We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsistent quality”
Review of Namaste

Namaste
Ranked #3 of 302 Restaurants in Ulaanbaatar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We, at Namaste Restaurant strongly believe that a business exists because of it's valued customers/guests". Therefore, whatever we do here is meant to ensure a happy and highly satisfied guest.You are the most important element of our business. We feel proud and enthusiastic to see that our business ethics are liked and awarded by our guests.Who have voted for us in "Lonely Planet-(2011 edition)" travel guide as Ulaanbaatar's "TOP CHOICE" Indian restaurant.Once again we extend our sincere thanks to those who supported us in this journey without you we were not be able to come this far.
Ulaanbaatar, Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Inconsistent quality”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I will continue going to Namaste despite a stone appearing out of vegetable curry once and one of the most expensive dishes on the menu, a beef rib curry, being served cold. I think someone in the kitchen must have forgotten to put in the microwave, even though they state on the menu it's 'served straight out of a tandoori oven', of course. Overall the food is delicious and staff deal with your complaints in a professional manner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZayaTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surendra Kumar B, Manager at Namaste, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Zaya,

Thank you for your comment.
Herewith, i would like to extend my sincere apologies for the bad dining experience you had in our restaurant. It"s also bad for us to hear about this as we do our best to provide the best service to all our customers all the time.To be frank with you this sort of complaint is extremely rare for us to hear - not that we doubt your story.As soon as this issue was brought to my attention we took administrative action.I do hope you will give us another chance to serve you in the nearest future.

With sincere regards,

Kumar
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    67
    13
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mazar-i-Sharif, Afghanistan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant with reasonable price”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I am student in Mongolia and I often come here. very nice manager and talented chefs and best environment. The price is much cheaper than other places

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jumong_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Authentic & delicious Indian food”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Another simpler Indian restaurant, but with gr8 food offerings. A must for any of the world-trotters who love Indian food-- curries, daal, roti, naan, veg & non-veg delicacies -- including chaat and paani-poori :-)

The head chef is from Uttarakhand, and knows his job well

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PankajSood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Popular but ...”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Service was rather slow. We visited with a reasonably large group and found things a bit on the sluggish side. Part of the group were finished eating before we got our meals, which seemed to take forever. We had "Lamb" korma which was all bones. But I do know this place is popular with expats, so maybe it was just a bad day.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank dianeant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surendra Kumar B, Manager at Namaste, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Sir / Madam,

Greetings of the day from Namaste Indian Restaurant.

First of all, i would like to extend my sincere thanks for your feedback, We are working with all our staff to improve our service. We pride ourselves in give the best service to our customers.

Next time, when you visit us ,i would like to request you to call the chef and directly inform him about your how you would like your dish.

I assure you of better service and food next time.

Thank you and kindest regards

S.Kumar

99270957 (Mobile)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed this restaurant”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I was taken to this restaurant and it was excellant...they didn't have my favorite Indian curry on the menu. Not a problem I asked the chef and he made me an excellant Chicken Vindaloo. Wasn't keen on the starters maybe they cannot get chickpea flour. but everything else was very very good...so good my friend had a take away... I actually enjoyed this place so much I took my boss there for lunch a couple of dys later.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Namaste also viewed

Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
 
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
 

Been to Namaste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing