We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat”
Review of Modern Nomads

Modern Nomads
Ranked #7 of 357 Restaurants in Ulaanbaatar
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mongolian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed June 18, 2016 via mobile

This is a modern restaurant offering a variety of traditional Mongolian dishes and some international options
Probably the strong point are the meals to share that are a bit more labor intensive
We chose one of those ( one hour preparation time ; went out for the hour and came back just in time )
Everything was delicious and cooked to perfection
The portion size was more than generous

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank oaxaca2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 172 of 377 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

Good quality services and specially taste of traditional food with nice environment in restaurant. this is located in center of UB.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank javkanaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 15, 2016 via mobile

We have visited Modern Nomads twice on our stay in UB, and it was definitely a good choice. Food is really tasty (including veg options of traditional Mongolian cuisine - a kind of oxymoron, but they've managed it well), and the service is OK. Prices are fine too, even for UB standards. If you want to taste a good traditional cuisine, and still keep an option of picking something else, it's definitely recommended.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Radovan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 23, 2016

A group of us had what we were told was a traditional Mongolian dinner at one of the Modern Nomads restaurants in Ulaan Baatar, not sure which one. We started with a salad then had vegetable soup then a dish called "United Mongolia" which was a large plate with 4 squares that had 3 types of dumpling, one of which was fried (all delicious), salad and a lump of beef on the bone. I don't think it was at all traditional but we finished with yak milk ice cream! There was also a demonstration of Mongolia tea making which is based on boiling milk with tea and other ingredients including a small-grained rice and dried shredded meat. I think we all enjoyed our meal.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marjorie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 22, 2016

We read some reviews about the "smell" of some of the dishes but after we tried, it was ok and the restaurant offers variety of cuisine choices. Centrally located with nice ambient.

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank trav3leongy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Modern Nomads also viewed

Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
 
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
 

Been to Modern Nomads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.