We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Tours from Travel Buddies tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Travel Buddies
from $229.70
More Info
from $76.00
More Info
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveler rating
56
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
56
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews express tour star accommodation rugged terrain gobi desert our tour guide english speaking guide great adventure lots of fun mongolian experience central mongolia rode camels spent days nomad families these guys an adventure blue sky wild horses
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 58 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2018 via mobile

This was my fourth trip with travel buddies. This time however, Zol arranged the eagle hunting Festival tour for 13 of my friends. She went above and beyond. The advantage of working with a smaller travel agency is the personalize service. Every single person is valuable and special and a friend. She also helped me arrange a medical conference of 200 attendees. She scouted out the venue, coordinated with the hotel and even found us off site dinner locations. Everything was super. It was a real adventure. Without exaggeration probably, they were at least 300 emails that went back-and-forth regarding the trip. But she was always patient and accommodating!! Mongolia is beautiful and I would recommend that any trip be coordinated by Zol at travel buddies! She can arrange absolutely anything and her Patience is a boundless. Always a smile and always wanting to go above and beyond.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank BostonBostonGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoljargal e, Owner at Travel Buddies, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2018

Hello Keira,

Again great memories from our travel ! This time more adventures and bigger in size as a group of your 13 friends :)
Can't believe it is already fourth trip with us. Time flies and we keep accumulating travel memories. Yes, we will still strive to personalize our service and become true Travel Buddies with our guests ! Thank you Keira for your review and being a royal guest.

Best wishes,
Travel Buddies Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2018

Our trip with Zola of Travel Buddies is now one of my most favourite travel adventures. Our family of 4 thoroughly enjoyed every part of this exciting tour, the beautiful people and this suprising country. Zola is an admirable woman, full of grace and knowledge. She is also a thoughtful and informative guide who delivered us a seemless trip. We appreciated her ease and flexibility as she tirelessly lead us through a myriad of experiences. We mostly stayed in Ger camp accommodation but also in the home of a nomadic family. Each night our tent and bed was identical to the last but the location was impressively different. The beds are wooden base with no mattress and very little padding and the pillows are filled with stone. Sounds dreadful but wasn’t at all, however, if you like cushioning you should bring along some padding to lay on and a small pillow. My back often suffers in hotel beds yet funnily enough I had no trouble after sleeping on these extremely hard beds and stone filled pillows. Each day we rose happily for what new experiences we would gain. We were in awe as we travelled over the vast and rugged terrain of the Gobi Desert, through mountains or across the green grassy plains. The contrast was amazing. We rode camels and drank the milk, ate dried curd, experienced a sandstorm, hiked an ice valley, climbed 350m sand dunes and were in elation at the wild life. The hours in transit were filled with sightings of an array of magnificent birds, desert rodents, impressive wild horses, yak, goats and camels. We travelled 2300kms and most of it was off road, without signage or gps. The drivers were incredibly skilled and competent. We felt very safe even in the most remote areas. Mongolia is full of outrageously picturesque landscapes. We smiled all day every day. We were super impressed with the professionalism of the Travel Buddies company and can’t thank them enough for the amazing experiences.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank MelanieK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoljargal e, Owner at Travel Buddies, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2018

Hello Melanie and your family,

How grateful hearing from you and reading your review on our 15 days Mongolian adventure tour !
Yes, we remember our interesting conversations about everything while watching sunset in the Gobi Desert.
Hahaha yes some pillows were filled with stone ; actually full of rice like Asian style :) . Ah yes, cushion lovers need those. Thank you for sharing that info ! Our team wishes you and your family the best. May your Mongolia travel experience lasts forever.

Best regards,
Travel Buddies Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2018

We had a fabulous time with Zola on our 10 days in Mongolia. She is very knowledgeable about her country and always willing to pass on information. Our drivers were also fabulous and made a positive impact on the group. We travelled long days but the vans were comfortable and the company was always fun. Accommodation and food was way above our expectations.- meeting locals was fabulous. Highly recommend this tour company.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank marilyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoljargal e, Owner at Travel Buddies, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2018

Hello Marilyn,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and travelers here.
Our two drivers Muugii and Tseba were pleased to hear from you !
Yes, they are funny and take a good care of the vans.
I hope you will visit Mongolia with John again to explore the world energy center sooner or later :)
Anyway thank you :)

Best wishes,
Travel Buddies Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2018 via mobile

My wife & I, two friends plus two others had a fabulous time on our tour, ably cared for by our marvelous guide Mona & two drivers Tseba & Tegshee. It was a great adventure with marvelous scenery & terrain and friendly, generous local people along the way.
I recommend visiting Mongolia to anyone with an adventurous spirit. You will rough it a little along the way and get a real feel for the spirit of these resilient people and their nomadic way of life.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank 748rogerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoljargal e, Owner at Travel Buddies, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2018

Dear Roger,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us !
Great to hear about our guide Mona and two drivers Tseba & Tegshee who are great team and colleague of Travel Buddies. I can not agree with you more that Mongolia is for those with adventurous spirit not resort type people. Also generous locals and nomadic way of life are highlights of our travels. Feel free to contact us if you plan to discover different parts of Mongolia. Happy travel !

Warm wishes,
Travel Buddies Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018

Despite our lost luggage and cancelled flights, Travel Buddies still ensured that we had a fabulous trip. Their care even extended to sending our guide and driver to assist with essential shopping; cancelled flights meant several trips to the airport, as well as rebooked hotel rooms - all attended to by Travel Buddies. Thank you! Nasa(our guide) and Mugii (our driver) were more than we could have asked for: courteous, capable and lots of fun - no mean task for them as they were dealing with two quite senior ladies. Nasa's English was excellent, and we always felt extremely safe with Mugii driving. Accommodation in the gers was always clean, warm and comfortable.Thank you Travel Buddies for a most most memorable holiday, with special thanks to Nasa and Mugii. We have,(and will continue to) recommended your company for safe and happy travel in Mongolia.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank NannaGBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoljargal e, Manager at Travel Buddies, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2018

Dear Cheryl,

Thank you so much for taking your time to leave us a review and recommending us to others! It’s our pleasure to hear you had a fabulous trip with our guide Nasa and driver Mugi. We are always happy to care our customers when they need our help. Again, thank you for choosing us.

Best Regards,
Travel Buddies team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews