We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
Ranked #2 of 59 Hotels in Ulaanbaatar
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best in town”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

As I had several days off from work in Beijing,I decided to escape the Chinese New Year and visited therefore Mongolia. I stayed couple of days at the Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace and I was very amazed by the service provided from all staff members including the General Manager. The staff really goes the extra mile of service with a smile. Amazing! It is hard to find this in Beijing. Rooms are big and have enough space, toilets are tip top clean with state of art wash-lets from Toto. Culinary wise I recommend the Khara Khorum restaurant who provides a wide range of traditional flavor.

Room Tip: As for a room room facing the east side on a higher floor. From there you can see amazing sunrises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank platinumhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    142
    34
    6
    3
See reviews for
45
88
56
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed at the Kempinski hotel on the recommendation of our friends in Ulaanbaatar who we were visiting for the Lunar New Year celebrations and were very happy with our choice of hotel. The room was rather spacious, with all necessary amenities and more toiletries in the bathroom than most hotels would typically provide nowadays. The staff were all amazing: form the reception to the breakfast room to the bar downstairs. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast, which was included in the room price, was excellent, with a wide choice of cooked and cold breakfast items and more. I cannot say enough about the hospitality and friendliness of the management as well who went out of their way to make sure we had a very comfortable stay and were prvideded with as much information and assistance as possible so that we could enjoy our stay! If we ever go back to UB, we would most certainly stay at the Kempinski again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKP624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

This is a very good hotel for "westerners". Everyone speaks English very well.
I was here from roughly 11 - 21 December and the hotel staff was very busy with New Year Celebration parties (locals celebrate the New Year in respectable form). The restaurants/bars in the hotel were closed but management opened a lounge for guests and took care of us nicely.
I stayed in room 511 and as a solo, low maintenance traveler, was satisfied with what it had to offer. It was a very nice room.
I lost my iPad and sent email to staff who said it was not found. Disappointing but it was my fault. I will stay at Kempinski during future visits.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Kempinski Khan Place for 2 nights in early January. The staff was exceptionally nice and helpful. Because it's the low season, they were able to upgrade our room at no extra charge. After a week in the countryside this place was just what we needed. The breakfast buffet was wonderful, with a wide variety of food. We also took advantage of the sauna, which I recommend to everyone. It was a lovely, relaxing experience. We dined at the Japanese restaurant in the hotel. The food was delicious and seemed relatively authentic (we were in Mongolia, and not Japan!). Our room was clean and spacious. We ordered room service one afternoon, and the food was great and the service was prompt. We loved the Japanese toilet, and all the European touches that Kempinsky is known for.
As a side note, we recommend Hazara Indian Restaurant. It's a short walk from the hotel, just behind the wrestling palace. It's sure to wake up your taste buds after eating buuz, hooshuur, and tsuivan in the countryside.

Room Tip: Travel in the winter and you'll likely be able to upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulaana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have just returned from 6 weeks working in Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia and during this time stayed at the Kempinski. The staff and hotel manager of the Kempinski turned my working trip from mundane to fabulous.The staff were attentive, gracious, friendly and went the extra mile to assist with any request. I was working by myself and travelling to a work-site daily. I had to rely upon drivers provided by the hotel and approved taxis. The staff ensured my safe travel daily, provided me with a free mobile and responded to my most basic of queries. The air purifier in the room and hotel was excellent and made a huge difference with the heavily polluted outside air. The food was excellent and the kitchen accommodated special requests without problem and anticipated my requests (I felt like family by the end of my stay and was invited to visit the staff on their first ever teambuilding event (picture below). The working space in the room was very good and the bed extremely comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Ulaanbaatar. Other individuals who met with me and were staying elsewhere were very impressed and planned to stay there on return trips. I will definitely be staying there again if I have the opportunity to return to Ulaanbaatar.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I spent three weeks in UB in July/August and had a great experience staying at the Kempinski. All services were excellent. Since I was at the hotel for so long, the hotel staff got to know my habits so well that they were responding to my requests ahead of time (for example, as soon as I came in the restaurant for breakfast, one of the staff immediately was on the way to the kitchen to get my black tea!). All staff were extremely friendly. Bayara (the concierge) was extremely helpful in arranging for my weekend tours. My visit to Mongolia was very much enhanced by the high level of overall service at the Kempinski.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhiloBeddoe53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The brunch is awesome! Great service, good food and just a nice atmosphere, especially in UB. Highly recommended for a place to spend a nice Sunday afternoon. The staff are very polite and will endeavour to meet your every need.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandaling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ulaanbaatar hotels
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar
Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar
#1 of 59 in Ulaanbaatar
239 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Tuushin Hotel
1.2 mi away
Blue Sky Hotel & Tower
Blue Sky Hotel & Tower
#7 of 59 in Ulaanbaatar
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ramada Ulaanbaatar Citycenter
Ramada Ulaanbaatar Citycenter
#5 of 59 in Ulaanbaatar
496 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Gobi's Kelso
Best Western Gobi's Kelso
#4 of 59 in Ulaanbaatar
85 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Nine
Hotel Nine
#6 of 59 in Ulaanbaatar
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace

Property: Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
Address: East Cross Road, Peace Avenue | Bayanzurkh District, Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Phone Number:
Location: Mongolia > Ulaanbaatar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ulaanbaatar
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ulaanbaatar
#2 Spa Hotel in Ulaanbaatar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace, Ulaanbaatar combines European standard and attention to detail with Mongolian hospitality. This luxury hotel, with 99 rooms and suites, is located in the heart of the city's metropolis District. The hotel offers direct access to the Chinggis Khaan Square at city center and sits close to major shopping malls, embassies and commercial districts. Its inimitable blend of luxury, personal attention, sincerity and warmth gives you the opportunity to operate at your own pace and in your own space, regardless of whether you are attending to important business trip or on a well-deserved vacation; planning your dream wedding or organising a conference. Rooms & Suites includes all the modern amnesties required for the travelling guest well as unique amnesties namely; Latest Air purifier & humidifier, individually adjustable climate controller, free mobile phone, I pad rental, Large working desk with ergonomic chair. Also Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace, buffet breakfast is rated has the best in the town by the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Ulaanbaatar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing