We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stranded at the Train Station”
Review of LG Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
LG Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 84 Ulaanbaatar B&B and Inns
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Stranded at the Train Station”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This guesthouse has two locations - one near the train station and one in the city center. If you reserve a room, make sure that you know which one you'll be staying at, as the one near the train station is not near to anything else and you'll need your hiking shoes.

We had confirmed our reservation with them and had arranged for them to pick us up from the train station. When we arrived, no one from the guesthouse was there to meet us. We ended up staying elsewhere. It might have been a nice place, I don't know. We never got that far...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tumbleweeds023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    26
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
23
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in a private double room in early August. The room was very well equipped, including kettle and fridge and two single beds with clean linen. We arrived very late from a tour and called LG Guesthouse after 10pm, and they sent a driver to collect us from the tour depot free of charge. They also dropped us at the bus station early the next morning, again for free. The service was friendly and efficient and the hostel clean and tidy and in a great central location.

While in Mongolia we also stayed at UB Guesthouse for one night, and we found LG to be better all round.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LnPNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed twice in LG Guesthouse. First stay end of July was perfect and after having lot of hassle with our Air China flight to UB we really enjoyed staying in this convenient place with plenty of choices to catch delicious food in the surrounding. The team give you also a great help in case you need a taxi or other transportation. Our second stay mid of August was a bit bumpy as we didn't got the room confirmed by SMS few hours earlier. The staff told us that Anandi - the manager - gave different instructions as earlier confirmed to us. The other room was nice but we were a little disappointed to get so many inconsistent information. All the rest was fine and rooms are renovated nicely and whole guesthouse was extremely clean.

Room Tip: If you've some extra money ask for apartment 13 with 1 bed room, own bathroom and kitchen plus l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyrolians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

The moment I walked in, I realized that I was in good hands. The Hostel has two locations and I stayed at both. I did travel off-season, so it was easier for me to get the rooms I wanted. However, timely reservation can take care of that. It's pretty much a family-run busimess and the personnel from owner to clerks and maids take the best of care of you with cheerful disposition. If and when I return to Ulaanbataar, I would not hesitate to stay there again. Of course, as you can see on their website, they arange for tours and give you all the assistance you might need if you want to take off on your own. They will pick you up at the airport for a fee and pick you up from the train station for free. I stayed at both of their locations, and each one has its advantages and drawbacks. The one in the center of town shares toilet facilites, but is taken care of by a relative of the owner and her daughters very well and I did not find that to be a problem. The beauty of that location is that you are in the midst of it all, just across from the State Department Store and in walking distance to just about everything you might want to see or visit in Unlaanbaatar. The other location has rooms with shared and private bathrooms, has a restaurant, and is right across from a local mall and near the train station. Excellent Internet Cafes are available in the immediate vicinity of both. I felt very comfortable in both locations and would not mind staying in either, should I return here. Reservations are necessary, definitely during the main travel season or when the local festivals are going on. More on my website: cosmic-pearl.com

Room Tip: Reserve early, depending on time of year. This is a very busy place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

LG Guest House is a family run guesthouse where we stayed for whooping 26 days during the month of Jan-Dec 2011-12. The place was very clean, well maintained and fairly managed.Our room had a small TV with cable connection (all Mongolian and Russian language channels except China News in English), some well needed furniture like a table and a sofa, a hygienic bathroom with hot shower 24x7 and large enough bed for two people. As it was winter time in the coldest capital on earth (Ulaanbaatar), the heating system in the room worked quite well and gave us the liberty to move around in summer clothes (when the outside temperature was minus 32 Degrees!).Having a small fridge and a water boiler in the room also helped us in many ways. There was kitchen on the third floor which was stocked with basic kitchen utensils and a gas stove. As we preferred eating home made food, we thoroughly enjoyed cooking there with almost no difficulty.
All the staff and the owner were very meticulous and sincere in serving the guests. We really appreciate the hard work put up by one staff Ms Jaatna who took care of our room's cleanliness with a smile.
The guesthouse provided fresh and neat bath towels thrice a week.There is a restaurant on the first floor which serves good food at reasonable rates.To my utmost relief, the guesthouse had free WiFi Internet connection, which worked fairly well during night.

Contrary to some reviews we have read earlier, the guesthouse was not very far from the State Department store and was very near to Grand plaza and other super markets.The smartest plus point was its nearness to Ulaanbaatar Railway station which was at stone's throw distance. The Guesthouse had two entrances, one from the restaurant side and and one on the back, which remained accessible by midnight. On top of it the place was quite secure and people friendly.
Overall we will rate this property as A+ grade and would like to stay there again in our next visit to Mongolia.
~~~~~~~~~Best wishes from Indo-Mongolian family~~~~~~~~~~~~

Room Tip: Choose a room with Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bear_Monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotw
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Had booked into a hostel in the city centre for 2 nights, but couldn't extend our stay there, so booked into LG Gueshouse. We are a mature couple and requested a private ensuite. Room was clean and very spacious, with desk and chairs which made it comfortable to work on computers and eat etc. Staff were wonderful and there is a restaurant downstairs, which had good food, plus there was a local market nearby. The Guesthouse is situated near the train station and in a 'local' neighbourhood (not in the main tourist area). For this reason it was a very intersting and enjoyable experience and in comparison to the central hostel we stayed at, it was also for us, a far superior one. Yes, it is quite far from the centre, but it is walkable and this in itself was a plus, as around the guesthouse and along the way into town, you can experience UB as the locals do. LG is a 'budget' guesthouse - not for those wanting 4/5* western luxury, but we would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weltenbummlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Spacious rooms with great showers. Not a good location.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manzo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ulaanbaatar hotels
1.4 mi away
New West Hotel
New West Hotel
#18 of 59 in Ulaanbaatar
49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Ulaanbaatar Citycenter
Ramada Ulaanbaatar Citycenter
#5 of 59 in Ulaanbaatar
490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Danista Nomads
Danista Nomads
#1 of 84 in Ulaanbaatar
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Golden Gobi Hostel
Golden Gobi Hostel
#3 of 100 in Ulaanbaatar
315 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mongolian Vision Guesthouse
Mongolian Vision Guesthouse
#4 of 84 in Ulaanbaatar
70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Idre Hostel
Idre Hostel
#7 of 100 in Ulaanbaatar
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LG Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LG Guesthouse

Property: LG Guesthouse
Address: Bayangol District, 3rd khoroo, Teeverchdiin St, House-7, Ulaanbaatar 210628, Mongolia
Location: Mongolia > Ulaanbaatar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Ulaanbaatar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your LG Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing