We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden treasure” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mongolians

Mongolians
Ranked #30 of 288 Restaurants in Ulaanbaatar
Cuisines: Asian, Mongolian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Its located in the same building as the Barilga Mega Store; Phone number 99097716
ulaanbaatar
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

When my friends brought me here, I was a bit skeptical that a place so out of the way and ordinary looking on the outside could be anything but ordinary on the insede. But I was wrong. This is the place to come if you want to share a special occasion with Mongolian friends. First of all, it is nicely decorated with Mongolian historical artifacts in a tasteful and elegant manner, including a full Ger. Secondly, the menu has a wonderful variety of all types of international and Mongolian food. The Mongolian food that I have eaten here has been up to international standards and could be served with pride outside of Mongolia. Finally the prices were reasonable. On each occasion I've seen a nice mix of foreigners and Mongolians, usually families celebrating some special occasion. Not really an Irish Pub or a drinking place by my estimation, but all restaurants in Mongolia like to advertise themselves as such so as to make more money by selling alcohol. This is definitely more of an upscale eating establishment with very affordable prices. A good find in a city like this.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank talktalk611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    22
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great ambiance and loads of food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Really recommend this place, although our visit wasn't without incident! Firstly, its a wonderfully decorated place - walked in and immediately loved it. Huge menu, which made ordering a bit tricky... Our dishes then turned up rather haphazardly... mains before starters.. some had a starter and main while others were left waiting.. BUT the food was GREAT! We were eating mainly from Mongolian menu (but Western also available). huge servings and my beef was beautiful and tender (albeit half a cow on my plate!). I found the Mongolians Salad a bit heavy... and couldn't finish either dish! Food and atmosphere were great... Service a bit chaotic but with a smile - so you couldn't complain! Recommend a visit, although a little out of the centre.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Fi1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Come for the mutton hot pockets, stay for the history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

Irish pubs are popular in Ulaanbaatar, and this is a high end one, with some great Mongolian historical artifacts and more tasteful decor, like that of an upscale midtown bar and grill that still seeks to maintain the feel of a local tavern. The main course of mutton pies – Mongol hot pockets – was outstanding and filling, with a Greek salad and green soup before and a chocolate mousse for dessert. This would prove to be our best meal in Mongolia.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dberkowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Real Mongolian food in a historical setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2010

The owners of Mongolians Pub have gone out of their way to create an ambiance that gives the visitor a brief glimpse at Mongolian history and culture. The walls are hung with Mongolian artifacts and historical photos. Glass display cases and a VIP ger give the diner the feeling that they are eating inside a historical museum. Most nights, Mongolian traditional music such as long song, throat singing or horsehead fiddle is also featured. To some degree, the restaurant relies on its atmosphere to carry it, though. The menu is diverse and eclectic, featuring both Mongolian and European fare, but the quality is inconsistent.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sumpteretc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, az
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Resaurant with Historical displays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

It had traditional food and others with pictures for everything in the menu. On Friday nights they have a traditional Mongolian instrument player. Also, they have Mongolian artifacts displayed all over the place. We sat next to some metal things women would dangle from their hair that had cosmetic items. Very cool. I had the traditional Mongolian food, beef dumplings, sheep ribs (almost all fat), and the beef pocket type thing, it was all flavorless, but my husband had the Chicken kabobs and he said they were great. UlaanBaatar doesn't use addresses, its all by district. The flier also mentions its in the Barilga Mega Store. They have traditional Mongolian and European food.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ekgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mongolians also viewed

Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
 
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
 
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
 

Been to Mongolians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing