We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gimmicky, but good value.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BD's Mongolian Barbeque

BD's Mongolian Barbeque
Ranked #16 of 288 Restaurants in Ulaanbaatar
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Mongolian, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gimmicky, but good value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Not sure how authentically Mongolian this concept is, although the soups, salads and buffet mains were similar to food we ate in the Ger camps. Great range of meats, veges and sauces to choose from and then hand over to be stir-fried by sword -wielding warrior chefs. Ultimately, it is as tasty or as good value as you make it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Missdeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    90
    41
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
196 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great for a chain restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We went here for lunch yesterday and enjoyed the food and experience. The quality of the food was excellent; the service was very good. Cute (and suggestive) tee shorts worn by the young staff.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UB
2 reviews
“Mongolian foods”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I would like to suggest to visit in Mongolia and also prove mongolian best foods. For foreigners, the Mongolian barbeque BD's is the best.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It was not the best meal I had in my life but it was surprisingly cheap and interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Prices are okay, they asked around 15.000 Mongolian money. Which is about 10 united states dollars. Buffet with many different dishes.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GothicTim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais
Level Contributor
160 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

I went to the BD at Seoul Str. and it was a great experience. You selecting the ingredients of your meal is just great. And, the guys at the huge round grill and their skills with the “swords” grilling your dinner are just fantastic. Saturday evening the place was packed with locals and just a few expatriates as me. I recommend this place; it sharpens your senses althoug the service could be much better.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MagrusCascais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BD's Mongolian Barbeque also viewed

Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
 
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
 
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
 

Been to BD's Mongolian Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing