We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Puma Imperial

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Puma Imperial
Ranked #45 of 60 Hotels in Ulaanbaatar
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Passed thru Ulaanbaator 3 times in 15 days and stayed here in different rooms each time. All of the rooms were completely different but they all shared the same basic's, they were clean, comfortable and very roomy, one even included a mini kitchen while another had a seperate sitting room. The hotel is old but very well maintained. I only ate breakfast there which was adequate but plain. Its centrally located within walking distance to quite a few of the limited attractions in Ulaanbaator and what is not nearby via walking can be reached by the busses which again are for the most part on both sides of the central square and pariliment. The help was exactly that, very helpful and were always available. Overall excellent value for your money as far as I was concerned.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pensivelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 42 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

i stayed there last year with my family and it was a great experience! i was impressed by the friendly staff and the rooms were really clean!. I loved the coffee shop too! the breakfast is to die for! the room we stayed in was spacious and beds were sooooo comfy! to tell the truth i did not go out much cos i really enjoyed my stay there!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolabetty294263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed at this business hotel at the beginning and end of our stay in Mongolia. It was clean, the rooms are large, the beds were comfortable, and it was quiet. There was some peeling paint in the rooms, but that did not detract from the cleanliness. Although we had to ask for towels and soap, as well as help with the lights and TV, the staff was pleasant, quick, and helpful. The included breakfast was very good. The on-site Indian restaurant was excellent. Wifi in the lobby, and the business center was useful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldermomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was our first trip to Mongolia and as such i have liitle to compare this hotel with. In general, the place was ok and relatively clean. The rooms we had were big and we could easily sleep our whole family of four in them. There was no excessive noice and the I found the beds rather comfortable. The breakfast selection was sufficient and provided enough variety to keep us happy for a couple of days. The staff was very accomodating and set the breakfast up early for us when we had to catch an early flight.
On the down side, warm water was a bit erratic, the lights, sockets and wireless internet in the room were also not working all the time. There was little space to hang or store clothes. As we were 4 people, we of course wanted to have 4 bathtowels, an endavour which left us with any number of towels, from 2 to 4....
There was also a bit of a mix up with our bill, but we managed to sort it out in the end.
Overall, an ok hotel if you dont have too high expectations towards design, amenities and maintenance of your hotel room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We were in Mongolia for the second time within a year and had a chance to stay again at the Puma Imperial Hotel. Again, we were very pleased with the service and the accomodations. While the paint is peeling in certain sections, the Puma remains as well or better maintained than most of the other hotels that we stayed at in Mongolia. The staff have always been pleasant and eager to assist -- including providing us with bed linens for an unexpected trip to rural Mongolia for a couple of days. The location is also central and within walking distance to most of the shopping areas. I would recommend the Puma Imperial for those visitors to Mongolia who are looking for value, cleanliness and location.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gambol17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Right across from Parliament, Sukhbataar Square. Big funky rooms, good internet access, OK cafe. However, all-night construction right across the alley meant no sleep. Moved room after first night and out altogether after second.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spmcc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Got an opportunity to stay in this hotel. Nice quite hotel with a good old world charm. Surprisingly it had an Indian Restaurent -delhi Durbar. The Wi-fi not available in rooms but you can access internet through the wire. There are not much english channels which can act as a bit disappointment.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NUJAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ulaanbaatar hotels
1.3 mi away
White House Hotel
White House Hotel
#44 of 60 in Ulaanbaatar
32 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Gobi's Kelso
Best Western Gobi's Kelso
#6 of 60 in Ulaanbaatar
86 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Tuushin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
New West Hotel
New West Hotel
#26 of 60 in Ulaanbaatar
50 reviews
0.9 mi away
Springs Hotel
Springs Hotel
#11 of 60 in Ulaanbaatar
97 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
#2 of 60 in Ulaanbaatar
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puma Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puma Imperial

Address: Sukhbaatar Square, Ulaanbaatar 210646, Mongolia
Location: Mongolia > Ulaanbaatar
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 60 Hotels in Ulaanbaatar
Price Range: $60 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Puma Imperial 3.5*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Puma Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing