We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SERENA the SERENE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Islamabad Serena Hotel
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Islamabad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The best hotel in Islamabad, it is a mix of oriental with occidental. Located next to the diplomatic enclave and near most of the top federal offices, it is now a days almost isolated with security layers and measures due to terrorist threat. However, due its friendly staff and management as well as because of its facilities and sorroundings it remains the most sought after hotel in the pakistani capital. Several of its restaurants provide excellent cuisine of every kind to the multinational guests and its buffet dinner and afternoon High Tea is quite popular amongst the locals too.The facade presents a good replica of islamic/Indian archetecture, the reception, halls, and rooms are quite spacious and cozy. All its rooms have also a good view of the various parts of islamabad and its suburbs.

Room Tip: rooms facing north has a view of the beutiful Margalla and Murree hills ,the diplomatic enclave, pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Inam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serena H, Public Relations Manager at Islamabad Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear 'Inam k',

Thank you so much for your review and taking note of our services and cuisine. We really appreciate your feedback and hope you will visit us again soon.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (581)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

428 - 434 of 581 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

Located in the Diplomatic sector, the Serena Hotel offers an area of calm in the bustling neighbourhood that is Islamabad. The hotel rooms are spacious and well equipped. There are a number of different restaurants offering a range of cuisines. The buffet restaurant is particularly worth a visit, the selection of foods is vast. The facilities at the hotel are reasonable, but the electrical supply is inconsistent with several outages during my two week stay. The staff are friendly and courteous. The security is strict (it has to be) and efficient. The down side is the amount of stairs that you have to climb from where your car drops you off to the hotel entrance.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serena H, Public Relations Manager at Islamabad Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear 'Roy W',

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We really appreciate your feedback. Unfortunately, electrical outages are consistent with the Capital's electrical supply however our alternative power supplies kick in 5 - 7 seconds during all these times.

We look forward to your next visit and hope to exceed your expectations in the future.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

A treat for the senses! From the scent of the towels to the toiletries, excellence in every detail. The marble bathroom was beautiful, and the free soft drinks in the mini bar was a hospitable touch. Probably the best hotel in Pakistan.

Room Tip: Get a room in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IQK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serena H, Public Relations Manager at Islamabad Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear 'IQK',
Thank you for submitting your review regarding Islamabad Serena Hotel. We really appreciate your feedback about the room amenities and hope that you shall also perhaps try out the Maisha Spa & Health Club on your next visit.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

My cellphone was lost at the enterance of the hotel. Not found. Please pay attention to pickpocketing.
Average cleaning
Average wireless
Well sauna and steam room
Well location
Well laundry
Well lebanon rest.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fatih K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serena H, Public Relations Manager at Islamabad Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear 'xenonfk',
We regret that you experienced this unfortunate incident on our hotel premises. Please let us know your contact information so that we may investigate this matter further.

Let us also assure you that we take these matters very seriously. Every day, our staff members are responsible in returning considerable amounts of cash and material that our guests leave behind. We not only reward all our associates for honesty but recognize one by bestowing our signature Esa Khan Honesty Award every year.

We hope to make your next visit to the Serena Hotels comfortable and pleasant. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Very large hotel, so somewhat impersonal
Facilities are very good: many different restaurants (serving alcohol to foreigners only), large and well equipped fitness room, friendly staff
Did not find the controls of the airconditioning.
Security is big focus point so lots of controls wehen arriving by car

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djcbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This is my second stay in Serena, last one was 2 years ago and i can still say this is by far the best hotel in Islamabad and it is one of the coziest hotels i have stayed in, the reception is very huge with authentic decoration, very helpful staff, rooms are too spacey, beds are so comfy, the only comment i have is the food as i didn't like much the food they served in the main restaurants and especially the drinks (Coffee and Tea), it still is better than food outside hotel but i still expected to be on the same tier as the hotel.
Other than that as last time i would definetely stay in Serena in my next visit to Islamabad

Room Tip: Try to get an upgrade to an executive room, it has a lot of benefits including complimentary soft dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hossam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I lived at this hotel for six months back in 2002, I lived there one month before it officially opened and have gone back for years now on business. A couple years ago this hotel expanded to include a massive conference center and it is a complex in its own right now.

The location is great for getting to and from the airport, the diplomatic and government offices etc… Obviously this is not a time to be walking around as a foreigner to and from your hotel, but there is a small park right next door.

Security on the front side and where the bulk of the original rooms are as well as the nicely appointed gym and pool are is the front side of the hotel where you benefit from the best stand off and highest security in terms of having to deal with any type of vehicle bomb. This hotel is one of the few in Islamabad which has not had a major security incident. The expansion of the hotel with the conference center has opened up additional entry points and like with any travel to anywhere in the world it would be wise to always have a plan in your mind for any scenario, however the physical security is very good for Pakistan and security is a big priority for the hotel so you can relax in an excellently appointed world class hotel atmosphere.

There are a number of restaurant choices in the hotel all of which are great, the architecture is really worth enjoying and the rooms are well appointed and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and if you recognize you are a guest in the country and don’t act like an entitled tourist or ugly westerner you will enjoy not only an excellent culture of hospitality but truly excellent service.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent. With all travel to any country with some security issues you should al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Savingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamabad
1.4 mi away
Islamabad Marriott Hotel
Islamabad Marriott Hotel
#2 of 23 in Islamabad
372 reviews
1.0 mi away
Islamabad Hotel
Islamabad Hotel
#7 of 23 in Islamabad
48 reviews
9.2 mi away
Pearl Continental Hotel Rawalpindi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Shangrila Resort Hotel Murree Hills
4.8 mi away
Shelton Guest House
Shelton Guest House
#6 of 23 in Islamabad
3 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hill View Hotel
Hill View Hotel
#8 of 23 in Islamabad
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islamabad Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islamabad Serena Hotel

Address: Khayaban-e-Suhrawardy, Islamabad 44000, Pakistan
Phone Number:
Location: Pakistan > Islamabad Capital Territory > Islamabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Islamabad
Price Range: $286 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Islamabad Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islamabad Serena Hotel stands at the foot of the Margalla Hills, on fourteen acres of land, with beautiful gardens and serene water shore of the Rawal Lake in close proximity, next to the Diplomatic Enclave. The architecture and interiors of this fabulous Hotel building is a mere reflection of typical Pakistani cultural heritage depicting the skills and craftsmanship of native artisans. In this state-of-the-art building, local traditions are elegantly combined with latest technologies in order to provide a comfortable stay to our prestigious guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Islamabad Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing