We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for overlanders (bikers, cyclists, 4x4’s)”

Oasis Cafe & Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ulaanbaatar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oasis Cafe & Guesthouse
Ranked #25 of 95 Ulaanbaatar B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 27, 2012

After three weeks driving in Mongolia and hardly meeting someone who speaks English, Oasis was quite a relief. Owners and staff are friendly and speak German and English. You can park your car (truck, 4x4) if you are lucky because there is not much space. They rent about 6 gers which can be shared by 4 people. We wanted a ger for ourselves and paid 68.000 Tugrik per night. A bit expansive because the gers are not well-maintained. The pipe of the stove in our ger was so rusted that we could not use the stove because of the smoke, although the weather (cold and rainy) asked for it. Because the cover of the ger wasn’t in a good condition it was leaking, the floor was partly wet, we had to shove the beds to a dry place. But still it’s a great place to meet people from all over the world, share experiences and frustration about the infrastructure in Mongolia (very bad roads), exchange useful information, do some repairs etc.

The facilities are good. There are about four showers (free for guests) that can be used by people from the local community too (not free), so sometimes you have to wait. Laundry service (pay by the load) and a hairdresser are available. Wi-fi is not for free: 10.000 Tugrik (very expansive when you are only a few days here). You can take cakes, drinks etc. from the refrigerator in the café/restaurant, order food and drinks from the restaurant, note it down on a list and pay everything when you leave. The prices however are more European than Mongolian. A basic breakfast is included in the price. You have to make it yourself but the advantage is that they put everything down at night so when leaving early you still can have your breakfast. I liked it that the restaurant and the toilet area are lighted during the night.

Oasis is about 3 km. outside the centre. Nearby is a busstop, line 14 and 27 go to the central square. Also nearby is a good supermarket with an ATM. Next door is a small garage, the owners speak English and are very helpful and so are owners and staff of Oasis. They can help you with a lot of useful information, and because they speak Mongolian they can make telephone calls for you if necessary.

Room Tip: In the guesthouse are also rooms for rent but I did'nt see them so I cannot give information. As...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank friezin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 34 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Oasis Cafe & Guesthouse was a great find in Ulaanbaatar. It provides an interesting mix of rooms and gers, as well as ample space for parking. The owner Sybille is extremely helpful and went beyond the call of duty for us on our first night; she re opened the kitchen for us as we arrived late and hungry! The food is great, and the cafe atmosphere is warm and friendly. We met many overland travellers from all parts of the world which made a sociable atmosphere. The showers and bathrooms were clean, and the clothes washing facilities and hairdresser were a good service to have after many days on the road. The staff and very helpful concerning all matters that arose. Definitely a place I would go back to!

Room Tip: Gers for an authentic experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The German owner Sybille helped us with getting the invitation letter needed for the Visa application, which worked out okay. She quoted USD 20 per person for this (price stated in written communication). When we got to UB she wanted EUR 20 instead of USD 20. The price for the gers is also quite high with 22.000 Tugrik per person (in a ger sleeping four), especially if you take into consideration that the sheets don't smell clean and the whole ger got flooded when we stayed there during a slightly rainy night. When we got up in the morning we found all our luggage soaked as the water came in not only from the roof, but also from all sides of the ger. If you want to pay in USD instead of Tugrik the exchange rate is much lower than in any exchange office in town (which she knew when asked). They seem to be quite good in getting the most out of the customer anyway.. many things are quoted extra, as other reviewers mentioned as well. When we asked about a tour (also offered on the Homepage) it took several reminders and a few weeks to get a reply and the tour offered didn't have any similarity with the tour we had asked for. When asked if they could send us a taxi to pick us up at the airport (which we would have paid for of course) she told us (after a few more e-mail reminders) that she wouldn't, we should just look for a taxi there. The café is quite nice and clean, although more expensive than the other restaurants in UB (incl. Kempinski, so I'm not talking about street vendors). Showers are warm and well kept, although you might have to wait quite some time to get your turn. Only two toilets for quite a few rooms and 7 gers (sleeping 4 each). Nice to meet other guests, but due to the negative points mentioned above no recommendation from our side.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank katzikatze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

The Oasis Guesthouse is an interesting place because of the big yard which is handy for all the motorbikes and outside ger accommodation, as well as the backpacker style dormitories inside. It also provides showering, laundry and hairdressing facilities, not only for the guests but for local Mongolians. The place runs on a trust system whereby you keep a tally of what food you eat in the cafe area and pay up at departure when you settle the accommodation bill. It is a lively social place at this guesthouse and people stay up late. There is the opportunity to chat with lots of different travellers as people are arriving and leaving all the time.The owners Sybille and Rene were very nice Austrian folk who were knowledgeable about Mongolia and generously shared information about the roads ahead.we were there in June 2010 not June 2011.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We had a very good experience at Oasis guesthouse as a family with 3 kids. We had a big room for the whole family with large bay window overlooking the garden. The place is clean with great facilities, notably the showers. The cafe is a warm and relaxed area where good solid western food is served. Particularly enjoyable are the large salads and home bake cakes. Sybille manages the place with very positive energy and has been very helpful in advising us for our trip. We can wamrly recommend this place for travellers searching for a haven in UB.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank frenchconnection88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

A gem of a find. Speak to most overlanders on the road and they mention this place. Secure parking, plenty of water (for washing off the Mongolian dust), hot showers, electricity works, internet works, helpful owners, English and German spoken. And it's OK to do car repairs here too. Within walking distance of the 'Black Market' where you can get anything you want as long as it's Chinese made. You could find cheaper but this is well worth the extra. Especially if you want a bit of a break. And if you want to be sociable there are bound to be other travellers there with whom you can swap stories, hints and tips.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GoingOverland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We came here during our 1-year world trip by car and happened to meet lots of other 'overlanders' (ie travellers by car, motorcycle or even bicycle). The guest house is clean, has a great garden where you can eat good food and meet lots of other interesting travellers. You can either stay in a ger or in a regular room. Beds aren't too comfortable, as are ALL beds in Mongolia unfortunately. The owners also provide work for locals by their (very clean) public shower-house, hairdresser and laundry service. All of course available also for guests.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asfintesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ulaanbaatar hotels
1.8 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
#2 of 60 in Ulaanbaatar
522 reviews
2.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar
Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar
#1 of 60 in Ulaanbaatar
257 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ramada Ulaanbaatar Citycenter
Ramada Ulaanbaatar Citycenter
#5 of 60 in Ulaanbaatar
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Guide Hotel
Guide Hotel
#9 of 60 in Ulaanbaatar
51 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Gobi's Kelso
Best Western Gobi's Kelso
#6 of 60 in Ulaanbaatar
86 reviews
3.1 mi away
Modern Mongol Hostel
Modern Mongol Hostel
#5 of 111 in Ulaanbaatar
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oasis Cafe & Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oasis Cafe & Guesthouse

Address: | P.O.Box 528, Ulaanbaatar 210349, Mongolia
Location: Mongolia > Ulaanbaatar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Ulaanbaatar
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing