We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In danger of getting left behind”
Review of Bayangol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bayangol Hotel
Ranked #8 of 59 Hotels in Ulaanbaatar
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“In danger of getting left behind”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

If this hotel doesn't do something drastic in the next year, it will probably have to shut down. With so many new hotels in UB, The Corporate Hotel next door is a great example, this will be empty. It needs to be shut down for six months for renovation, then re-open. The rooms are looking old, the plumbing is ancient, the pipes and taps make a noise when you turn them on, the bath is about a foot deep and the cream bathrooms fittings are disgusting. We went for breakfast and although there were maybe ten staff on duty we had to ask for plates, cups, orange to be filled, food to be re-filled and tables to be cleaned. They need a system where staff do their own jobs and not just react to what we are asking for, predict what customers need. Clean tables, plates, cups, drinks, etc. The wifi on the 5th floor was not worth having, on and off more than a green traffic light, which is very frustrating.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigDN72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    107
    110
    22
    7
See reviews for
28
52
42
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Although walking distance from the main shopping areas the hotel is shabby both in the exterior and interior. Both wings A and B could do with a 'face lift'. Staff is slow does not understand much English and so communication is a challenge. electrical connections in the room don't always work and the bath tubs are meant for midgets. Lighting is poor and many rooms do not have air-conditioning or any air circulation system as in a fan! Breakfast buffet is OK but agin staff is slow and inattentive. Same goes for the sports bar. Aside from the alcohol that arrives promptly all else takes for ages!

Room Tip: Do some more research on hotels in Ulanbataar before you pick this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ulaanbaatar hotels

Denver
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel is clean and the amenities are nice. We stayed here twice. The first time we did not have air conditioning in our room but the second time we did. The nights are cold but without the air conditioning we needed the window open and there is some street noise. The breakfast buffet had good variety. The manager in the restaurant was very nice and welcoming. The hotel is not luxurious by western standards but it seemed like a palace after camping in Mongolia for 2 weeks. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KP303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for six nights in September 2012, when I was in Ulaanbataar for business. The hotel is situated near the centre of Ulaanbataar. The hotel has several restaurants and bars. The rooms are well equipped. A free WIFI connection is available. Breakfast is basic, but OK. Temperature in the rooms is rather high, but windows could not be opened. If you would like to stay in a quiet and well maintained hotel in Ulaanbataar this place might be what you are looking for although the price, even to West-European standards is rather high.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene_v_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel is within walking distance of everything that I wanted to see. The complimentary breakfast was outstanding and made it easy to start the day. Rooms were clean albeit outdated. The air conditioning could use an upgrade so I had to sleep with the windows open. Staff was very helpful. There is a very good restaurant located in the hotel if you don't feel like navigating the traffic for dinner or an evening drink. While I would recommend the hotel, your expectations have to be in keeping with the destination.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptinthill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schio, Italia
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My first trip ever in Mongolia, I cannot leave a proper feedback of course, but It seems quite old as it smeels.
I had a good staying, included a medical service for a strong stomach ache.
Continental breakfast in a nice dining room.

Room Tip: It has been suggestable to take higher floor room, so far as possible from the main road level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nurburgring78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This moderately priced hotel lies within walking distance of several no-to-be missed attractions including the Mongolian National Song and Dance Academic Ensemble with nightly performances at 18:00, the Choijin Lama Temple Museum, and the exhibit of Tarbosaurus Bataar by the Central Museum of Dinosaurs. Shopping and numerous museums are close at hand, the hotel breakfast is hearty, and vegans, or those tired of mutton, can walk, dodging traffic, to the excellent Luna Blanca vegan restaurant for a delicious lunch or dinner.
The hotel staff was helpful, the remodeled rooms pleasant, and the use of wifi free, but the spotless baths were quite tiny (barely bigger than the lavatory in the economy class section on the plane). All in all, the Bayangol was an excellent choice for my 9-day stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ulaanbaatar hotels
1.5 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
#2 of 59 in Ulaanbaatar
477 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Tuushin Hotel
1.0 mi away
Ramada Ulaanbaatar Citycenter
Ramada Ulaanbaatar Citycenter
#5 of 59 in Ulaanbaatar
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Springs Hotel
Springs Hotel
#11 of 59 in Ulaanbaatar
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Sky Hotel & Tower
Blue Sky Hotel & Tower
#7 of 59 in Ulaanbaatar
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar
Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar
#1 of 59 in Ulaanbaatar
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayangol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayangol Hotel

Property: Bayangol Hotel
Address: Chinggis Khan Avenue 05, Ulaanbaatar 14251, Mongolia
Phone Number:
Location: Mongolia > Ulaanbaatar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ulaanbaatar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayangol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome esteemed guests,Dear guests and customers, we thank you for choosing Bayangol Hotel. Since 1964 our 4 star hotel has been continuously serving business travellers and tourists and has a capacity of hosting 400 guests in our 215 suites. Also we are operating a modern restaurant capable of receiving up to 500 guests for a stand-up reception. In order to ensure every possibility for your comfortable rest, travel and business our experienced staff shall strive to make your stay as memorable as possible through various service centers.Bayangol hotel’s location in A level zone of city center, within close proximity of business, cultural and commercial centers at 17 kilometers from airport and 2 kilometers from train station provides excellent conditions for our guest service convenience.We wish you to enjoy your stay and hope you will stay with us again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bayangol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayangol Hotel Ulaanbaatar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing