We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Adventure of a life time”

Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Stone Horse Expeditions undertakes unique horse trips through pristine cultural and wilderness landscapes. 30+ years of wilderness expedition and guiding experience. Small group size (6 guests max.), high quality, eco-friendly 8,10 and 14 day horse trekking adventures through two of Mongolia's premier wilderness parks. "Train to Ger" 3 and 4 day herder family ger stay and multi-day Gobi Desert tours.
Reviewed October 10, 2014

I was part of the Sept 10 day ride and I loved every minute, the horses were lovely and very responsive, the countryside was wild and beautiful, the saddles comfortable and the food that was produced out of a tiny tent was indeed amazing (including freshly ground coffee every morning and wine at night). Everything was well organized but at the same time very relaxed. Thank you Sabina, Keith, Nyamaa and the boys for one of the best adventures I've had.

Date of experience: September 2014
1  Thank SydneyLilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2014

Trish, it was great having you along and sharing with you what we do. As an experienced rider, you took to the horses and style of riding easily. You'd enjoy our longer and more demanding trip deeper into the Khentii Mountains. Come back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"ger stay"
in 26 reviews
"brownie"
in 10 reviews
"riding experience"
in 11 reviews
"gorkhi terelj national park"
in 16 reviews
"hot water bottles"
in 4 reviews
"horse riding"
in 20 reviews
"pack trip"
in 3 reviews
"city tour"
in 8 reviews
"day trip"
in 13 reviews
"local communities"
in 2 reviews
"fantastic hosts"
in 2 reviews
"full disclosure"
in 2 reviews
"stews"
in 2 reviews
"an experienced rider"
in 3 reviews
"wonderful horses"
in 3 reviews
"conservation work"
in 2 reviews
"dining tent"
in 2 reviews
Filter

83 - 87 of 135 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2014

I went on the 10 day ride in late September. I can not say enough about the quality of the horses, the equipment (both riding and camping), and the guides. Everything was well planned and provided for. The weather was cold, but the stove in the main tent helped considerably. The food was amazing, I still don't know how they were able to carry such a variety of fresh and delicious food on the pack horses. All around excellent, safe, responsible company with great horses and staff. Riding with the full herd of 16 horses was a lifetime experience.

Date of experience: September 2014
1  Thank K44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2014

Thanks Karen. As you saw, our pack horses take their job seriously when carrying all the gear and food we need for our trips. The wood stove and warm dining tent (a spike tent) do make it cozy when traveling, especially when waiting out a snow storm. It was great to have you along and share what we do with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2014

My friend and I took the Trans-siberian rail this May. This was indeed a once in a lifetime trip for me, especially. Although our itinerary was packed, my friend kindly accommodated my request to stay in a Ger camp in Mongolia. And so here we are. Davaa picked us from the airport. On our way to the camp, he answered all our questions about Mongolia patiently and with good English. The Ger camp stay was amazing and wonderful. The host, Yadmaa and family, did not speak English but we felt welcomed at their place. Even the two dogs kept a lookout for us when we explored the area and at night. We were well fed (the food was great!) and kept warm throughout our entire stay. The inside of the Ger was beautifully decorated and clean. We really enjoyed our stay. Also thanks Keith for inviting us to his place for tea 

Included in the package was a traditional dance performance and it was a pleasant surprise. It was indeed a memorable experience and a perfect start for our trip. Thanks to my friend for making a super choice and not to forget - thanks Stone Horse!

Date of experience: May 2014
2  Thank CYin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2014

It was nice having you out there and enjoying a cup of tea and good conversation. Yadmaa and Davasuren provide the "real" herder experience and are always happy to share their home with visitors. We'll pass your comments on to them, which I'm sure they'll be happy to hear. Thanks for stopping by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2014

My husband and I took the Transiberian Railway as honeymoon trip this May. We stoped in Mongolia for only 4 days and contacted Keith for a 3 night ger stay and 1 night in Ulan Bator.

Everything worked as planned: we were picked up at the train station by Davaa (who spoke very good English) and were driven (along with another couple) to the ger in the beatiful countryside outside the city, where we were kindly hosted by Yadmaa and Davasuren.

We had a full ger for our own, with 4 single beds, drawers, a little table and chairs, a small sink and a nice stove that kept us warm during the nights (even too much!). Yadmaa lit the stove every morning in case it went out during the night, so we could wake up war every morning. Davasuren prepared very nice authentic mongolian food. Very filling!

We took a horse day trip around the national park. We encourage everyone to try it, even if you're a horse riding begginer (as we were), as you can really enjoy amazing landscapes you might not see otherwise. Plus, the horses are really nice and you might even get the company of one of the dogs.

Appart from this, we had a lot of free time to explore the surroundings, learn how to milk a cow and just relax.

I believe this is as authentic as it can get in Mongolia, as this is really not touristy. Keith is really involved in the community and commited to its development. He also organises longer tours by horse around the country, but we didn't have time to try them.

As for Ulan Bator, you really enjoy the shower when you get there! There's not much to see, but Davaa and Nara were great guides, very flexible, and really caring.

We truly reccomend Stone Horse Mongolia if you're planning to stop in the country during your Transiberian, or any time! If you can, go between june and september, it will be less cold and greener. You can probably enjoy it any time, though.

Date of experience: May 2014
4  Thank Ines V I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Thanks for your excellent review, we'll pass that on to Yadmaa and Davasuren. You're right, it is an authentic herder family experience for anyone who wants to see the "real" Mongolia and not a commercial camp. It was a pleasure to arrange for you and we're pleased you liked it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2014

From the off, Stone Horse hospitality, efficiency and actual expeditions are head and shoulders above anything similar in Mongolia. The staff know what they are doing and are interesting and good fun. They have horses for all riding experience levels; all have a sense of humour. The equipment (including the amazingly comfortable and beautiful handmade saddles) are second to none and the food deserves a Michelin star in camping cuisine.

The Khentii mountains expedition is incredible and goes through scenery most will only ever see in National Geographic. It is truly wild and seeing no other faces except those that you are with, leaves you feeling refreshed and relaxed.

I can’t stress how good this trip and to anybody reading this, GO! Its unlike anything else on offer and against awe-inspiring scenery, you will meet some great people and remarkable horses.

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Sarah, that was a good trip. We never get tired of the scenery and are always amazed by it's beauty. It's nice to share it with people who appreciate nature in its finest and great to have you along for the ride.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours also viewed

Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
 
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
 

Been to Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing