We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Serene!

As inexperienced riders, we spent a couple of days on horses and the Ger stay. It was an excellent... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
bernie k
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
The Gobi Crossing - 10 days (Late Oct to early Nov)

In the interests of full disclosure, I should say that this is my fifth time in Mongolia with Stone... read more

Reviewed November 9, 2018
YLLee89
,
Singapore, Singapore
Read all 135 reviews
  
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
130
4
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
130
4
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ger stay brownie riding experience gorkhi terelj national park hot water bottles horse riding pack trip food preferences city tour days riding day trip local communities fantastic hosts full disclosure stews packing list well taken care
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 135 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2018 via mobile

I had a very good Email contact to Sabine to organize our stay. We just stay 4 days in Mongolai and Sabine helps us to get the perfect stay. We get picked up at the airport very early in the morning. Dava our guide drove us to our hotel where we had a rest for a few hours. He picked us up in the morning and we had a great Day in Ulaanbaatar with amazing sightseeing. At the next Day, we visit the wild horses. We followed them by foot and had a great view. In the afternoon we arrive at the normadic family. Yadema and her husband were very nice and we had tasty dinner and breakfast. At the next two days we ride the horses in a amazing landscape. It was one of the best expirience I made. Keith (the owner) is very friendly and he prepared the lunch with much of love. We had Picknick next to the horses in this beautyful landscape. After the ride back at the ger camp, we had cold beer and relaxed. I can recommend stone horse to eberybody who wants to make a special holyday. They are perfect in Organisation, friendly and special. If you want to have quality, go with stone horse. Thank you Keith for everything, I will come again one day. Best regards to Sabine. Dear, Heike

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Heike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2018

It was nice to have you both visit and do the horse riding with us. Happy to hear you enjoyed your time here in Mongolia. You'll have to come back for a longer ride. I'll try to continue to make the picnic lunches with care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2018 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in the ger and had one full day of horse ridning in the national park and one day of sightseeing to a monastery and the Djingis Kahn statue. Had a beautifull day of riding over a pass and into the national park, rode with the horses over the river and had lunch on the other side. Even though we had no previous experience of horse ridning we were galloping at the end of the day. A great way of seeing the Mongolian outdoors. Very friendly owner and straff!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2018

It was nice having along for a ride and good conversation alongside the river where we stopped for lunch. You both did well for not having ridden too much before. Great company. Come back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2018

I wanted to experience Mongolia in the winter and with a real family.

My stay with Yadmaa and Davasuren gave me valuable insights to the daily long and hard work it takes to care, manage and move different herds of animals.

The days are long -- I kept their schedule (6:30 am - 7 pm) and tried to help where I could (don't depend on me to milk a cow.. I was terrible at it!).

Took it as a complement when Yadmaa didn't have to come into my ger in the early mornings to help switch my coal fire to a wood one.

When they realized that I had a small sheet of Mongolian phrases (always attempt a new language wherever I go), Davasuren gave me a book to study with.

And that began my daily speaking lessons during meal times as they invited me to eat with them. They are great teachers. And I know I provided comic relief with my poor pronunciation!

Speaking of food, you will be far from starving there. Davasuren is a great cook and I loved everything she made. Found the meals to be so filling, I had to skip two dinners because I was so full from lunch.

Thanks to the Mongolian phrase book, I made sure she understood and not be offended by my not being able to eat.

My days flew. The scenery and strength of the sun spectacular. Spent time walking as well as sitting outside my ger and having the resident goats, dogs, cows and horses come by to hang out. Hard not to become as relaxed and calm as they are.

There is nothing soft about life as herders. Yadmaa and Davasuren's love for the animals are evident in their interactions. Was beautiful to witness.

Finally, special thanks to Ganchimeg and Keith for being so patient with my date changes over the last year. And to Davaa for the warm welcome and great conversations to and from the farm.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank NW T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2018

Thanks for your comments Veronica. I'll pass them along to everyone. As you saw, it is a real herder family ger (yurt) stay and not a commercial camp, and Yadmaa and Davasuren are genuine countryside hosts. So glad you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to having you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2017

As a solo traveler, I asked Keith to organize everything for me (Guesthouse in UB and horseback riding in the park). Both, Keith and Sabine are very nice and they definitely know what they are doing, they have a lot of experiences and knowledge and very important, the use very good and quality equipment (saddles, ..) And I just love their horses! They are in good shape and have a good character. If you are looking for a nice and quality horseback riding trip (one or multi-day) in the Gorkhi Terelj NP, this is definitely THE choice for you. They are a bit more expensive but worth every penny.

Tadeja

Date of experience: October 2017
2  Thank Tadeja7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2018

Tadeja, it was a pleasure to be able to organize your trip and ride with you. We did have some varied weather during those few days. Stay in touch and I look forward to hearing about your climbing exploits. Great climbing country you come from pushing the boundaries of the sport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2017

I have just completed the 8 day Gorkhi Terelj National Park horse riding expedition followed by the 6 day Gobi Desert Tour with a few days in Ulan Bator.

What can I say, for me it was a trip I've been wanting to do for so long, horse riding in Mongolia on true Mongolian horses. No words can truly express how amazing this experience was for me. Brownie, my trusty steed is a handsome and perfect horse that I loved spending time with. He was the perfect gentleman. As was Stinky a beautiful, cuddly dog. The team were also excellent, endless energy, thoughtfulness, stories and general love for what they do, this really came across throughout the trip. The food was great, plentiful and tasty, the equipment of outstanding quality and the hot water bottles in good supply, (it was a bit chilly), though for me, this added to the experience.

There are not enough adjectives to describe the positives of this trip or the team, owners/company. Suffice to say, that I would totally recommend it to anyone.

In terms of the Gobi section on the trip, the positives just keep on going. I was the only one on the trip, yet they still ran it. The Gobi team were fab, great knowledge and again couldn't do enough for you. I stayed in some great local gers, rode a camel, climbed sand dunes (more difficult than I appreciated), searched for dinosaur bones, saw gazelles, foxes, vultures and lots of amazing natural features. We even made felt carvings my torch light.

Davaa and Ganchimeg are also so integral to what was an overall great experience.

For me it's the personal touches and the love of their animals and what they do.

Thank you all so much x

Date of experience: October 2017
5  Thank NZMarie2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2018

Marie, it was a pleasure having you with us for the October Gorkhi-Terelj NP Expedition horse ride. You did well and could easily do our more demanding rides. Contact me when you want to return for a longer trip, perhaps the Khentii Mountains 14 day Expedition.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews