We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must see in UB...but tricky to find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tumen Ekh Ensemble

Tumen Ekh Ensemble
Book In Advance
More Info
$72.00*
and up
1 Day Tour of Ulaanbaatar City Including Lunch Option
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Must see in UB...but tricky to find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

This was a great traditional Mongolian dance and music show! It took us a while to find. If you are going make sure you have a map. It's the building next to a large yellow one. The building has a sign which reads 'Tumen ekh song and dance ensemble' it looks a little run down on the outside but don't let that stop you from going in and checking it out! Just a word of warning the seats are not particularly comfortable...bring a jacket or something to use for extra padding.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    26
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
1 review
“Great to sample mongolian tradition and culture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Hoomii, mongolian dance, mask dance and a sample of all dances and songs of Mongolia. Each of them is not too long to bore you, or too short to disappoint you. A must!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rose Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“I love these guys!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Whenever I have visitors in town I take them to Tumen Ekh. They are a lovely snapshot of Mongolian culture including music, dancing and a contortionist. The acts are always slightly different, so even though I've gone half a dozen times over the past year I've never gotten sick of it.

I have to admit, some acts and performers are better than others, and I was disappointed last time I went to not see my favourite musician as part of the ensemble anymore, but it was still a delightful performance.

It's relatively cheap (I think around 15,000T) and the performance goes for around 90 minutes. Definitely a lovely introduction to Mongolia and its culture.

Oh, I also got a cool Mongolian dinosaur t-shirt from the gift shop, so that's always a bonus.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

I found this to be an extraordinary experience of the Mongolian Culture. Throat singing, Shamanism, the "Morin Khuur "/ Horse Head Fiddle & their colourful costumes . Not to be missed, especially if you are interested in the culture & history of Mongolia

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great performance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

it's a place to get to know a piece of Mongolia cultural performance
Throat singers, traditional dances, acrobatic and instruments. This is worth a visit!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ErnitaLacoste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tumen Ekh Ensemble also viewed

 

Been to Tumen Ekh Ensemble? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing