We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Urgoo Boutique Hotel
Ranked #33 of 60 Hotels in Ulaanbaatar
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Came to Ulaanbaatar without expecting much. Turned out to be an excellent holiday in a very good hotel. A bit pricey but very pleasant and hassle-free. Breakfast included and was excellent.
Day trip to Terelj national park was good except for the bad roads full of potholes. Female guide was friendly and spoke good English but was sleepy most of the time in the car(uni student with exams coming up, working part time as guide). Traveled with family in September 2012 when the weather was excellent.
T.Teoh Malaysia

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank tblteoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a small modern boutique hotel located a short walk away from Sukhbaatar Sq. It is quite pricey but so are most hotels in this city.
For the money you get a good location and sizable, clean and very modern rooms. The staff are friendly and obliging. The room I stayed in was very spacious with a kitchenette and a new large screen TV (you may need to ask reception for help as it is quite complicated to use). The bathroom was big and immaculate although the shower could do with minor positional improvements.
There is a branch of the Gobi cashmere store handily located in the lobby for last minute souvenirs.
Do not miss the vegetarian restaurant Luna Blanca on the same street. With imaginative food and good service, it is very popular during lunch. A godsend after a week in Mongolia where mutton seems to dominate most menus.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eastman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a relatively small hotel. If it wasn't Mongolia, then I would have to give this hotel only two stars but because of the location, and because it is in Mongolia (again), then an additional star is in order.

Plus:
1. Location - it is very near the famous Sukhbaatar square, the national museum, the Parliament building, and a couple of restaurants and shops. In short, it is strategically located at the center Ulaanbaatar.
2. bed is large and nice
3. huge flat TV but the connection could be a bit bothersome because it is connected to the internet
4. room is generally clean
5. staff, at most times, are very accommodating despite minus #1 below

Minus:
1. Difficulty in communicating with staff (in English), something which is common in MG. You might consider learning some local language and memorizing some Mongolian alphabet (cyrillic) to help you move around the city/country.
2. Lift/elevator is very small
3. Limited choice of breakfast, only 4 or 5 choices I think, which is just fine if you're staying for at most 5 days. From the list, you need to order your breakfast first and sometimes the service is a bit slow (15-30 min depending on the crowd). The biggest minus though is that they serve breakfast starting at 8am only!
4. During the rainy season, the street fronting the hotel is almost always flooded
5. No fitness center (understandable I guess since it's just a small hotel)
6. There's something wrong with the shower hook and water is not too strong, thus, you need extra time in taking a shower.

Even with the minuses above, I think I would still recommend this hotel mainly because of its location. Don't just stay in UB though. There is much to see in the countryside!

Room Tip: get a room on the 4th floor (top most)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I-benget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I wasn't even sure I should rate the hotel average, but in the end I guess it is average for UB. The room is certainly alot nicer than at the Bayongol. This is quite a small hotel with about only 12 rooms on 3 floors. The location is certainly excellent, but my room on the back side, was above the building aircon unit which was bothersome at night since it went off and on throughout the night (I'm sure not a problem in the winter...haha)

I had lot's of small service issues that in my mind, for the price compound to overall poor service. The TV is through an internet connection and had some issues that were slow in resolving. The housekeeping was very minimal and often not done by the time I got back from the office. I was constantly needing to contact the front desk to ask them to do basic stuff. There is no fitness room. The bathroom has almost no counter space and the shower hook up was in a very odd place.

The included breakfast was in the attached restaurant which itself is nicely furnished. But the breakfast had two big issues: 1. didn't start until 8am and I typically like mine earlier. Often I'd get there at 8am and the restaurant was dark still... 2. You order from a slip of paper with 5 breakfast choices but often even that short list wasn't always available. I never did have lunch or dinner at the hotel since UB has lots of restaurants and just 2 doors down is a decent Vietnamese place.

The front desk staff were generally friendly with a varying degree of english fluency. So overall just an average place, although Mongolia itself, especially outside the city is a beautiful country with lots to see.

Room Tip: Back rooms are noisy from aircon unit in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Almanorkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

This hotel was booked by our local contacts. The staff was nice and helpful, the room are nicely kept and look good, the price is Ok, breakfast is fine. It is located right next to the Parliament, so it's pretty handy whether you're here for leisure or business. They also have a pretty nice restaurant. In the end, it is better than most big chain hotels that cost 2 to 3 times as much! I definitely recommend this one.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apanamanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We decided to stay in this hotel after it was recommended buy two local guides. The hotel is very centrally located and almost next to the popular vegetarian restaurant Luna Blanca (which was great, by the way). The room wasn't very large but was modern and clean and had complimentary tea/coffee and a huge flat tv with international (mostly Russian) channels. Electricity plugs were compatible with any kind of gadget type i.e. they could be connected to mongolian, european, US, etc. gadgets without needing an adaptor.

The breakfast was nothing fancy (three options) but they delivered it to the room (recommended, the restaurant wasn't any special) free of charge. Although a bit expensive, this hotel gave us a good and professional impression.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank consttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
2  Thank qaswderftgyhjuik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ulaanbaatar hotels
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Ulaanbaatar
Holiday Inn Ulaanbaatar
#13 of 60 in Ulaanbaatar
20 reviews
0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
#2 of 60 in Ulaanbaatar
523 reviews
0 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar
Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar
#1 of 60 in Ulaanbaatar
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sunjin Grand Hotel
Sunjin Grand Hotel
#35 of 60 in Ulaanbaatar
15 reviews
0 mi away
Bayangol Hotel
Bayangol Hotel
#8 of 60 in Ulaanbaatar
302 reviews
0 mi away
J Hotel
J Hotel
#9 of 60 in Ulaanbaatar
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urgoo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urgoo Boutique Hotel

Address: Tourist Street | #6, M100 Building, 1st khoroo, Chingeltei District, Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia (Formerly Urgoo Hotel)
Location: Mongolia > Ulaanbaatar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 60 Hotels in Ulaanbaatar
Price Range: $102 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Ulaanbaatar, URGOO hotel offers you a pleasant stay and personalized service that can be found only in small boutique hotels. Government palace, business offices, banks and tourist attractions are literally just around a corner! You can enjoy our chief's specials in our European cuisine URGOO Restaurant. Whether you are on business trip or on vacation - URGOO Hotel & Restaurant is the place where you feel like home in the heart of Ulaanbaatar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Urgoo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing