We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a diamond in the rough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Ulaanbaatar
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a diamond in the rough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

My daughters and I recently spent 4 days in the Kempinski. Every staff or employee we interfaced with were extremely courteous and wanting to do whatever they could to make our stay perfect. One of the front staff was even willing to walk with us to find a particular store we were having trouble locating. Our flight was leaving at midnight on the day of our check-out and they graciously allowed us to stay until 9pm, which was so appreciated. We ate all of our meals at the hotel and received courteous and prompt service at every turn. Konstantin Andonov, Food and Beverage Manager, was very friendly and attentive - and his sense of humour always put a smile on our face. I have never seen a more spectacular breakfast. ever. The variety and freshness of food served was beyond comparison. The rooms were clean and spacious and we also enjoyed the spa services. A welcomed stay after a week in the wilderness. I will certainly look for the Kempinski when next I travel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattiL963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankPrasmo, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear PattiL963,

Thank you for choosing to stay recently at The Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace.

As well as, thank you for spending your valuable time to share recent detail.

I agree that our staffs are always try to give a hand to our guests and I am sure they do it very well.

I would like to admit our therapists are very professional and they spend all of their energy to reach guests' satisfaction.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back at anytime.

Best regards,

Frank Prasmo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    138
    34
    6
    2
See reviews for
43
84
52
197
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at the Kempinski for 4 nights after an 8-day camping trip in the Gorkhi-Terelj National Park. Staff at the hotel were lovely - extremely helpful and very accommodating. We particularly enjoyed the incredible buffet breakfast (what a spread) and dinners at the KharaKhorum Restaurant. Konstantin Andonov, Food & Beverage Manager at the Kempinski, was a delight. His sense of humour and attention to detail were always appreciated.

Highly, highly, recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliena490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankPrasmo, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear juliena490,

Thank you very much for your amazing compliment to our food and beverage manager.
As well as, your the most appreciable recommendation to others is very helpful for us.

Thank you for your time to write a comment on our page.

Best regards,
Frank Prasmo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed at the Kempinski for three nights while at the tail end of a trip to Ulaanbaatar. We switched from another hotel to the Kempinski and were very glad we did. The service at this hotel is exceptional - from the front desk staff, to the wait staff in the restaurants, to the bell boys, to the spa staff and everyone in between. The Food and Beverages Manager, Konstantin Andonov, was particularly witty, engaging and attentive.

The buffet breakfast is not to be missed. I've never seen such a diverse and extensive selection for a breakfast included with your room. It's a huge spread. Lots of fresh fruit, juices, breads, pastries, smoothies, a fresh omelette/egg/crepe station, various jams, cheeses and spreads and plentiful hot and cold options. It was delicious and extremely high value and it generally meant that no lunch was necessary!

In addition to the buffet, they have two restaurants in the hotel - a Mongolian/International restaurant and a Japanese restaurant. We went to the Mongolian/International one several times. The menu was very large and varied - with good options to suit our mix of carnivore/vegetarian/gluten-free diets and servers were happy to accommodate dietary issues and/or substitute items for us as needed.

The carpet and decor in our room was somewhat dated but the room itself was very spacious, with a modern TV (and decent cable, to boot) and a large, clean 4-piece bathroom. Everything was very clean and comfortable generally. Room service was great and very fast.

The hotel is slightly outside the core city centre area but not by much and cabs are inexpensive (if you are clear about what you're paying before you get in, otherwise you fall prey to the tourist inflation trap) and accessible.

I really cannot say enough about what great service we received at this hotel. It made all the difference during our stay.

I was not previously familiar with the Kempinski hotel brand although I will now keep my eye out for it while traveling and highly, highly recommend staying at this particular one if you are traveling to Ulaanbaatar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigerseye66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankPrasmo, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear tigerseye66,

Please allow me to introduce myself, I am new General Manager here at the Kempinski Hotel khan Palace.

I was very pleased and impressed to read all of positive comment and reviews on TripAdvisor.
Comments like yours are giving us a lot of energy to improve our service.

Please accept my the deepest appreciation for your kind and warm words.

All of my staff and Konstantin Andonov were very glad to see your compliment.

Thank you very much again and again.


Best regards,
Frank Prasmo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

My sister and I traveled on the trans Siberian railroad (an experience in itself) and after 5 days on the train, we were eager to get off. What a welcome respite!! We were greeted like royalty. In fact, during the length of our stay, the front desk staff, all of whom spoke excellent English, continually were hospitable, knowledgeable, friendly and always eager to help. Our room also was great with very comfortable beds including pristine white bedding and all the amenities one could ask for. As frequent travelers, we rarely eat in the hotel, however this trip was different and we found ourselves eating dinner 2 out of 3 nights in the hotel. Those dinners as well as the complimentary breakfast each morning were delicious. Also, a breakfast to go was provided free of charge on our departure day... How very nice! Great massage, good bellman and doorman service completed this wonderful stay, one we would recommend to anyone traveling to UB.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JensWycisk, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear G A,

Please allow me to thank you for your wonderful comment on TripAdvsor.

Everything you wrote above is encouraging our team to be more professional.

Once again, thank you very much.

Best regards,

Jens Wycisk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

I'd been several times to Kempinski Hotel's Sunday Brunch at the Tenger, without reservations, that today, October 6, I went there again, without reservations, friends in tow. Ooops! Found out that they'd moved it to a smaller venue due to a seminar and wedding at the spacious Tenger restaurant. With all tables taken, there was no room for us. But I didn't give up because I knew how delicious/scrumptious/heavenly/delectable/appetizing/and to die for was Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace's Sunday Brunch.

I talked to the Head Chef who was standing by the dessert section and he called Mr. Konstantin, the Food and Beverage Manager. I explained my situation to him and instead of turning us away, he told my group to sit and wait in the lobby and that he'd send a waiter to take our drinks order. He also said that he'd make a table ready for us in 15 minutes.

From the lobby, we could see a flurry of activity. Two tables were put together and Mr. Konstantin personally set the placemats, plates and cutlery. After 10 minutes, we were ushered in and the rest is culinary history.

Thanks a lot to Mr. Konstantin and to his excellent crew. You made my extended birthday celebration a most 'happy tummy' way.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 663Greca663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JensWycisk, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Mrs. 663Greca663,

Thank you very much for your detail from your recent visit here at the Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace.

I am glad that you do enjoy our Sunday Brunch and apologize for the unexpected situation caused to you.

I will be kindly delivered your appreciation to Mr. Konstantin.

Hope to welcome you again for next Sunday Brunch!

Warm regards,

Jens Wycisk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The staff here are very well versed in customer service and do an excellent job. The service was faultless from the door man through to the manager. The hotel itself isn't the newest and has a slight 80's vibe to the rooms when compared to the city's latest offerings but other than that it would have been a 5* review, highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oli R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JensWycisk, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Mr. Oli R,

I am appreciate for your kind recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm regards,

Jens Wycisk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

After travelling 2 weeks in beautiful Mongolia but in rather basic accomodation, we were looking forward to stay at the Kempinski in Ulaan Baatar. As I had previously researched the hotel online I knew not to expect too much in terms of design and interior decoration. And indeed the hotel is correct, rooms spacious but nothing extraordinary; however what was lacking in design was more than made up by service. When we learned the fact that our flight was cancelled and we needed flights rebooked and have an extra hotel night, we asked the front desk to help us as there were language problems when we called ourself to the Mongolian Airlines helpdesk. The lady at the front desk ended up giving her mobile telling us to go out and enjoy the city while they would deal with the issue and indeed barely 20 min later we got a phone call all was settled, new flight details were already put in our room and we got a complimentary night at the hotel (thanks to Mongolia Airlines). I never experienced such an outstanding service and efficiency.
Another excellent surprise was breakfast, with plenty of organic and delicious food

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stylishnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JensWycisk, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Stylishnomad,

Thank you very much for your amazing comment.

All of our staff always willing to help our guests as much as they could. I am very glad that our front desk agent helped you to solve your issues.

Again, thank you for mentioning our breakfast.

Best regards,

Jens Wycisk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ulaanbaatar hotels
1.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar
Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar
#2 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blue Sky Hotel & Tower
Blue Sky Hotel & Tower
#4 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Tuushin Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ramada Ulaanbaatar Citycenter
Ramada Ulaanbaatar Citycenter
#5 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gobi's Kelso
BEST WESTERN Gobi's Kelso
#6 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chinggis Khaan Hotel
Chinggis Khaan Hotel
#15 of 57 in Ulaanbaatar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace

Property: Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace
Address: East Cross Road, Peace Avenue | Bayanzurkh District, Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Phone Number:
Location: Mongolia > Ulaanbaatar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ulaanbaatar
#1 Spa Hotel in Ulaanbaatar
#1 Business Hotel in Ulaanbaatar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace, Ulaanbaatar combines European standard and attention to detail with Mongolian hospitality. This luxury hotel, with 99 rooms and suites, is located in the heart of the city's metropolis District. The hotel offers direct access to the Chinggis Khaan Square at city center and sits close to major shopping malls, embassies and commercial districts. Its inimitable blend of luxury, personal attention, sincerity and warmth gives you the opportunity to operate at your own pace and in your own space, regardless of whether you are attending to important business trip or on a well-deserved vacation; planning your dream wedding or organising a conference. Rooms & Suites includes all the modern amnesties required for the travelling guest well as unique amnesties namely; Latest Air purifier & humidifier, individually adjustable climate controller, free mobile phone, I pad rental, Large working desk with ergonomic chair. Also Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace, buffet breakfast is rated has the best in the town by the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Khan Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Ulaanbaatar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing