We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in Isloo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Islamabad Serena Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Islamabad
Certificate of Excellence
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Best in Isloo”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Spent 2 nights. Amazing stay to say the least.

Pros:

1. Breakfast with fresh Halwa Puri with an ambiance and garden view.
2. Room was super quiet with light controls right next to your bed.
3. Had a few restaurants to choose from to have dinner.
4. Went for breakfast and found our room made on time.
5. Complementary Wifi.
6. Building Architecture.
7. Security.

Cons:

1. A Muslim country having a hotel serving alcohol menu. :(

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the garden view. Or maybe all rooms have garden view not really sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saadiwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serena H, Public Relations Manager at Islamabad Serena Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear 'saadiwow',

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. It's always a pleasure hearing back from our esteemed guests. We look forward to your next visit and hope to continue providing you with a truly memorable guest experience at the Serena.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    170
    41
    11
    13
See reviews for
64
48
28
367
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Quite simply there is currently nowhere else in Islamabad that comes anywhere close to the Serena (they are building a Holiday Inn but this wont be ready for some time and it most likely will not have the ambiance).
It is the most secure, luxurient, value for money and well managed hotel in Pakistan - bar none. The staff are friendly, the food is delicious (and soooo incredibly cheap) and the ambiance is palatial.
I would give it six stars if they had a decent breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gustypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed in Serena Hotel for 5 days. The hotel is amazingly beautiful, check in procedures were so quick. The executive room is too spacious with soft drinks free of charge. Wifi as well is complementary. The staff is very helpful and the hotel decoration is more than amazing with authentic arabic taste. There is a complementary access as well to the lounge on the 6th floor with lovely view on Islamabad. The hotel as well has a lovely swimming pool, lots of restaurants and a lovely SPA.
Definetly I will stay in Serena the next time I will go to Islamabad.

Room Tip: Try to have an upgrade to an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayouya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serena H, Public Relations Manager at Islamabad Serena Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear 'Mayouya'

Thank you for submitting your review. We really appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit.

Interesting Fact: Did you know the rooftop lounge's name 'Nazara' literally means 'view' in Urdu?

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The Islamabad Serena remains a fantastic hotel with great accommodation and outstanding service. Very secure location, with great facilities and good choice of cuisine. The only niggle I have with the Serena is that the internet connection is appalling and it's very difficult even to login to email at the best of times...needs to be sorted!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ampickeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I traveled to Islamabad for a business meeting and this hote is one of few 5* suits business travelers. There was misunderstanding so the agency who booked cancedled my booking but upon arrival at airport, I went to the hotel counter to use their hotel pickup service but my name was not there! They put me on a taxi and hotel paid for the taxi and managed to get a room for me. This was very nice from them.
Check-in was quick and smooth. Hotel and room has a local design and feel of Pakistan. Breakfast is very good, international and Pakistani breakfast. The buffet is very big and always full. Same for dinner in the main restaurant. They make BBQ on the dinner on the garden, was really awesome. I tried once the Elmaghreb, the Morocco restaurant and recommend kuscus dish.
I wish they provide more comprehensive menu in the room to discovered what is offered in the 4-5 restaurants.
I used the hotel limousine quite a lot, most convenient way even to go for shopping.

The ATM inside the hotel doesn't accept visa/Mastercard, only local banks! Balcony door can't be closed completely, I suffered on my last night which was rainy and windy.

Generally, was good experience and will stay there when i visit Islamabad again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

n.b. This review is targeted at the traveler for business or pleasure who has some experience in the region.

A five-star rating is rather elastic but this property deserves it. I have now been to the Serena in Kabul and Islamabad and can testify that the Serena chain of hotels are indeed of high quality. It's even good value for money as the room charge is well offset by the cheap food (which is delish) prices. I am definitely a foodie and found the food to be well above competent. A real attention to detail like making maple syrup available for pancakes is the mark of a true service-oriented hotel. All regional dishes from Western to South Asian and Asian were authentic tasting. Only suggestion would be to get a Starbuck's - style espresso maker because the espressos I had were a bit on the weak side. :)

All amenities are well-maintained. A good gym is important to me and the Serena had that and a 50 metre lap pool both of which are appreciated by the serious fitness buff like myself!

Given the region, security is high but well-organised and as discreet as possible, both of which are much appreciated. International development professionals at work or play will find everything they need here.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms all face the inner garden but if you are in one choose the higher floors to reduce the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSantos_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights to help recover from an illness. It was nice and relaxing and the pool was pleasant to sit by. Comfortable rooms, very pleasant and helpful staff.

I can't really comment on the restaurants because it wasn't worth eating anything as it wouldn't stay down for very long. However, the smells coming from Wild Rice were very pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamabad
1.4 mi away
Islamabad Marriott Hotel
Islamabad Marriott Hotel
#2 of 22 in Islamabad
358 reviews
24.4 mi away
Shangrila Resort Hotel Murree Hills
9.2 mi away
Pearl Continental Hotel Rawalpindi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Envoy Continental Hotel
Envoy Continental Hotel
#3 of 22 in Islamabad
33 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal Crown
Royal Crown
#9 of 22 in Islamabad
2 reviews
1.0 mi away
Islamabad Hotel
Islamabad Hotel
#7 of 22 in Islamabad
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islamabad Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islamabad Serena Hotel

Property: Islamabad Serena Hotel
Address: Khayaban-e-Suhrawardy, Islamabad 44000, Pakistan
Phone Number:
Location: Pakistan > Islamabad Capital Territory > Islamabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Islamabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Islamabad Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islamabad Serena Hotel stands at the foot of the Margalla Hills, on fourteen acres of land, with beautiful gardens and serene water shore of the Rawal Lake in close proximity, next to the Diplomatic Enclave. The architecture and interiors of this fabulous Hotel building is a mere reflection of typical Pakistani cultural heritage depicting the skills and craftsmanship of native artisans. In this state-of-the-art building, local traditions are elegantly combined with latest technologies in order to provide a comfortable stay to our prestigious guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and Ctrip TA so you can book your Islamabad Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing