We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Serene!

As inexperienced riders, we spent a couple of days on horses and the Ger stay. It was an excellent... read more

Reviewed November 28, 2018
bernie k
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
The Gobi Crossing - 10 days (Late Oct to early Nov)

In the interests of full disclosure, I should say that this is my fifth time in Mongolia with Stone... read more

Reviewed November 9, 2018
YLLee89
,
Singapore, Singapore
Read all 135 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Ulaanbaatar
from $495.00
More Info
from $371.00
More Info
from $85.00
More Info
from $61.00
More Info
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
130
4
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
130
4
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ger stay brownie riding experience gorkhi terelj national park hot water bottles horse riding pack trip city tour day trip local communities fantastic hosts full disclosure stews an experienced rider wonderful horses conservation work dining tent
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 135 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2016

We spent 2 nights in July with Stonehorse as part of our Trans Siberian experience. The first night was spent in a traditional Ger tent with Yadma as our host.We did not have long,so opted to go for a ride on the evening we arrived.This was magical as there was thunder in the sky and eagles were gliding over head during the course of the ride. The guides were great as my wife has not been on a horse before and was quite nervous.They kept an eye on her the whole time and their competent presence ensured she enjoyed the whole experience. The food was great,rice/meat combo and a ravioli type dish.The camp was an oasis of tranquility after the train and we enjoyed the peace and seeing the cows and goats coming right up to the Ger.
On day 2 after my wife milked the cows we headed into Ulaanbaatar where our guide Davi showed us the sights of the town and took us for a lovely lunch. We finished the day with a show of Mongolian dance and song.The final day was free for us to explore and in the evening Davi picked us up from the accommodation and took us to the train station .
Every aspect of the Stonehorse operation was totally professional and efficient and this left us to enjoy our time without any concerns.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank dominic594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2016

So glad you enjoyed the Train to Ger trip with us. I'll pass your comments along to Yadmaa and Davasuren, as they are always eager to know what guests think of the experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went on the 10 day trek through Gorkhi Terelji National Park with Stone horse in July and couldn't rate it highly enough!

Whether you are an experienced horse rider or just starting out there is something for you. The horses are highly responsive and seem to adapt to your experience. I had not been on such sure footed horses either before in my life; they really take care of you as you pass through a variety of terrain.

As for the Keith and Sabine and their team, we could not have asked for better hosts. They ensured we were all happy on our mounts and treated us to spectacular meals every day.

We would highly recommend this once in a lifetime trip!

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank trekkie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2016

It was really nice having you along on this trip and that you enjoyed the horses. July is a great time to be here. Hope to see you back again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016

My boyfriend and I did the 10-day horseride with Sabine & Keith at Stonehorse in June. We were on a 8-week trip on the Trans-Mongolian train (through China, Mongolia and Russia) but this was the ABSOLUTE HIGHLIGHT of our travel.
My boyfriend had only ridden a couple of times in his life and I have been competing horses since a child, but we both had a blast. Keith and Sabine intuitively allocated us the perfect horse-rider match (Brownie is one of the fastest horses - Ask for him if you like a good gallop :)
The horses are very well looked after, better than at any other horse expedition I have ever come across. All equipment was professional and the highest quality.

Ensure you bring the 'Must have' items from the list though - they are on there for a reason. We had 3-days of rain and my old rain jacket did not hold up well...
As am vegetarian Mongolia can be a bit challenging (even though it is getting better nowadays), but how Sabines catered for me (only vego of the group) was just amazing!

This is an adventure of a lifetime! Do it - you will not regret it.
*Sitting back at work now dreaming of being back in the saddle in the Mongolian wilderness...

Date of experience: June 2016
1  Thank AnnaK2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2016

It was really nice have you along on the ride. As an expert rider, Brownie was quite a gentleman in your skilled hands...well, he's always a gentleman. Thanks for your kind words and perhaps we'll see you back here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2016

We have recently done the 10 day trip with Stonehorse Expeditions. Where do we begin? We are one rider and one non rider in our 50's. From the onset we were made to feel right at home Keith and Sabine. Every need is catered for from all the horse related advice to dietary requirements (the food is fantastic!) The horses are well looked after and very responsive and very well matched to each rider. We travelled with the pack horses and it was amazing. The logistics to make an expedition like this run smoothly in all types of weather conditions would be enormous but Keith and Sabine are true professionals and they made it look effortless.It was a total privilige to be able to partake in this adventure in such beautiful surrounds with like minded people. If you are reading this and are undecided about going. DO IT!

Date of experience: June 2016
2  Thank SBoydy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2016

Both of you did so well on this trip and it was great to have you along. Jeff, as a new rider did extraordinarily well and bumped his way along. It was a fun trip all round, even with the few days of rain we had. Come back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2016

The 10-day Gorkhi Terelj National Park riding expedition with Naadam Festival bonus is nothing short of amazing!   The scenery in Mongolia is spectacular, the horses are calm and full of stamina, the food is delicious, but what really elevates this trip is the personal intraction and attention to detail from Keith and Sabine. 

The steppes of Mongolia are beautiful in early July.  Our ride took us across meadows of wildflowers, muddy wetlands, up and down hills, through mountain passes, and across rivers.  The varried terrain featured beautiful rock formations, peaceful valleys, and seemingly endless photo opportunities.  Lunch stops and camping sites were carefully chosen for the comfort of the guests and the horses.  There was even an unexpected overnight treat with an authentic Mongolian dinner, warm shower, and night in a ger.

The horses were sturdy and sure-footed, and carefully matched to each rider.  They had unbelievable stamina, and could trot for hours!  Because the members of our group group all had differing levels of riding experience, the horses easily accommodated our desires by either lagging behind or running ahead when asked.  Their easy-going temperment and responsiveness made them a joy to ride!

Mealtime was always a special treat -- definitely not your typical camp fare.  Sabine worked magic with just a simple camp stove!  The food was always freshly prepared, and served with an unlimited supply of coffee, tea, and even wine for dinner. Hot breakfasts, picnic lunches, and multi-course dinners (typically a big pot of soup to start, followed by salad, main course, dessert or after dinner drinks) were provided daily.  An added bonus was they did all the clean-up, too!

Keith and Sabine were exceptionally attentive hosts and guides.  They and their staff made sure everyone was comfortable both on and off the horses, during and after the actual trip.  They patiently showed us how to set up our tents, tie up our horses, and allowed us to do as much or as little of these tasks as we were comfortable.  They coordinated our hotel reservations and sightseeing opportunities for the duration of our stay; they provided multi-lingual guides to translate and interact with the local population, and skilled drivers to navigate crazy city traffic and unmarked and unpaved country roads.  Their knowledge, engaging personalities, and willingness to go the extra mile for their guests ensured an enjoyable experience for all!  

Nowhere was this level of service and concern more evident than when we were the unfortunate victims of an unusual hotel incident.   Keith and office manager Ganaa promptly contacted the hotel management, local authorities, and handled everything for us in a most professional manner.  Needless to say, their assistance was both invaluable and reassuring. 

If you're planning to visit Mongolia, Stone Horse Expeditions is the way to go! Enjoy!

Date of experience: July 2016
4  Thank mradack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2016

Thanks for your kind comments Marcy. We can't do a trip like this without our dedicated staff, Byamba, Bayar, Bagii, the great Mongolian horses and of course Stinky. It was really nice having you and Katelyn join us for ride and the Naadam special afterwards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews