We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Islamabad Marriott Hotel
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Islamabad
Certificate of Excellence
Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good, but not great”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I used to fancy this hotel as I am a frequent traveler to Islamabad. It used to give you a feeling of premium hotel. It still maintains the quality of food, cleanliness of rooms, and ambiance is always great. However, it's the staff who make your experience sour. From the snobby and arrogant reception clerk to pretentious duty manager, they all need training in greeting and engaging with customers. If only I could by-pass them, I would continue enjoying the interaction with junior staff who are ALWAYS on the service, smiling, greeting, and attending.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KK_traveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan V, General Manager at Islamabad Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear KK Traveler,
Thank you for your feedback on this portal and pleased to learn that you still enjoy very much our Ambiance and cleanliness of the rooms and quality of the food. Also happy that our junior staff is showing our true spirit of Hospitality. I have definitely taken note of the reception and duty managers' snobby attitude which I am sure I will be able to turn this around. Once again thank you for having been with us last summer and on your next trip to Islamabad, I am convinced you will notice the difference. Have a great time back home and looking forward to see you back
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    157
    36
    11
    15
See reviews for
51
28
29
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, il
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We had a short stay at this Hotel but I gotta say that it was a great one ! From Check in to Good Bye's, this "secure" & warm place in the Heart of Pakistan is a Haven for peace seekers!!!
The restaurants on site are also excellent, I just wish that they were open later than they do.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan V, General Manager at Islamabad Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Mr AI M,
Thank you so much for your kind comments on this portal, complimenting our Hotel. Knowing that this is coming from a frequent traveler and long time contributor of reviews, this first hand experience will for sure impart a very positive image to future visitors to Islamabad. Thank you for your support and will for sure look at the timings of our restaurants needs extending. Have a great time back in Chicago and we look forward to another visit.
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Marriott Hotel has always been a great choice for me and my family, whenever we want to go out for dining the first thought on our heads is dynasty. The food is very tasty, the menu is full of variety, prices are good too. The staff is better than anywhere i have ever seen in this city. They treat you so well and make you feel special. Overall love the place. Pleasure to be back again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank HassanKhalid95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan V, General Manager at Islamabad Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Mr Hassan Khalid,
Thank you for these lovely comments and pleased to learn that you and your family can enjoy our Dynasty Chinese Restaurant. Our Chinese chef Zao has indeed already spiced many guests at our Dynasty restaurant and we can easily boast being the best Chinese restaurant in Town, if not in the country. Our service staff will also be delighted to read your praise on them. Thank you for your support and wishing you and your family a very nice Eid. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

marriott islamabad is a very lively place.especially the coffee shop and the restaurants .the service is excellent,rooms are very nicely furnished,and the breakfast is awesome.The gym is exemplary but the massage parlour is very nice.The attendants really know their job.
Marriott has the best chinese in islamabad,and the ambience and food is exceptional.I loved the shisha hangout which is a good place to meet and greet informally.all in all a very pleasant experience

Room Tip: overlooking the margalla hills gives abeautiful view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigz-54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan V, General Manager at Islamabad Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Mr. Bigz-54,
Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor and pleased to learn that our staff is taking care of during your stay with us. Your first-hand experience will for sure inspire further visitors to book with us. We continuously strive to improve on our service delivery and sincerely hope on your next trip to Islamabad you will also further see how we grow from strength to strength. Thanking you for your support. Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This 5star cenrally located hotel with lot of security was best in town.though room size was not so big,but was enough size,having all the facilities available.breakfast was world class.in the night u can enjoy 2-3hours in lobby restaurant by live songs,he can sing songs of ur choice which is marvelous.hotel has pick & drop facility for airport.nice hotel.

Room Tip: Can get better room ideally suit room ,but price is much higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashok G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan V, General Manager at Islamabad Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Ashok G,
Thank you so much for this top score mark and pleased to learn that you appreciate our pick and drop service from the airport which is a service we provide all our guests as long we have their flight details. The entertainment we offer at our Nadia Lobby restaurant is now also the talk of the town and one of the reasons why our hotel is the center stage in Islamabad. Have a great autumn ahead and hopefully you will have the chance to return to Islamabad very soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

First time back here since the enforced remodeling. Last stay was at the Serena, which felt a bit soulless by comparison. The Marriott still feels like its a hive of activity during the day.

Security very good at the entrance, and the new front of the hotel insulates you from the street without looking like a fortress. Reception was quick although it was quiet, and room of a very high standard, with complimentary drinks, snacks, fruit & biscuits and free wi-fi. Wi-fi service was unreliable though.

Nadia coffee shop still great at breakfast. Staff not too bad, but bit unfriendly at times, but service good enough. Food great and a good selection.

Didn't try any of the other restaurants this time - or the 'hidden' bar - but will definitely stay at the Marriott again next time I am in Islamabad.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voight-Kampf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan V, General Manager at Islamabad Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Voight Kampf,
Thank you for this review after your first hand experiences at Islamabad Marriott and above all thank you for returning to Islamabad Marriott after having stayed at Serena. Yes indeed the soul of Islamabad is at Marriott and the center of activity lies here now again. There is no doubt that our 8 restaurants and multi facetted events facilities do contribute to that and can only encourage you to try out any of our other restaurants on your next visit to Marriott Islamabad. Have a great time in Abu Dhabi and hopefully we see you soon back here. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wembdon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Been here probably 40 times and it's a good hotel for the area the service is generally good though the reception desk is notably slow so allow plenty of time! The Japanese restaurant and the new Italian are really good

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan V, General Manager at Islamabad Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Mr Phil C,
Thank you for your loyalty and for turn on turn coming back to Marriott Islamabad. Indeed our new Italian Zigolini restaurant was the missing outlet in Islamabad and we are exited that world travelers such as you also appreciate very much this cuisine. We have also taken note of the speed at the reception and trust that this will be resolved soonest now that we have changed the CPU at the desk and that our fresh associates will become more at ease in their job. Eventually I will look into the matter to organize pre-check-in which would also speed up the process. On your next trip to Islamabad I trust we may have sped up the process. Have a great Autumn back home and look forward taking this up further with you upon your next visit to Islamabad.
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Islamabad
1.4 mi away
Islamabad Serena Hotel
Islamabad Serena Hotel
#1 of 23 in Islamabad
566 reviews
24.4 mi away
Shangrila Resort Hotel Murree Hills
2.2 mi away
Envoy Continental Hotel
Envoy Continental Hotel
#3 of 23 in Islamabad
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Islamabad Hotel
Best Western Islamabad Hotel
#14 of 23 in Islamabad
37 reviews
10.1 mi away
Pearl Continental Hotel Rawalpindi
2.2 mi away
Royal Crown
Royal Crown
#9 of 23 in Islamabad
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islamabad Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islamabad Marriott Hotel

Property: Islamabad Marriott Hotel
Address: 5 Aga Khan Road Shalimar | PO Box 1251, Islamabad 45600, Pakistan
Phone Number:
Location: Pakistan > Islamabad Capital Territory > Islamabad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Islamabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Islamabad Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star international Islamabad Marriott Hotel is located at the foot steps of the famous Margalla Hills and is within close proximity to Rawal Lake, the town centre, President & Prime Minister Houses, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Senate, Parliament House, Foreign Missions, World Bank, Government Offices, corporate sector, Print and Electronic media offices etc. The Hotel is a favourite rendezvous of politicians, diplomats, businessmen and movers and shakers of the country. Owing to the perfect location of the hotel, it hardly takes 20 minutes to commute between the Hotel, the Islamabad International Airport and the places of interests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Islamabad Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Islamabad
Islamabad Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing