We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in the best city of Pakistan though bit expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Islamabad Serena Hotel
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Islamabad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I was invited for consultation on research by my fellow scientist from Germany. We spent a couple of ours there and enjoyed tea in nice cafe. Overall it feels like you are not in Pakistan rather in an advanced city of Canada/US or Europe. However, tight security checking at the entrance is a bit odd in all evens. It is a bit expensive if you are coming from within the country but may not be that much expensive if you are coming from outside like Canada/US/Europe. Overall it feels nicer in the presence of great green look of Margall hills. I would recommend this hotel to be worth visiting and staying.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GhulamBilal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
There are newer reviews for Islamabad Serena Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

400 - 406 of 575 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Islamabad Serena last weekend with my family. The housekeeping staff took five hours and numerous calls to put a mattress for my daughter in the room. Makeup room service ended up cleaning our room around evening time and they forgot to put fresh towels which came after two calls to housekeeping staff. Our floor had some military delegation so all exit doors were kept open for surveillance making access to the room very hot and corridors hotter. There was no privacy as well. Instead of putting us on the same floor the hotel management could have booked us in a different floor to save us from all this hassle.

The rooms need to be refurbished including the bathrooms so to keep Serena among the better hotels in Islamabad. The housekeeping staff needs to be trained in providing efficient service and a five star cleaning service in the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanishFIqbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Close your eyes and try to imagine how Islamabad Serena is - it is exactly like that. Offers everything you expect from a 5-star business hotel. Extremely tight security, nice or even nicer rooms, amazing gym, good food served in the various restaurants. Offers booze for non-Muslim guests in one restaurant and by room service (though expensive). Great and overpriced.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nammarci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

As a frequent guest at the Serena hotels in East Africa, I was pleased that the Islamabad offered the same quality services. The food at every one of their restaurants was excellent and the service was impeccable. The car service was also very good, albeit a bit pricey. The only complaint I may have is that they charge you a full nights stay despite arriving at about 5 am (Most of the international flights arrive between 3-5 am).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sid_wise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Spent less than a week here on a business trip, and must admit that it was a very pleasant experience. It was my first time in Pakistan, and this hotel made the stay extremely enjoyable.
The hotel is very spacious, the rooms are huge, and everything seems larger than life.
Breakfast was at the hotel restaurant every morning, and the spread was good, with a mixture of local as well as continental styles.
Service all round was excellent.
Free laundry was provided with my room, which is always appreciated.
Good tv channels available in the room.
Only thing I didn't like, but I suppose is necessary, was the amount of security scanning and checks to get into the hotel. Just seemed a hassle every time, but I guess I should understand given the circumstances.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank teedot00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

An average hotel with mixed service.

Check-in and Check-out:
Only 1 person at the desk so you would need to wait however once your turn comes, check in is fast and efficient. Not more than a minute which is excellent.

Rooms:
Bigger than your standard hotel room but things are now looking a bit worn out. Renovations needed. Rooms are clean which is what matters.

Food:
Ordered room service for dinner and breakfast. Breakfast was outrightly bad and dinner was just okay. Speeds are slow. 45-60 minutes for an order. There is definitely a lot of room for improvement.

Staff:
Very friendly and efficient. Smiling faces which make you feel welcomed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheharyar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serena H, Public Relations Manager at Islamabad Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Mr Sheharyar A,

Thank you for visiting and reviewing our Serena property at Islamabad. We are glad to know that you were pleased with the staff and service and regret that the food and room service was unsatisfactory.

We are always looking to improve our standards and enhancing our guest experience and will continue to work towards that goal. We hope to exceed your expectation at your next visit.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Certainly the best hotel at Islamabad, nice installations, big and nice rooms, good service.
Very poor internet connection, good food choices of several restaurants. The best spa at Islamabad. The security checks are a bit exaggerated .....

Room Tip: Please keep out of the side of the generators and close to the main entrance, best side is the SPA...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goksel_Birol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serena H, Public Relations Manager at Islamabad Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Goksel_Birol,

Thank you for visiting the Islamabad Serena Hotel. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the architecture, spa, facilities and services and have noted your comment about the internet connection for due improvement.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamabad
1.4 mi away
Islamabad Marriott Hotel
Islamabad Marriott Hotel
#2 of 23 in Islamabad
369 reviews
24.4 mi away
Shangrila Resort Hotel Murree Hills
9.2 mi away
Pearl Continental Hotel Rawalpindi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Envoy Continental Hotel
Envoy Continental Hotel
#3 of 23 in Islamabad
36 reviews
1.0 mi away
Islamabad Hotel
Islamabad Hotel
#6 of 23 in Islamabad
48 reviews
4.8 mi away
Shelton Guest House
Shelton Guest House
#7 of 23 in Islamabad
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islamabad Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islamabad Serena Hotel

Address: Khayaban-e-Suhrawardy, Islamabad 44000, Pakistan
Phone Number:
Location: Pakistan > Islamabad Capital Territory > Islamabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Islamabad
Price Range: $286 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Islamabad Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islamabad Serena Hotel stands at the foot of the Margalla Hills, on fourteen acres of land, with beautiful gardens and serene water shore of the Rawal Lake in close proximity, next to the Diplomatic Enclave. The architecture and interiors of this fabulous Hotel building is a mere reflection of typical Pakistani cultural heritage depicting the skills and craftsmanship of native artisans. In this state-of-the-art building, local traditions are elegantly combined with latest technologies in order to provide a comfortable stay to our prestigious guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Islamabad Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing