We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Serene!

As inexperienced riders, we spent a couple of days on horses and the Ger stay. It was an excellent... read more

Reviewed November 28, 2018
bernie k
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
The Gobi Crossing - 10 days (Late Oct to early Nov)

In the interests of full disclosure, I should say that this is my fifth time in Mongolia with Stone... read more

Reviewed November 9, 2018
YLLee89
,
Singapore, Singapore
Read all 135 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Ulaanbaatar
from $3,050.00
More Info
from $495.00
More Info
from $85.00
More Info
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
130
4
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
130
4
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ger stay brownie riding experience gorkhi terelj national park hot water bottles horse riding pack trip city tour day trip local communities full disclosure an experienced rider wonderful horses conservation work dining tent learn how an unforgettable experience
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 135 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2016

I recently returned from the September 10 Day Gorkhi-Terelj National Park Expedition and loved every minute of it. It is truly the trip of a lifetime.

Mongolia is where horsemanship begins, and where the human/horse partnership developed. It is made for riding. Going out on trail with these horses allows you to experience and appreciate the life of a nomadic horse culture already thousands of years old. The trip travels through deep valleys, open steppe, forests, rivers, and several scenic passes, and may pass by the ger camps of herders. Your guides have deep experience in the wild and a lifelong dedication to conservation.

From day one the trip was expertly planned. All reservations for hotels, day trips, and airport transportation in and out of UB were made by Ganaa, and promptly confirmed. Pick-ups and returns were on schedule. Davaa, who drives to and from the airport, is a delight to be with and engaged me in a long conversation about art.

Early in the trip we stayed at a ger camp. You should definitely include a ger stay in your Mongolian travels. Gers are comfortable, well lit, and airy. When they light the stove at night, and in the morning, it gets toasty and warm. I slept soundly.

For the rest of the trip we slept in tents. We had a fleece liner, sleeping bag, and overbag, and I was warm through the night. There is a wood stove to warm the dining tent, which makes for a relaxing place to visit after each day.

Did I say the food was remarkable? Hearty breakfasts, picnic lunches, and dinners with soup, salad, a main course and desserts.

The horses are sure-footed and confident. They handled all terrain with aplomb. They are extremely well behaved, well trained, and compatible as a herd, and eager to move. Some of the best I’ve ever seen. All are loved and cared for, and it shows. Their endurance is remarkable - they can trot for hours, even the packhorses. It is good to have some riding experience, and be fit. But whatever your riding ability, you will feel safe and looked after, and you will learn riding from the best. Many of the saddles are handmade by Sabine. You will appreciate how comfortable they are after hours of trotting.

Worth mentioning, as he is a team player, is Stinky, the wonder dog. Stinky, who otherwise lives in the valley, regularly goes out on expedition, and serves as guide, guard, and boon companion.

Our two Mongolian horsemen, Buyainaa and Byambaa were endlessly helpful with camp gear and tack questions. They break camp, saddle the horses as you eat breakfast, take the packhorses to the next site, and help with cooking. Both are friendly, mirthful, and good fun on trail. If you are lucky they will break into song as you ride alongside them.

If you love the outdoors, thrill to the wild, are comfortable with horses and have an adventurous spirit, this is a trip you should take.

Date of experience: September 2016
4  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2016

Mary, thanks for your comments. With our good staff, we try to keep a good standard to give our guests the best Mongolia has to offer. So glad you enjoyed your travels with us and perhaps we'll see you back here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2016

Having never visited Mongolia before, I did not know what to expect when I signed up for an 8-day horseback expedition with Stone Horse Tours. Needless to say neither Mongolia nor Stone Horse Tours disappointed. We were able to see and tour the modern capital city of Ulaanbaatar, stay in traditional gers, and get a small glimpse of the vastness of the forest steppes that seem to have changed little since the days of Genghis Khan. The trip was well organized, the food (made fresh every day by Sabine) was delicious, the equipment and horses were in top shape and conversation around the dinner table was lively and informative. The sheer scenic beauty and expansiveness of the country alone would have made the trip more than worthwhile. But having Keith and Sabine there to share their love and extensive knowledge of the area's history, customs, geography and ecology took the experience to a whole different level. Their unabashed passion for and lifelong dedication to helping preserve the wild places of the world makes them the perfect guides for a trip into just such a place.

Date of experience: July 2016
3  Thank janetjo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2016

Thanks very much for your comments. Conservation of the environment and treading lightly on the land is what we try to promote with our horse riding adventures. It was a pleasure having along and that we were able to show you a little bit of Mongolia. All the best with your onward travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2016

We cannot say enough good things about the experience we had in Mongolia with Stone Horse Tours in July. It was an incredible discovery in all senses of the word. None of us had been to Mongolia before, and we were all really taken by the beauty of the country and its many fascinating cultural and historical features. We went in a family group of five adults.

Stone Horse Tours does a wonderful job with the expeditions that they lead into the national park and the wilderness. Mongolia in the north seems very similar to Colorado or Idaho in terms of scenic beauty, but without any people or fences! The horses are so well trained and professional in their jobs - most impressive. And they have the most incredible endurance, able to travel for hours over any type of terrain. Keith and Sabine are expert guides and know all of the territory over which Genghis Khan rode inside out.

The camp sites were very nice and the camping facilities (tents, sleeping bags, etc) were high quality. Sabine and Keith and their team made everything work well in any kind of weather and were extremely competent in wilderness guidance as well as in horse management. They clearly love their work and do this job with grace and pleasure. The food was home cooked and had a lot of variety. We celebrated my son's birthday one evening as the moon rose, and Sabine made him a special birthday cake!

What Stone Horse Tours offers is unique in Mongolia and perhaps the world. You should not miss this experience to discover a very interesting country and breath-taking scenic beauty.

We were also very grateful to have had the opportunity to experience the Naadam Festival when we were there for the July expedition; that helped us to understand a lot about the people and their values and customs. Stone Horse Tours organized this for us as an add-on to the expedition. Much appreciated.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank sherrystephenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2016

Sherry, it was nice to have you and the family along for the ride. Everyone proved to be good riders and competent in their abilities. That's always nice and makes it fun for us as well. Very glad you liked it and got to share this little bit of Mongolia with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2016

I have just completed the August 12-day horse packing trip in Terelji National Park. You will never meet more interesting or professional guides than Sabine and Keith, You will be inspired by their knowledge of wilderness conservation, as well as history of the area. My travel companions on this trip were exceptional people who added to richness of the experience, The scenery and total experience is not to be missed. This trip is at the top of my most favorite travel adventures..

Do use the excellent packing list that is available on the website.
Rae

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank schulmanuae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2016

Rae, thanks for your comments. Glad you mentioned the packing list we provide in ebook format on the website. Put a lot of effort in that to make our guests travel experience a little easier. It was nice having you along and enjoyed the meal time conversations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2016

We spent 2 nights in July with Stonehorse as part of our Trans Siberian experience. The first night was spent in a traditional Ger tent with Yadma as our host.We did not have long,so opted to go for a ride on the evening we arrived.This was magical as there was thunder in the sky and eagles were gliding over head during the course of the ride. The guides were great as my wife has not been on a horse before and was quite nervous.They kept an eye on her the whole time and their competent presence ensured she enjoyed the whole experience. The food was great,rice/meat combo and a ravioli type dish.The camp was an oasis of tranquility after the train and we enjoyed the peace and seeing the cows and goats coming right up to the Ger.
On day 2 after my wife milked the cows we headed into Ulaanbaatar where our guide Davi showed us the sights of the town and took us for a lovely lunch. We finished the day with a show of Mongolian dance and song.The final day was free for us to explore and in the evening Davi picked us up from the accommodation and took us to the train station .
Every aspect of the Stonehorse operation was totally professional and efficient and this left us to enjoy our time without any concerns.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank dominic594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2016

So glad you enjoyed the Train to Ger trip with us. I'll pass your comments along to Yadmaa and Davasuren, as they are always eager to know what guests think of the experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews