We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Serene!

As inexperienced riders, we spent a couple of days on horses and the Ger stay. It was an excellent... read more

Reviewed November 28, 2018
bernie k
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
The Gobi Crossing - 10 days (Late Oct to early Nov)

In the interests of full disclosure, I should say that this is my fifth time in Mongolia with Stone... read more

Reviewed November 9, 2018
YLLee89
,
Singapore, Singapore
Read all 135 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Ulaanbaatar
from $3,050.00
More Info
from $495.00
More Info
from $85.00
More Info
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
130
4
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
130
4
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ger stay brownie riding experience gorkhi terelj national park hot water bottles horse riding pack trip city tour day trip local communities full disclosure an experienced rider wonderful horses conservation work dining tent learn how an unforgettable experience
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 135 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2016

We have recently done the 10 day trip with Stonehorse Expeditions. Where do we begin? We are one rider and one non rider in our 50's. From the onset we were made to feel right at home Keith and Sabine. Every need is catered for from all the horse related advice to dietary requirements (the food is fantastic!) The horses are well looked after and very responsive and very well matched to each rider. We travelled with the pack horses and it was amazing. The logistics to make an expedition like this run smoothly in all types of weather conditions would be enormous but Keith and Sabine are true professionals and they made it look effortless.It was a total privilige to be able to partake in this adventure in such beautiful surrounds with like minded people. If you are reading this and are undecided about going. DO IT!

Date of experience: June 2016
2  Thank SBoydy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2016

Both of you did so well on this trip and it was great to have you along. Jeff, as a new rider did extraordinarily well and bumped his way along. It was a fun trip all round, even with the few days of rain we had. Come back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2016

The 10-day Gorkhi Terelj National Park riding expedition with Naadam Festival bonus is nothing short of amazing!   The scenery in Mongolia is spectacular, the horses are calm and full of stamina, the food is delicious, but what really elevates this trip is the personal intraction and attention to detail from Keith and Sabine. 

The steppes of Mongolia are beautiful in early July.  Our ride took us across meadows of wildflowers, muddy wetlands, up and down hills, through mountain passes, and across rivers.  The varried terrain featured beautiful rock formations, peaceful valleys, and seemingly endless photo opportunities.  Lunch stops and camping sites were carefully chosen for the comfort of the guests and the horses.  There was even an unexpected overnight treat with an authentic Mongolian dinner, warm shower, and night in a ger.

The horses were sturdy and sure-footed, and carefully matched to each rider.  They had unbelievable stamina, and could trot for hours!  Because the members of our group group all had differing levels of riding experience, the horses easily accommodated our desires by either lagging behind or running ahead when asked.  Their easy-going temperment and responsiveness made them a joy to ride!

Mealtime was always a special treat -- definitely not your typical camp fare.  Sabine worked magic with just a simple camp stove!  The food was always freshly prepared, and served with an unlimited supply of coffee, tea, and even wine for dinner. Hot breakfasts, picnic lunches, and multi-course dinners (typically a big pot of soup to start, followed by salad, main course, dessert or after dinner drinks) were provided daily.  An added bonus was they did all the clean-up, too!

Keith and Sabine were exceptionally attentive hosts and guides.  They and their staff made sure everyone was comfortable both on and off the horses, during and after the actual trip.  They patiently showed us how to set up our tents, tie up our horses, and allowed us to do as much or as little of these tasks as we were comfortable.  They coordinated our hotel reservations and sightseeing opportunities for the duration of our stay; they provided multi-lingual guides to translate and interact with the local population, and skilled drivers to navigate crazy city traffic and unmarked and unpaved country roads.  Their knowledge, engaging personalities, and willingness to go the extra mile for their guests ensured an enjoyable experience for all!  

Nowhere was this level of service and concern more evident than when we were the unfortunate victims of an unusual hotel incident.   Keith and office manager Ganaa promptly contacted the hotel management, local authorities, and handled everything for us in a most professional manner.  Needless to say, their assistance was both invaluable and reassuring. 

If you're planning to visit Mongolia, Stone Horse Expeditions is the way to go! Enjoy!

Date of experience: July 2016
4  Thank mradack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2016

Thanks for your kind comments Marcy. We can't do a trip like this without our dedicated staff, Byamba, Bayar, Bagii, the great Mongolian horses and of course Stinky. It was really nice having you and Katelyn join us for ride and the Naadam special afterwards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2016

Keith and Sabine run a truly fantastic operation in Stone Horse. The trip starts from their cabin in a valley about an hour outside of UB, and from there you enter the national park for a week of riding through stunning natural scenery nearly untouched by humans and modernity.

As guides Keith and Sabine are masters of their craft. With backgrounds in conservation and land management, they are dedicated stewards and educators about the environment you ride through with stories and information to keep every night at the dinner table full of interesting conversation (not to mention delicious food!).

The horses, who live in a herd in the valley when they're not on tour, are as wonderfully patient with the tourists as their human owners. Keith and Sabine pair horses and riders to make sure everyone gets a good experience, from never-ridden-before newbies to experienced riders. All the animals are responsive and well-cared for, with a clear love for these trips.

Each day of the trip brought new adventures and spectacular sights, and each evening a chance to relax over good food and great company. The Keith and Sabine have invested in first-rate camping gear to make this one of the best and definitely most comfortable camping trips I've ever been on. They even rigged up a hot shower one night to supplement the dips we had been taking in the rivers every night!

I cannot emphasize enough how truly amazing this trip was! Every aspect Of their operation reflects their clear passion for the Mongolian wilderness, their horses, and utter professionalism running the best tour company I've ever traveled with!

Date of experience: July 2016
2  Thank 661katelynr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2016

This was a great trip, especially seeing up close that big woolly creature. That was a great day! So nice you could join us and I enjoyed our conversations throughout the trip. Great company makes a great trip. Hope to see you riding with again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2016

I am just now returning home from a Father-Son trip to Mongolia on the way to dropping my son off at his summer University program in Beijing. It is difficult to describe the amazing trip that Keith (owner of Stonehorse) put together for us on short notice but I will say that this was the most unique and authentic guided journey that I have been on to date. Keith is a very detail oriented host who has assembled an amazing team of experts who seem to know every square inch of the vast Mongolia desert. In particular, our Gobi guide, Duya, was the perfect guide for our journey back in time to one of the last nomadic herding societies on our planet. Having lived here entire life in the desert, she seemed to know every person, animal and nook and cranny of this expansive and breath taking place. Keith arranged a multi night stay in a Ger, a round and portable tent like structure used by the Nomadic herders in Mongolia. In fact, Through his long standing relationships with the people in the Gobi, Keith had us stay in the Ger of a Nomadic herding family who were gracious hosts. The Gobi people may be some of the most industrious, resourceful and hearty people on this planet as they live happily isolated in the desert without many of the creature comforts that we in the US are used to and dependent upon on a day to day basis. The brief glimpse that my son and I got into the lives of the Nomadic family that we stayed with, opened our eyes to a people and culture that is disappearing as a result of technology, although I hesitate to say technological advances. It took a good bit of time and effort to get to the south Gobi from the US but if you want to turn the clock back 100 years and have the privilege of experience the joys and troubles of a society that will likely be gone in the next 50 years, call Keith at Stonehorse. I could not recommend this company or journey more highly than I am.

Date of experience: May 2016
3  Thank PTelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2016

Thanks for your comments. I'm happy we were able to provide a different and interesting holiday break for the both of you. The Gobi is a spectacular place with its extraordinary scenery. Our post trip meal together gave me some ideas on how to improve service to make the trip even better and they were most appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2016 via mobile

Organised this last minute at the end of a work trip but everything was perfect. Had a fantastic time staying in a ger in winter (-30 outside) with a nomadic family. Highly recommend this company for visitors to Mongolia.

Date of experience: March 2016
1  Thank benK4847ZF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2016

Yadmaa and Davasuren deserve a lot of credit for making our "Train to Ger" and herder family ger stay the unique experience it is. Thanks for your comments and so glad you enjoyed your glimpse of "real" herder life in winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews