We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Ulaanbaatar
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveler rating
59
18
6
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
59
18
6
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day tour gobi hear everything amazing tour toilet paper hostel country guide tours mongolia ub culture torch convenience gers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 91 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2019 via mobile

From the first communication with Idre tours, we had immediate replies from Jigden, who provided answers and suggestions. We had a short amount of time and a lot of expectations...that were beautifully met!
The hostel in Ulaanbatar is comfortable and clean. The staggering is friendly and helpful.
The tour out into the country was well-planned and allowed us to see and interact with the people. We had our own vehicle, driver, guide/cook to help us better enjoy the cultural moments of staying in gers and eating a variety of Mongolian dishes.
A great trip. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank O5792POlauram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idretour, Manager at Idre Hostel & Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thanks a lot for travelling with us and great review of your experience in Mongolia during the tour. It's always great to hear about the opinion of our guests. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future for other destination.
Kind regards,
Jigden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2019 via mobile

The hostel is located near the centre of Ulanbaatar. It's clean and the kitchen is equipped good.

It is possible to book a tour there too. I did a 8 day Gobi trip and it was wonderful. The owner offers many tours and is very flexible in organizing and if you have special wishes he will try to make that happen. In addition it was less expensive than every other offer we got from other hostels.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Sarutobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2019 via mobile

Idre absolutely knocked it out of the park. My husband and I had such an incredible 8 day/7 night trip through the Gobi Desert with Idre Tours + Hostel. Everything went incredibly smoothly, starting with our initial request to Idre for pricing and availability. Ulzii was incredibly patient and responsive to all of our questions and made sure we had all of the information we needed for our trip, and we’re so grateful!

Our guide, Tsengel, went above and beyond. He was helpful and informative throughout the trip about what we were seeing and what to expect, and he was also an AMAZING cook. We expected that we’d get a lot of repetition in our meals given access to markets, tools available, etc, but he somehow managed to make every meal different and they were all just so delicious!

Our driver, Shijre, was also spectacular. Mongolian roads are quite bumpy and many of the roads that we traveled were unpaved, but he navigated them like a pro and made us feel safe and comfortable the entire trip. We also enjoyed chatting with him a bit at camps each night.

We can’t thank Idre enough for this trip of a lifetime! We’re already talking about coming back to do a different part of Mongolia.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank syd_bailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile

We had a 6 day tour (the whole tour was 12 days but we could only do half of it) with Ulzii and Dauka in the Gobi, and it was the most wonderful time ever.
Everything during the tour was excellent, well organised, safe, interesting, beautiful and fun. But the best part is the human quality of Ulzii and Dauka, they love to work doing this and you can tell.
We are super grateful of having spend this days in the Gobi, It was a short time but it felt like a deep dive into the amazing nomadic lifestyle and Mongolia nature.
Note that I'm vegan and this can be an issue in Mongolia, but Ulzii made it no issue at all preparing delicious vegan food, and always asking for special food for me, this was absolutely priceless.
Thank you guys so much for sharing your culture and wisdom with us, we'll keep Mongolia in our hearts.

PS: We also stayed a couple of nights in the hostel in UB and everything was great, warm, clean, comfortable and quiet. Perfect to rest after the days in the Gobi.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Magdalena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018 via mobile

Where do I even start? There aren’t enough words to describe how wonderful and helpful everyone at Idre Tours has been for me and my husband. We happened to book a tour through Idre because we had heard good things and met a group that was also planning on booking through them. They have competitive prices and Ulzii, the woman who helped us plan everything, was incredibly warm, kind, and patient. After just a day of planning we were ready to go on our 22 day road trip to western Mongolia and back with our 3 new buddies. We met our driver the next morning, Shijree, or as we later began calling him, “khaan”, which means king. He knew English well enough and really did have excellent communication skills. He had all our trust and would take care of us like a father for the rest of the trip. He always wanted us to be happy and would make sure we are okay. He often took us to rivers where my husband and I could fish. The trip itself was incredible, but it was back in Ulaanbaatar that Idre went above and beyond what we expected. I needed to come back to UB two days early for an emergency surgery. Ulzii and Shijree both took care of me as if I were family. My husband and I got back to UB by Shijree arranging a taxi and Ultsi set up a taxi and another kind and caring English speaking tour guide to take me to the hospital and help translate. The guide stayed with me for hours just waiting patiently. Ulzii came the next night for the surgery without anyone even asking. It was so nice to have her at the hospital during this scary time. Shijree, the driver, came to visit me in the hospital and brought some of my favorite foods. I don’t know what I would have done without the care of these wonderful people . Seeing Ulzii back at the hostel felt comforting in a way that was like coming home even being half way across the world. The kindness that came from all the people here was exceptional.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Erica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews