We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, and helpful”
Review of Idre Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Idre Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly, and helpful”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We ( my boyfriend and I ) stayed in this hostel for around 8 days. During that time we also did a tour with them. This review is for the hostel itself not the tour.

The best thing was the positive attitude of the staff members and they really did all they could to meet any requests we had. We stayed in both the dorm rooms and the private rooms. If you want a private room with a bathroom I would recommend the corner room on the left side of the building. It was a great place to make home for a few nights. The dorm rooms near the back of the hostel are great too, away from the noise of traffic. I had my birthday at this hostel and they made me a birthday cake from scratch - a Mongolian style one. It wasn't something I had expected so I was very surprised and thankful. It's these sorts of things that make a hostel experience that much more personal. They also dropped us off at the train station for an early morning departure at no change, and they have free breakfast every morning, toast with butter and jam and tea too. What also gives it a great ambiance is the lounge, you can have a beer and chat to other travellers about their experiences and the table has a map of Mongolia on it - great for deciding where you want to travel in Mongolia!

Great hostel, and I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    18
    6
    4
    4
See reviews for
3
25
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We arranged out tour with the guesthouse and they have the best prices, drivers and service. When we got back before heading to China we spent 2 nights there and it was great. The hostel has a great atmosphere and lots of backpackers. It is 5 minutes walking from the seoul avenue and the location is OK. It us imprtant toget a good hostel with backpackers once you get to UB, and Idres is the right place. The staff were very helpful and nice!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbb7791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Nice and family-like atmosphere, very helpful staff, free internet and computers, free breakfast, cheap and nice tours around the country.
Have a traveller guide with you for the tour as the guides are sometimes not too good with facts and figures about what you see. But they compensate with everything else you need.
They make you "western style food" on the tour without too much meat, very recommendable... ;-)

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank swizzle109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Spent 4 days at the guesthouse in May and realized a 10 days tour with them in the Gobi deserts. Rooms are cleaned and staff super friendly. Some of the staff live there so there is always someone to discuss and discover things about Mongolia. Most of them speak good english.
The tour was absolutely amazing. Beautiful country. The food cooked by our guide was and we were the first surprised delicious. Overall the price was really good and cheaper than the 5-6 order guesthouse that we visited to book a tour.
They really made our trip to Mongolia an incredible moment. I will definitively come back to visit the North.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are dorms but they do have a couple of double rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Myself and two friends stay at Idre's earlier this month and we had a great stay for a couple nights. The staff and amenities (wifi, laundry, kitchen, comfy rooms etc.) were fantastic and we were very pleased. They even picked us up from the train station after a long journey, which was greatly appreciated.

The wonderful Tsetsegee also created a great 6 day itinerary for our tour through the Mongolian countryside. It was an incredible trip! Our driver, Tsogoo, was the best! Every stop we visited was beautiful, with generous hosts and incredible scenery. The ger stays were amazing and I can't wait to go back to see more of the country.

All in all, Tsetsegee and her staff at Idre's were so kind, knowledgeable and helpful, it made our time in Mongolia (and UB) one to remember. A real find!

Thank you!

Jason - Canad
Marshall - Canada
Kara - USA

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jasonwrubell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed for two weeks at Idre's hostel and found every thing very good
they booked a short tour for me which I enjoyed very much
when I arrived they picked me up at the airport which really help
the staff were really kind if I return to Ulaanbaatar I will deftly stay at the hostel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iceland25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed in Idre's Hostel for one night, but went on a tour they organized for an additional two. They picked us up from the train station, put us on a breakfast and were really flexible with everything.

The staff were excellent - they were really helpful whenever we asked any questions, spoke good English and were generally cool to hang out with.

The tour was spectacular - a couple nights out in a ger about 5 hours from UB. Our guide was hilarious, knowledgeble and attentive, and the family who we stayed with were incredible (the grandma literally tucked us in at night).

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ulaanbaatar hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Ulaanbaatar Citycenter
Ramada Ulaanbaatar Citycenter
#5 of 59 in Ulaanbaatar
492 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
#2 of 59 in Ulaanbaatar
480 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar
Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar
#1 of 59 in Ulaanbaatar
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Blue Sky Hotel & Tower
Blue Sky Hotel & Tower
#6 of 59 in Ulaanbaatar
302 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Gobi's Kelso
Best Western Gobi's Kelso
#4 of 59 in Ulaanbaatar
84 reviews
0.5 mi away
Danista Nomads
Danista Nomads
#1 of 86 in Ulaanbaatar
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idre Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idre Hostel

Property: Idre Hostel
Address: Byangol district, 3rd microdistrict. Narnii Guur Street, Building 22, Ulaanbaatar 210644, Mongolia (Formerly Idre's Guest House)
Phone Number:
Location: Mongolia > Ulaanbaatar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Ulaanbaatar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're the leading hostel and tour operator in Ulaanbaatar which provides variety of tours that full of adventures and excitement. We offer our guests a cozy, comfortable, clean, and exciting environment to enjoy their holidays. So come and visit our hostel when you are in Ulaanbaatar and start your enjoyable and unforgettable trip to countryside in Mongolia.Our aim is: - To create a unique hostel in an excellent location other travelers from all over the world - To provide great budget accommodation that is superior to any other hostel or budget hostel in the heart of the city - To create a fantastic home atmosphere where guests can meet people from all over the world - To provide excellent facilities to meet the needs of all our guests, whether they are backpackers, families or simply taking a city break - To ensure that our team is comprised of friendly, enthusiastic and experience staff on hand 24 hours a day to help with any questions of information that guests might need in their respective Mongolia ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Idre Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing