We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great.”

BD's Mongolian Barbeque
Ranked #12 of 311 Restaurants in Ulaanbaatar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Barbecue, Mongolian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Irkutsk
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good but not great.”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The choices are quite wide of both meats, vegetables, and salad. The salad bar was quite fresh and tasty. You can choose between a number of spices and sauces for the barbecue, but it is easy to ruin your food if you don't know how to combine them.

The service was decent in the evening, but was non-existant when we visited in the afternoon. Don't know why, but the food is really hard on my stomach. I did better when the grilled food was combine with steamed rice, so I think it is the grease. It is worth a visit though. During holidays or tourist season though, you will need a reservation in the evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    101
    45
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DAYTON
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“It was ok”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The concept of Mongolian BBQ but obviously via a chain from another country (staff wearing tshirts 'kiss me I'm Mongolian' and such). The food supply from which you select for your meal could have been better presented, protected public health-wise. The meal was good. But, nothing to write home about. Lots of people were eating there, though.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yamco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Not as good as bd's in the U.S., but most people won't know the difference”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I'll start by letting the cat out of the bag: The food is not as good as at the bd's locations in the U.S. because ingredients aren't as good. Some of the meat is of the rolled, previously frozen type that you see in cheaper MBBQs in the U.S. but not at bd's. There was also a white, rolled, frozen selection labeled "fat" that must be for local tastes. Small shrimp looked to be the high card in the deck with nothing else in the fish family when I went, but of course this is Ulaan Baatar and it's hard to get certain things. Sourcing is always tough when you try to expand to such a remote location.

That said, for most people it doesn't matter because they either aren't Americans and aren't trying to fit the trip into a ridiculously short annual vacation, or, even if they are Americans, they've probably never been to bd's because it's only in a handful of states. So those people won't be as fussy as I am about consistency and will be in it for the whole experience. They'll want something that seems adventurous but not too terribly much so, in an inviting, spacious and clean tourist-friendly environment and with friendly, good-natured servers. And on all that the place succeeded. Whether people came in on tour buses or just from walking around the area, it was a good place to check out and try. The grill guy hammed it up a bit, and besides the grill there were soup/salad selections for those so inclined. There were also the most common local bottled beers like Altan Gobi, and THAT'S something they don't have in the U.S. (the U.S. locations have suds, but not Mongolian suds).

Given what a short tourist season UB has, one would assume the place has to draw just enough expats or locals in the colder months to stay afloat, so it's a balancing act. Being part of the Nomads Group probably helps; I tried other Nomads restautants on the trip like the Khaan Ger and Modern Nomads and was generally very happy with it.

I went for lunch and they had a T13,000 single-bowl option or T24,000 unlimited ($1 was about T1,300), so I used my years of bowl-stacking experience to hold it to one bowl. They do the sauces and spices similar to bd's in the U.S. (except, like many stateside bd's, they didn't have both dill and caribbean jerk, my favorite combo). The food came out edible, but more like a mom and pop MBBQ charging $7 in the U.S. than bd's. I had known about the location for several years from bd's website and visits to the U.S. locations and had looked forward to finally trying the UB one. I was happy with the one visit but didn't feel compelled to come back while in UB.

But none of this matters if you haven't been spoiled and ruined like I have. The groups of 60-something Germans or groups of Koreans and everyone else were having a great time. It's worth a visit, especially if you've never tried the food type before. The Lonely Planet guide pointed out that it's non-native to Mongolia, but then again, so is western-style service. Just go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ploughman8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“tasty and fun, suit your own!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

It’s fun. There’s a great buffet that has lots of ingredients – vegetables of different kinds (9 when we visited, including cabbage, onion, bell pepper, sprouts, corn, carrots, potatoes, celery, green onion and more), pineapple, noodles, different kinds of meat, chicken and fish – more than you can imagine – garnishes and nuts and another selection of sauces and condiments.
You go around and put your choices on a plate, and create your own seasoning in another bowl, take it all to the griddle – a huge round one with a hole in the middle so all the remains can be scraped straight into the fire underneath. Watch the experienced staff toss it with two sword-like tools – and take it to your table. Go for as many rounds as you want. There’s a pot of rice and other side-dishes (a good variety) and a good enough salad bar.

The place is not fancy despite the price. The decor is more like a fast food place than a restaurant, but service was good and quick for drinks and clearing the table.

It is a good place because it is so flexible. Anybody would find food that suits him or her here, nobody leaves hungry. It is also a good way to slowly and gently get acquainted with the local cuisine in its very softened way…

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nushki65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good to go if you're looking for a western style restaurant”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We ate here once. It was clean and delicious! There are plenty of options for vegetarians, pescatarians, and meat-eaters because you can pick what you want. The stir fry bar had fresh veggies, meats, tofu, soy meat, shrimp, noodles, etc. After picking what you want (including your sauce), you go to the stir fry bar and the cooks stir fry your meal. There was also a salad bar and some ready-made dishes. We were very satisfied with everything. Many tourists and Mongolians were at the restaurant when we went. I recommend this place of you're looking for a more western style restaurant (it said it was the first western restaurant branch in Mongolia) with good, quick food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank motomiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BD's Mongolian Barbeque also viewed

Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
 
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
 
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
 

Been to BD's Mongolian Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing