We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent weekend brunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Islamabad Serena Hotel
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Islamabad
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
354 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Excellent weekend brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

The decor of the Serena is inviting guests in a sumptious hotel, displaying local handicrafts and decorations to bring tourists the local Pakistani arts and culture to their rooms. The hotel is surrounded in beautiful gardens and a stone's throw from the Diplomatic Enclave.

The lobby level restaurant serves buffets and a-la-carte Pakistani and international food. Go for the brunch, a sure value.

Security is quite high at the Serena, although be aware it remains a target.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarySL00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    161
    40
    11
    12
See reviews for
61
44
27
349
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed at the hotel during a 1 month business trip on Jan/Feb 2013.

By far this is one of the best hotels I've ever been to, here's why:

- Staff is great, very welcoming and helpful, they speak good English so communication isn't an issue. After some time at the hotel most of the them already knew our faces and would personally greet us (especially those at Zamana restaurant)

- We used the business center a lot, it has all the facilities you need, you just need to reserve in advance

- When not in any business activities I'd spend most of my day at the spa/pool/gym. I could go on forever about it, best facility ever, very clean, has everything you need starting with the robe & towels, shower, sauna, steam (with menthol), weights, and ending with some juice cookies and apples to energize.

- The room is very spacious and elegant, with the Pakistani style, double height ceiling, shower + tub, complementary drinks in your bar, free internet (cable or wifi). Laundry service was efficient (only rarely did they delay or forget to pick up your things, but when you call they'd come right away)

- We usually drank our coffee in their coffee shop outside by the garden, relaxing place to sit and chat, read the papers, or finish some work (dinner there was pretty nice as well, steak is recommended).

- It's a very secure location, you need to pass by three security checks to get in with the car.

Room Tip: Rooms that are on the opposite side of the diesel generators to avoid the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KhaledAyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Serena is a lovely hotel, with wonderful amenities, but it is the superb staff that makes it exceptional! The staff made a point of remembering my name, and were always polite and friendly, in this service-oriented culture. Security made me feel safe, lovely gardens, many food options, among other services make it a village of it's own.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the Margalla Hills, avoid rooms facing the front of the hotel---loud tire sque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lveadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

When staying in Islamabad it was always a tight call between the Marriott and the Serena. Tighter security and the ability to buy alcohol always gave the Marriott the edge. However, that's changed now.
Not only has security at the Serena been stepped up (but by no means to an oppressive level) but alcohol is now available to non-muslim guests. I was able to buy alcohol in my room and also in the Dawat restaurant.
Add to this the very pleasant atmosphere and decor in the hotel and the friendly, if a little zealous, service and the Serena is now my number one choice when staying in Islamabad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bennyboy2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Situated in the posh sector cushioning with the romantic breezes of the beautiful Murree, Serena hotel is no doubt the best hotel in town. from room service to open air hi teas, from all types of cuisines to best freshly made confectioneries, Serena is nothing but a perfect treat for every moment. Giving the mother nature feeling when one's exhausted from day to day life, stop looking any further as Serena is the one long awaited place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahsan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serena H, Public Relations Manager at Islamabad Serena Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear 'AhsanC'

Thank you for this beautifully expressed review. We really appreciate you taking out the time to relish in our signature Serena hospitality and sharing your views. We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad
Level Contributor
263 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

The best hotel in Islamabad, it is a mix of oriental with occidental. Located next to the diplomatic enclave and near most of the top federal offices, it is now a days almost isolated with security layers and measures due to terrorist threat. However, due its friendly staff and management as well as because of its facilities and sorroundings it remains the most sought after hotel in the pakistani capital. Several of its restaurants provide excellent cuisine of every kind to the multinational guests and its buffet dinner and afternoon High Tea is quite popular amongst the locals too.The facade presents a good replica of islamic/Indian archetecture, the reception, halls, and rooms are quite spacious and cozy. All its rooms have also a good view of the various parts of islamabad and its suburbs.

Room Tip: rooms facing north has a view of the beutiful Margalla and Murree hills ,the diplomatic enclave, pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Inam k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serena H, Public Relations Manager at Islamabad Serena Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear 'Inam k',

Thank you so much for your review and taking note of our services and cuisine. We really appreciate your feedback and hope you will visit us again soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Located in the Diplomatic sector, the Serena Hotel offers an area of calm in the bustling neighbourhood that is Islamabad. The hotel rooms are spacious and well equipped. There are a number of different restaurants offering a range of cuisines. The buffet restaurant is particularly worth a visit, the selection of foods is vast. The facilities at the hotel are reasonable, but the electrical supply is inconsistent with several outages during my two week stay. The staff are friendly and courteous. The security is strict (it has to be) and efficient. The down side is the amount of stairs that you have to climb from where your car drops you off to the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serena H, Public Relations Manager at Islamabad Serena Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear 'Roy W',

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We really appreciate your feedback. Unfortunately, electrical outages are consistent with the Capital's electrical supply however our alternative power supplies kick in 5 - 7 seconds during all these times.

We look forward to your next visit and hope to exceed your expectations in the future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamabad
1.4 mi away
Islamabad Marriott Hotel
Islamabad Marriott Hotel
#2 of 20 in Islamabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
1.0 mi away
Islamabad Hotel
Islamabad Hotel
#8 of 20 in Islamabad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Regency Hotel
BEST WESTERN Regency Hotel
#10 of 20 in Islamabad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Pearl Continental Hotel Rawalpindi
2.5 mi away
Envoy Continental Hotel
Envoy Continental Hotel
#3 of 20 in Islamabad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Crown Plaza
Hotel Crown Plaza
#11 of 20 in Islamabad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islamabad Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islamabad Serena Hotel

Property: Islamabad Serena Hotel
Address: Khayaban-e-Suhrawardy, Islamabad 44000, Pakistan
Phone Number:
Location: Pakistan > Islamabad Capital Territory > Islamabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Islamabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Islamabad Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islamabad Serena Hotel stands at the foot of the Margalla Hills, on fourteen acres of land, with beautiful gardens and serene water shore of the Rawal Lake in close proximity, next to the Diplomatic Enclave. The architecture and interiors of this fabulous Hotel building is a mere reflection of typical Pakistani cultural heritage depicting the skills and craftsmanship of native artisans. In this state-of-the-art building, local traditions are elegantly combined with latest technologies in order to provide a comfortable stay to our prestigious guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and Agoda so you can book your Islamabad Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing