We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Serene!

As inexperienced riders, we spent a couple of days on horses and the Ger stay. It was an excellent... read more

Reviewed November 28, 2018
bernie k
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
The Gobi Crossing - 10 days (Late Oct to early Nov)

In the interests of full disclosure, I should say that this is my fifth time in Mongolia with Stone... read more

Reviewed November 9, 2018
YLLee89
,
Singapore, Singapore
Read all 135 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Ulaanbaatar
from $3,050.00
More Info
from $495.00
More Info
from $85.00
More Info
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
130
4
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
130
4
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ger stay brownie riding experience gorkhi terelj national park hot water bottles horse riding pack trip city tour day trip local communities full disclosure an experienced rider wonderful horses conservation work dining tent learn how an unforgettable experience
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 135 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2016

First time riding in Mongolia with Stone Horse was an absolute blast! The trip was a unique opportunity to experience combine the love for riding and the great outdoors in one of the most well-kept (still) and breathtaking landscapes. Being a regular rider, I found the horses to be extremely robust with amiable temperaments. This allowed us to enjoy unfettered riding and soak up the scenery as we navigated through all kinds of terrain!

The trip was run with true professionalism. Our team of experienced guides (Sabine, Byambaa, Bayaraa, Bagi) were always alongside to ensure safety (not at the expense of fun of course!), on top of keeping both humans and horses on the trip warm and well-fed. We were provided with quality riding and camping equipment and were constantly impressed with the team's knowledge and resourcefulness throughout the multi-day trek.

The experience has truly been one of a kind; hope to be back!

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank ytlow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2016

You are a good rider! So glad we could have you along and show you this experience. I hope to see you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2016

Enjoyed the 3D2N stays at the ger with Yaadma and Davasun. Not the best in term of room comfort and food, but we do enjoy the stay, horse riding experience and farm style living.

Thanks Ganchimeg for the great service, including booking of the train ticket to Beijing.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Micjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2016

Thanks for your comments. I'll pass those on to Yadmaa and Davasuren as well. They do their best to make our Train to Ger travelers feel welcome and are well fed. Glad you liked the experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2016

My friends and I went on the ten day trip in September - that's eight days riding. This is my third time in Mongolia riding with Stone Horse, and each trip just gets better and better. Autumn in Mongolia is absolutely beautiful - the golden larch leaves contrasting the long green grasses that the horses so love to eat.

Sabine, Byambaa, Bayaraa and the rest of the Stone Horse team (the four-legged team members) were amazing as always. I will always be blown away by the wonderful hospitality shown by Stone Horse (not to mention the fantastic food that Sabine always manages to cook for us!).

Nothing quite compares to riding into the open steppes, wind in your hair and the sun (sometimes) on your back, golden eagles and falcons calling above your head, under a bright blue sky. I am sure I will return to this country again and again.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank YLLee89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2016

It was really nice to have you back again for the 3rd time. Your horse riding is so much improved from that of 2 years ago. So much more relaxed and in control of Jerry...or in tune with Jerry I should say. We'll see you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2016

I recently returned from the September 10 Day Gorkhi-Terelj National Park Expedition and loved every minute of it. It is truly the trip of a lifetime.

Mongolia is where horsemanship begins, and where the human/horse partnership developed. It is made for riding. Going out on trail with these horses allows you to experience and appreciate the life of a nomadic horse culture already thousands of years old. The trip travels through deep valleys, open steppe, forests, rivers, and several scenic passes, and may pass by the ger camps of herders. Your guides have deep experience in the wild and a lifelong dedication to conservation.

From day one the trip was expertly planned. All reservations for hotels, day trips, and airport transportation in and out of UB were made by Ganaa, and promptly confirmed. Pick-ups and returns were on schedule. Davaa, who drives to and from the airport, is a delight to be with and engaged me in a long conversation about art.

Early in the trip we stayed at a ger camp. You should definitely include a ger stay in your Mongolian travels. Gers are comfortable, well lit, and airy. When they light the stove at night, and in the morning, it gets toasty and warm. I slept soundly.

For the rest of the trip we slept in tents. We had a fleece liner, sleeping bag, and overbag, and I was warm through the night. There is a wood stove to warm the dining tent, which makes for a relaxing place to visit after each day.

Did I say the food was remarkable? Hearty breakfasts, picnic lunches, and dinners with soup, salad, a main course and desserts.

The horses are sure-footed and confident. They handled all terrain with aplomb. They are extremely well behaved, well trained, and compatible as a herd, and eager to move. Some of the best I’ve ever seen. All are loved and cared for, and it shows. Their endurance is remarkable - they can trot for hours, even the packhorses. It is good to have some riding experience, and be fit. But whatever your riding ability, you will feel safe and looked after, and you will learn riding from the best. Many of the saddles are handmade by Sabine. You will appreciate how comfortable they are after hours of trotting.

Worth mentioning, as he is a team player, is Stinky, the wonder dog. Stinky, who otherwise lives in the valley, regularly goes out on expedition, and serves as guide, guard, and boon companion.

Our two Mongolian horsemen, Buyainaa and Byambaa were endlessly helpful with camp gear and tack questions. They break camp, saddle the horses as you eat breakfast, take the packhorses to the next site, and help with cooking. Both are friendly, mirthful, and good fun on trail. If you are lucky they will break into song as you ride alongside them.

If you love the outdoors, thrill to the wild, are comfortable with horses and have an adventurous spirit, this is a trip you should take.

Date of experience: September 2016
4  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2016

Mary, thanks for your comments. With our good staff, we try to keep a good standard to give our guests the best Mongolia has to offer. So glad you enjoyed your travels with us and perhaps we'll see you back here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2016

Having never visited Mongolia before, I did not know what to expect when I signed up for an 8-day horseback expedition with Stone Horse Tours. Needless to say neither Mongolia nor Stone Horse Tours disappointed. We were able to see and tour the modern capital city of Ulaanbaatar, stay in traditional gers, and get a small glimpse of the vastness of the forest steppes that seem to have changed little since the days of Genghis Khan. The trip was well organized, the food (made fresh every day by Sabine) was delicious, the equipment and horses were in top shape and conversation around the dinner table was lively and informative. The sheer scenic beauty and expansiveness of the country alone would have made the trip more than worthwhile. But having Keith and Sabine there to share their love and extensive knowledge of the area's history, customs, geography and ecology took the experience to a whole different level. Their unabashed passion for and lifelong dedication to helping preserve the wild places of the world makes them the perfect guides for a trip into just such a place.

Date of experience: July 2016
3  Thank janetjo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2016

Thanks very much for your comments. Conservation of the environment and treading lightly on the land is what we try to promote with our horse riding adventures. It was a pleasure having along and that we were able to show you a little bit of Mongolia. All the best with your onward travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews