We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Serene!

As inexperienced riders, we spent a couple of days on horses and the Ger stay. It was an excellent... read more

Reviewed November 28, 2018
bernie k
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
The Gobi Crossing - 10 days (Late Oct to early Nov)

In the interests of full disclosure, I should say that this is my fifth time in Mongolia with Stone... read more

Reviewed November 9, 2018
YLLee89
,
Singapore, Singapore
Read all 135 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Ulaanbaatar
from $3,050.00
More Info
from $74.00
More Info
from $85.00
More Info
from $61.00
More Info
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
130
4
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
130
4
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ger stay brownie riding experience gorkhi terelj national park hot water bottles horse riding pack trip city tour day trip local communities full disclosure an experienced rider wonderful horses conservation work dining tent learn how an unforgettable experience
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 135 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Earlier this year, after research and reading reviews, we chose to use Stone Horse as our tour operator for our September trip to Mongolia and we booked the 3 day "Train to Ger" stay. Unfortunately, the day we arrived, my wife came down with a sudden and very severe case of tonsillitis. Keith and Oggi were both extremely helpful having their driver shuttle us to and from the doctor, then to a hotel in UB that they arranged for us. While we would have much rather spent the time with Davasuren and Yadmaa, they did everything they could to ensure our 3 days in a UB hotel were as comfortable as possible including organizing a guide to take us on a day trip into the steppe once my wife was feeling better. Their driver (who spoke no English) was also incredibly warm and helpful. We are in their debt, and hope to come back one day to complete our journey.

Date of experience: September 2013
1  Thank iamgipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thanks for your comments. We know all too well what it's like to be traveling to a new or different country and become ill. It's not pleasant. We'll do whatever we can to help our guests find the proper medical help and make them as comfortable as possible. I'm glad we were able to get you out to see some of the countryside while you were here. Look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The only mode of travel to really enjoy Mongolia is by horse and Keith and Sabine of Stone Horse Expeditions are the perfect guides to steer you across the wild steppes. I spent more than a week trekking across the Gorki-Terelj National Park on my trusted speed Jerry, just one of a dozen or so carefully picked Geldings owned by the conservationist couple who have made Mongolia their home after years helping save the planet in Antarctica. Mongolia is one of the few wild and undisturbed places left on earth and riding across its vast expanses, crossing pristine meadows and waist-high rivers serves only add to the magic of a country that is still little understood in the West. Stone Horse expeditions are not a slap dash affair. The owners' attention to detail and knowledge of the local terrain and customs ensures a comfortable trip whilst retaining a wild edge. Their camping equipment is cutting-edge and sturdy while Sabine's culinary skills make meal time something to look forward to whether its lunching by a babbling brook or an al fresco feat under a moonlit sky.There's something primal about rising at dawn, riding all day and then retiring at nightfall that invigorates both mind and body inducing a stillness and clarity that remains with you for months after the trip. Stone Horse caters for a range of riders from the complete novice to the accomplished horseman and its well-kept animals are carefully matched to a rider's abilities. Keith and Sabine exude magnanimity and display a genuine love and respect for the country they now call home and I would thoroughly recommend travel with them for a rich and authentic way to experience Mongolia.

Date of experience: September 2013
1  Thank amardeep b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thanks for the review. We try hard to make it "the way it should be done". We look for the best equipment, work with really good people here in our staff and spend a lot of time working with our horses to make sure we have the best possible for our trips. Really glad you could join us. It was great having you along.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying with Yadmaa and Davasuren for a couple of days, and we had a very nice time. Both of them are very hospitable, though language is an issue, making you feel very comfortable and safe. Davasuren is an excellent cook, and took very good care of us.
The spot is awesome and the autumn colors made it like a dream. The horse riding was also excellent, the scenery in the forest was magical. We had a lot of fun milking the cows, and taking walks around the place. The whole experience was very memorable.

The organization of the trip was however a disaster. We had to write 4-5 emails to get an answer, and even though we contacted them one month in advance, when we arrived in Mongolia we still didn't know how much money we would pay or if someone would pick us up from the bus station. We had to move around with our luggage to find a place to stay, because the Chenggis house was full, and when we finally arrived to a vacant place, the wifi was not working. The day we were supposed to visit the museum, monastery, etc we got a "guide" who was not a guide, and though he was very kind and spoke good english, he did very poor time management and in the end we didn't have time to do even half the things we were supposed to. Finally the absolute worst part was when our "guide" didn't know if someone would take us to the train station the next morning and Oggie would not answer the phone. She finally sent us an email at 22.35 (not very smart when you have to wake up at 5 o' clock in the morning and NOT have internet at home!!) to which we answered immediately we needed to get the train station earlier and of course she still has not replied. The house lady where we stayed also left us a note of the pick up time at 1.30 in the morning, while we were sleeping.
The whole experience was very disappointing and stressful, especially after all the excellent reviews we had read. What a shame...

Date of experience: October 2013
8  Thank alikaki00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thanks for alerting us to this experience. We take all comments about our business seriously and will look into what happened to ensure there is no repeat of this type of service. As the owner/operator, I am out with every long horse ride in the back country. We try very hard to offer the highest standard of service possible under the conditions we travel in. We will strive to ensure any below par service is improved. Thanks again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I have just completed our two week horse trekking experience into the Gorkhi-Treij National Park and had a great time. This is an outdoor adventure of the purest kind: we enjoyed silence, stars, clear air, crisp frosty mornings, rich blue skies and some wonderful horses. An excellent antidote to fast living and noisy city life.

Stone Horse is a great company - the equipment provided to us was new or nearly new as far as I could tell and the horses were of the highest quality, steady, polite and very responsive when asked. We carried everything we needed on pack horses and this ensured we could access uninterrupted backcountry wilderness for the entire period. The quality of the food also needs to be mentioned as this was very good particularly since we were camping and it was also remarkably accommodating to individual requirements.

In essence, the professionalism and quality we enjoyed was exceptional. We have no hesitation to rate this company as excellent in every way.

Date of experience: October 2013
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

This was a great trip and a good end to our longer horse riding expeditions for the season. Both of you did really well and handled the wide variety of weather and temperatures we experienced with ease. We'll keep you posted on future trips.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We just returned from an 8-day trip to the Gorkhi-Terelj National Park. I joined my two grown daughters to share in our love of horses on this adventure. I was somewhat apprehensive as it had been over 30 years since I had ridden or camped. We enjoyed some undisturbed time in the beautiful Mongolian countryside, and after the second day I was feeling pretty comfortable in the saddle. Sabine had made most of the saddles we used and they were extremely comfortable. The sun shone virtually everyday and I can see why they call it the land of endless blue sky. The camping equipment (sleeping bags, tents, etc) provided by Stone Horse were in great condition and perfectly suited to the trip (even when it snowed). We loved our horses and found them to be very responsive and gentle. The whole team - Keith, Sabine, Buyana and Byamba worked very hard to ensure we were safe, comfortable, and having a great time. Sabine cooked the most delicious and nutritious meals, and if you can imagine, even baked bread. Keith is a great historian, and his wealth of knowledge about the environment and history of Mongolia was really interesting. Oggie, who helped coordinate the trip, was very friendly and lots of fun. She was particularly helpful when we returned to Ulaanbaatar and even arranged some day trips for us. We would highly recommend this trip and will always have fond memories of our trip with Stone Horse.

Date of experience: September 2013
Thank PattiL963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith S, Owner at Stone Horse Expeditions & Travel - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

It was nice having the three of you on the trip. It was such a nice time to be out in the park, and all of you handled the horses so well. It's was great to still hear wolves around when we were deeper in the park wilderness area. They always add some flavor to a trip. You guys can come back any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews