We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Down Memory Lane”
Review of Ulaanbaatar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ulaanbaatar Hotel
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Ulaanbaatar
Lake Geneva
Level Contributor
232 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Down Memory Lane”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

For those who have not had a chance to experience old style Soviet hotels, this is the place to go to. Although it undoubtedly is a good deal better than the real stuff as known in the USSR up to the 80's, it still has that distinct feel of being borderline between hotel and penitentiary institution. Staff can be pleasant, but don't expect service, and there is a nice ground floor café with good internet connection. Many Mongolians come for weddings and semi official parties, and that gives the place a great local touch. And the hotel is warm when it's freezing cold outside, but it's hard to get rid of the old gulag air!

Room Tip: Don't use the minibar, way overpriced -- just buy the beer from the hotel shop for half the pric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muverans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    60
    68
    26
    5
See reviews for
10
21
29
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

The UB has seen better days. Water pressure in shower was hopeless. Location was good as the office is around the corner. A colleague had his bag stolen out the front, not the fault of the hotel, but be aware.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ulaanbaatar hotels

UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This place is frankly sub-standard and over priced. Standard rooms are pitifully small, bathrooms cramped and heating inadequate (in December). Place is noisy with functions and in a seedy area - watch going out at night. Food was poor, meaning necessary to eat out all the time. No bar just a coffee shop run by a 3rd party company, so you can't even sign drinks - heck, they don;t even take card payments! Five star, yeah right. Checkout watch your mini-bar bill, they over charge routinely. Any plus points? Staff are friendly and helpful. Location is central.

Room Tip: Get as far from the function room as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msmytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a very tired property. The hotel is nominally clean, but corners in the bathroom had hair and debris from a former guest. Like another reviewer the touch pad near the bed that controls the lights worked intermittently. I'd try to live with it, but when I was frustrated or needed to sleep and the lights wouldn't go off, I'd call for a technician and amazingly it would work. I even called a supervisor who couldn't get it to work. She called a technician and when he arrived it worked. Very frustrating.

The food was basic. The eggs wee under cooked, but that seems to be the norm here in Mongolia. The room was very small, but it was a single and that means a single bed. There were no heat controls and the room was exceptionally hot. I had to open a window to cool the room down. With -24 degrees outside, it seemed to do the trick.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triciab1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The bonus point of staying here is the location which is very near the main attractions. It is also steep in history and one can be proud to say that one was in the oldest luxury hotel in Mongolia.

Apart from this it was an ok hotel and as mentioned by other reviewers had seen better days. I stayed in a twin room which was clean. It has free internet access and the other basics, ie kettle, iron board and iron and a safe. Generally I found Mongolia safe.

The hotel has a gym which I did not use and an indian restaurant and sports bar. Breakfast was very standard and similar each day.

The staff was very helpful. They could speak english which helped immensely.

I have to say that it was not cheap staying here but the location helped me justify my stay at least.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViciousTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel. Reading some of the reviews helped manage my expectations. I stayed in a single room which was very small but comfortable. The breakfast had a decent selection given all the different nationalities staying at the hotel. They had a few problems with the water pressure and at times it took a bit of time to get the proper water temperature.

I loved the location. It was close to the State Store and other shopping opportunities like Mary and Martha's (which I highly recommend). There are also a few nice restaurants within walking distance.

One thing I would suggest is to provide free internet access.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeEncantaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The claims from the literature and website for this hotel must be taken with a pinch of salt. It is obvious that about 20 years ago this was the best in town, remembering that 20 years ago this was a Soviet style economy.

The hotel tries hard but it just needs a complete overhaul. It has become a standard hotel for tour parties and those on 'adventure' trips to Mongolia. By adventure I mean the type of tourists that demand nice breakfasts, have air conditioned transport and stay in luxury ger.

Getting an early breakfast in this 'five star' emporium was impossible. I had to settle for a coffee made from instant granules served to my in a grudging and off hand manner.

I was luckily in a suite - possibly one of the most expensive rooms in the hotel. And even this did not come with wifi. I was on business and this was important to me.

I kind of liked the experience of being in an old fashioned, Soviet era hotel - but I am not that keen to return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ulaanbaatar hotels
0.6 mi away
Bayangol Hotel
Bayangol Hotel
#8 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Tuushin Hotel
0.2 mi away
Springs Hotel
Springs Hotel
#9 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Platinum Hotel
Platinum Hotel
#13 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bishrelt Hotel
Bishrelt Hotel
#16 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Ulaanbaatar Citycenter
Ramada Ulaanbaatar Citycenter
#5 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ulaanbaatar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ulaanbaatar Hotel

Property: Ulaanbaatar Hotel
Address: Sukhbaatar Square-14, Ulaanbaatar 210645, Mongolia
Location: Mongolia > Ulaanbaatar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 57 Hotels in Ulaanbaatar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ulaanbaatar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first Five-Star Hotel in Mongolia. Built in 1961, it has been a flagship property of Mongolian Hospitality Industry. Yet the oldest but still one of the best Hotel in Mongolia. Keeping up with the developments in the industry it has now a branch hotel in Terelj national park-The UB2. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Ulaanbaatar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing