We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Islamabad Serena Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Islamabad
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Glorious hotel”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

For me, the best in Pakistan. The Serena has a fantastic solidity to it and oozes quality.

I've stayed a couple of times in the last few months - in an exec room first and most recently in a standard room. I struggle to find fault 'though I'd suggest that anyone wanting breakfast gives the exec lounge a swerve and heads to the main restaurant. (The exec rooms are bigger and more luxurious but the standard ones are also great.)

The restaurants are good, all the public areas fantastic and my only complaint is that the sheer size of the place can mean a long meander back to your room... And the wifi works pretty well too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Springburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    170
    41
    11
    13
See reviews for
64
48
28
367
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

The Serena is Serene! Literally. I stayed in the Serena during a recent work trip, I was travelling so used Serena as my base and provided a little oasis of tranquillity in a bustling city. I had x 2 different rooms over the course of a week (due to checking in and checking out repeatedly). The Reception staff were extremely helpful and all speak fluent English which I have to respect, but it’s not surprising given the volume of international visitors. I requested to have the same room for the duration of the stay (they were able to accommodate apart from one night (hence the two rooms) which wasn’t an issue as it meant I got to experience both wings of the hotel.

On arrival i was an allocated a room on the first floor, i asked the bellboy if it was a good room, and he quite bluntly said "no, its adjoining so will be noisy as there is a family next door" he then promptly sat me down on a nearby sofa and jumped in the lift. He was no longer than 10 minutes when he came back up with a new room for me. He promised me it would be much quieter and had a better view, he was right! When I offered him a tip, he declined and stated that there is a tip jar in reception and guests are encouraged to use that rather than tipping individuals. I presume this is a policy the hotel management have put in place to promote fairness amongst the staff. Either way it was another example of excellent service.

The hotel has a fantastic range of restaurants but is catered for an international audience. Even the Pakistani restaurant has a very western influence. Their main restaurant is buffet style and is open, rather handily, 24hrs. I suggest, if you have the chance, work your way around them! Additionally for a 5 star hotel, the prices are more than reasonable.

The Serena also boasts an outside, heated, pool and a rather elegant Spa.

Both of the rooms I had were very spacious, I am still trying to work out what type of room a stayed in according to their website but both of them had a large super-king bed, a seating area including coffee table, sofa and chairs, a large desk with international plug sockets (extremely useful), free Wi-Fi (throughout hotel), large flat-screen TV and DVD player, Bed-Side controls for lights/air con/ alarm etc. The bathroom was also welcomingly equipped with separate bath and shower. Décor is traditional from what I experienced but suspect this changes depending on the room you have (much like the style of the different areas of the hotel).

This hotel also offers Smoking and Non-Smoking rooms. I am a non-smoker but had a smoking room and it was well aired and cleaned. There was no staining or lingering smells which I was concerned about at first.

The Serena hotel is a secure hotel so ideal for any business travellers with security concerns.

Overall a wonderful hotel and would gladly return.

One thing to note: being a business traveller I did need to use a printer in the Business Centre. It was small and the connection speed on the internet was slow. I was also charged for paper and printing which i thought was slightly on the expensive side. Might be worth checking this out if you are likely to need the facilities. I cant comment on the cost of corporate events or business facilities otherwise as i didnt use them.

Room Tip: Make sure you state smoking or non-smoking if it bothers you. Try and get a room on the upper floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LadyTraveller87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Serena Hotel Islamabad, I rate it as the most beautiful hotel of Pakistan. Its exterior and interior is awesome. Its food quality is good. But the hotel offers you with almost no Pakistani Dish so the hotel is not so good for the desi food lovers but is great for the continental food lovers.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adanali12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

A beautiful hotel and extremely comfortable in every respect with excellent security. However my stay was marred byt serevalisntances of staff who either ignored me and chatted to their freinds on the phone whilst I was waiting at the travel / taxi desk or who offered to sort out a travel problem and who then went off duty leaving no messages or information. Finally I was lokced out of my room before I was due ot pack becasue of a mix up over the payment ( their falut). If it hadnt been for my local freidns who sorted evreything out I could have been in real trouble.
The spa was nice with good thais massages but I turned up for an appointment, waited 15 minutes and was then told it had been cancelled..the same thing happened to a friend of mine. Customer realtions were otherwise good but too many bad instances to give this hotel any higher a star rating from me. My local friend was emabrassed for her country by the treatment I had received she said.. I felt so sorry for her.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwynethh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Excellent place to stay in Islamabad, rooms are very good, pool and gym excellent, grounds spacious enough to walk around in, because heavy perimeter security makes that more attractive than venturing outside, if you are busy. I ran a workshop for 20 to 30 people there, facilities and support for meetings are not as good as other aspects of the hotel, but OK. Food in the main restaurant buffet is always much the same for every meal, but plentiful and met the need, although by the end of a five day stay I was glad to be moving on. I tried two of the fancy restaurants in the hotel as well, food OK but nothing special, didn't justify the much higher prices and service was unimpressive. More staff than I have ever seen in a hotel, but still service lacked attention to detail.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights whilst on business in January 2012.

Transfer from the airport was highly efficient - entrance into the hotel through a complex security system was impressive. Once inside the level of luxury and facilities was unrivalled in Pakistan (and beyond!)

The room offered WiFi, a bath and shower, with all the ameneties that could be expected of a 5* hotel anywhere in the world.

I ate at the main breakfast and dinner restaurant - the buffet on each occasion offered both Pakistani and International foods. As a vegetarian there was a wide range of choice.

A bonus of staying at this hotel for Western travellers is that it is possible to order a full range of alcoholic drinks to your room - a rare luxury in Pakistan!

The gardens, gym and conference facilities are of the highest standard.

Staff are discreet, but ever present. They appear to know who you are and where you are without being told, which is very impressive.

Overall this was excellent - I would not stay anywhere else in Islamabad.

Room Tip: Any room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This hotel is absolutely lovely, it is pure luxury in every sense of the word. The bathrooms and the rooms are very, very nice.the hotel itself is also beautiful. Food was very nice. Really enjoyed my experience at this hotel and would defiantly return.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Smk34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamabad
1.4 mi away
Islamabad Marriott Hotel
Islamabad Marriott Hotel
#2 of 22 in Islamabad
358 reviews
24.4 mi away
Shangrila Resort Hotel Murree Hills
9.2 mi away
Pearl Continental Hotel Rawalpindi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Envoy Continental Hotel
Envoy Continental Hotel
#3 of 22 in Islamabad
33 reviews
2.6 mi away
Royal Crown
Royal Crown
#9 of 22 in Islamabad
2 reviews
1.0 mi away
Islamabad Hotel
Islamabad Hotel
#7 of 22 in Islamabad
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islamabad Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islamabad Serena Hotel

Property: Islamabad Serena Hotel
Address: Khayaban-e-Suhrawardy, Islamabad 44000, Pakistan
Phone Number:
Location: Pakistan > Islamabad Capital Territory > Islamabad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Islamabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Islamabad Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Islamabad Serena Hotel stands at the foot of the Margalla Hills, on fourteen acres of land, with beautiful gardens and serene water shore of the Rawal Lake in close proximity, next to the Diplomatic Enclave. The architecture and interiors of this fabulous Hotel building is a mere reflection of typical Pakistani cultural heritage depicting the skills and craftsmanship of native artisans. In this state-of-the-art building, local traditions are elegantly combined with latest technologies in order to provide a comfortable stay to our prestigious guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Islamabad Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing