We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best orbit for your family feast”

BD's Mongolian Barbeque
Ranked #14 of 298 Restaurants in Ulaanbaatar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Barbecue, Mongolian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The best orbit for your family feast”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have celebrated the birthday of my daughter and had a lot of fun there. There is a wide choice of food for everyone and if you do not want to eat the ready food, help yourself and the chefs will prepare you a barbecue of your own choice! My kids were amazed watching the chef playing with swords and making show while he was preparing grill barbecue. A good choice of drinks and very well trained staff with funny slogans on their T-shirts (Kiss Me, I am Mongolian!) will keep your mood on a high level. And at the end my daughter was so happy as she has received a piece of cake with a candle as a complimentary gift from the restaurant with a Happy Birthday song!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    93
    43
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
S.Korea
Level Contributor
97 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“An American chain doing well in UB”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Glad to see American businesses are doing well in Mongolia. We have a couple of restaurants from this chain in Columbus, Ohio. Since the restaurant works with tour groups to get them to end their tour day here to eat, it can be VERY crowded, and you can wait a long time to get your meal cooked, or find that foods you wanted to try have all been eaten, and you have to hope they'll be replenished. Since the meal was part of my tour, I don't know what it costs, but frankly I wouldn't go here on my own, especially at the end of the day when the tour buses pull up and dump off 20+ people at a go. Unless you like crowds and fighting for your food. What I had was OK, but there was no horse meat here (as in a REAL Mongolian BBQ) and the lamb tasted quite muttony.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelerS_Korea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A great choice”
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Went there a couple of nights ago with 15 members of my Mongolian family. We all loved it. Despite some other reports that the place is full of tourists, I got the distinct impression that I was the only non-Mongolian there!

Because we were celebrating my wife's birthday, we had a private room for our group. But of course all the BBQ food and cooking was in the main area adjacent to our room. There was an excellent selection of Mongolian food that my fellow diners assured me was excellent. But having dined on mainly Ongolian food for more than the previos two weeks, I chose the "watch your own recipe being cooked" options - 4 times! All the usual meats, vegetables, sauces and spices, plus a few new ones made for some interesting and very tasty selections. The guy doing all the cooking was a real showman - watching him crack open and griddle eggs using long tonges was an amazing sight to behold.

Even with vast amounts of beer, vodka and various cocktails consumed (the Mongolians do like to celebrate!), my bill for the evening was still reasonable at under 500,000 MNT.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngloAsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“vegetarian's delight”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Being a gluten-free vegetarian, it wasn't easy to find meals without meat and or noodles/dumplings. This is a great place to get a vegetable stir fry. They also have hot vegetable mixes and fruit salad

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank rebajane22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Tourist trap for captive audiences”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The only Mongolian aspect of this restaurant is that its located in Mongolia.How has this place survived? There appears to be some sort of arrangement with tour operators. Lunch and dinner like clock work there are big buses out front with herds of tourists pouring in.

Wanting to see what the hoopla was I decided to check it out. It is similar to any "Mongolian BBQ" you will find in North American malls. Its the Olive Garden of Mongolian food. My kids enjoyed it, its suitable for families.

I find it mind boggling that this place survived as long as it has. With so many other better options available on Seoul street and vicinity.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BD's Mongolian Barbeque also viewed

Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
 
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
 
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
 

Been to BD's Mongolian Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing