. furniture and bedding quality was very nice. The cultural rickshaw theme of shuttle car for going to parking was adorable.

Some minor problems i faced were swimming pool,spa,sauna were open till a fixed time, and they are not for couples. Iron was not in room already but was provided on request. Mixing of hot/cold water in shower was a bit problematic. The socket for phone charger could only be plugged in washroom.

Room Tip: take the one with view of margala hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank syedsarosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boras, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I have been here a couple of times and I sure am pleased. It really feels luxurious both in the rooms and at all facilities. The gym is the best gym I ever seen on a hotel and there is a really nice shower and relax facilities too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad Capital Territory, Pakistan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This was our 2nd stay in the Serena Hotel this year. A beautiful hotel, a little old, but still on the highest level, a luxury hotel that leaves nothing to be desired. A service that we've not experienced for a long time in Pakistan.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamabad
1.4 mi away
Islamabad Marriott Hotel
Islamabad Marriott Hotel
#2 of 23 in Islamabad
363 reviews
24.4 mi away
Shangrila Resort Hotel Murree Hills
9.2 mi away
Pearl Continental Hotel Rawalpindi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Envoy Continental Hotel
Envoy Continental Hotel
#3 of 23 in Islamabad
34 reviews
1.0 mi away
Islamabad Hotel
Islamabad Hotel
#6 of 23 in Islamabad
48 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal Crown
Royal Crown
#9 of 23 in Islamabad
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islamabad Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islamabad Serena Hotel

Property: Islamabad Serena Hotel
Address: Khayaban-e-Suhrawardy, Islamabad 44000, Pakistan
Phone Number:
Location: Pakistan > Islamabad Capital Territory > Islamabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Islamabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Islamabad Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islamabad Serena Hotel stands at the foot of the Margalla Hills, on fourteen acres of land, with beautiful gardens and serene water shore of the Rawal Lake in close proximity, next to the Diplomatic Enclave. The architecture and interiors of this fabulous Hotel building is a mere reflection of typical Pakistani cultural heritage depicting the skills and craftsmanship of native artisans. In this state-of-the-art building, local traditions are elegantly combined with latest technologies in order to provide a comfortable stay to our prestigious guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Islamabad Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing